2003 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 9 of 11

2003 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

It's an undercover Hooptie

Faults:

Driver side window sometimes won't go up.

My water pump went out.

I have blew a head gasket.

My change oil light is on.

General Comments:

About 2 weeks after I got the car my driver side window would sometimes go up and sometimes wouldn't. Believe my motor is slowly going out.

About 2 months after getting the car which is was used, my water pump went out I had to have it towed and spent $200 to get it fixed.

I found out I have a blown head gasket, the car has never over heated on me, but yet I have a blown head gasket.

I just had my oil changed about 3wks ago and now my light is on again, I haven't even reached the miles or the date for another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th March, 2006

29th Mar 2006, 19:15

"It's an undercover Hooptie"

- No surprise to me. From what I have heard about the Alero, I think that it's the main reason why Olds is gone.

2003 Oldsmobile Alero GL 2.2L Ecotech from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2L Ecotech Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

Poor quality based on previous Olds vehicles owned (this is #8)

Faults:

Front wheel bearing failure on both wheels. Caused damage to rotors and brakes. Bearings replaced under warranty, but rotors and brakes are considered Maintenance items and were not covered even though damage was from failure of a warranty part. I have noticed repeated customer complaints on the bearing problems and rotor/brake problems. I have contacted GM directly and they will not stand behind the vehicle.

General Comments:

1. Obviously there is a manufacturing problem with the bearing assembly on this vehicle.

2. Poor workmanship. Front fender panel curve does not match one on from door.

3. Continual wind noise/air leak on rear passenger door.

4. I do like the engine. It has more get up and go than the 6 cylinder in our other car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2006

2003 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 3.4 liter 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 liter 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance32700 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Great car!

Faults:

My sunroof motor went bad twice. I believe that was a recall item.

I think there is a door seal that is bad.

General Comments:

The car has plenty of power and handles nicely.

The interior is roomy, comfortable, and stylish.

The resale is bad. I purchased the extended warranty, so I will probably keep the car until the warranty runs out. By then, I won't be too worried about resale value!

I definitely think it is a car worth buying if you can get a good deal. Since I have seen so many bad reviews on this car (even though my experience has not been bad)I would recommend getting the extended warranty!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2005

2003 Oldsmobile Alero GL 3.4 Liter V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance28500 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

The Alero is deceiving.

Faults:

Sometimes the car is hard to start. It does start after a while, but I think it should start easier, considering it only has 28,000 miles on it. My Grand Am did this too, but with 120,000 miles on the odometer. It has been in the shop three times for this, and I have only had it since September of 2004. They cannot figure out what is making it do this.

I have a leak on my driver's side door. The water leaks right into my speaker...

My driver's side window has scratch marks on it that looks like it is coming from the tracking or something. My Grand Am had this too...

General Comments:

All in all, I really don't know what to say about this car. It definitely has its advantages, but it also has its downfalls.

I really like the way the car rides. It rides very smoothly and is very comfortable to be in. I also really like the Alero's appearance, especially from the back.

I am very unhappy with the resale value of this car. I owe $5000 more on it than it is worth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th June, 2005

2003 Oldsmobile Alero 2.2 liter from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter Automatic
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Faults:

I have had no problems with the car until just after the 36000 mile warranty was up. At 38000 miles, the bearings were going bad. After speaking with the dealership, this is not uncommon for Alero's.

When replacing the bearings, it was found that the brake pads were worn out as well.

General Comments:

Other than these two problems, I enjoy the car. It runs well and is very affordable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2005

10th May 2005, 12:34

I own a 2003 Alero. 40,000 km on it. I just took it to the garage for warranty work. They replaced (under warranty) :

1 front wheel bearing (the other 3???)

2 Anti-lock brake sensors (1 failed)

2 front rubber bushings (hammered to death)

1 seat belt pin (it broke)

1 air conditioning knob (it broke too).

I take care of my car, wash it once a week, drive it 40 minutes total each day to work and back at about 60 km/h max in traffic with lots of red lights along the way.

I can't complain since its on warranty, but if this happens again after the warranty is up...

I won't even talk about all the stone chips on the front bumper and behind the read doors. And I never even drove it on a gravel road.

19th Nov 2005, 16:31

I just purchased a 2004, four door alero, v6. So far so good. I am happy with the car so far, but I keep hearing noises in the strut area. Can't quite figure it out. If anyone has had this noise please let me know.

3rd Jan 2006, 15:04

I have a 2003 Alero GLS. I purchased this car used (it was a factory official's car) with 3700 miles on it. I had no problems until recently. First, the door seals do not drain properly and the inside of the doors were starting to rust. My local dealer sanded and repainted the door seams. Fortunately, this was before the warranty was up. Today, with 38,931 miles on the car, I was told that coolant is leaking into the oil and that I need new lower intake gaskets. Naturally, the warranty expired at 36,000 miles. I am a little disappointed!

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 40 reviews