1994 Oldsmobile Cutlass cutlass supreme convertible 3.4 DOHC from North America

Summary:

A rare gem that will be worth something

Faults:

3.4 DOHC OH GOD (nightmare)

General Comments:

First of all there is really no point in talking bad about a used car, because you know that somewhere down the line something will give,even though you did your homework on the car or had it checked or inspected or even fixed before buying it. The car someday, somehow, somewhere will let you down. I knew all the problems that came with the cutlass supreme I had the 3.4 dohc convertible coupe, a beautiful car with the triple black leather scheme. If you like the supreme get them with the 3.1 multiport the 3.4 are very rare and are extremely unpleasant to fix you'll have less horsepower, but I think you'll be happier knowing you didn't have to fix a piece that would have sent you to the dog house, but if the temptation is too great and too hard to resist then go for it (3.4 dohc)!! But be warned, put a side some money for that not so sunny day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th September, 2006

8th Sep 2006, 10:19

Would add that one should look for a 1995 model: last year made and a much better looking dash design than the older ones.

17th Sep 2006, 12:02

I disagree because you can interchange certian parts and bypass certian aspects. If you do your research and go to the proper place (as you should with any car) you'll find that it's no more expensive than a different car.

I do agree the '95 is more attractive dashboard wise.

- Happy 3.4 Supreme Convert. owner.

1994 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL 3.1 liter from North America

Summary:

If I were to buy another one I would get a later model

Faults:

Brakes needed to be done. The first time all I got was pads, but they got ate up so now I just got finished spending $400 on getting calipers and new pads.

Intake gasket leak costing $700.

Transmission is slipping. In a matter of days, my car will be toast. I spent $2400 (car and the leak) and after 21,000 miles the car is finished.

General Comments:

Honestly, I really am in love with Cutlass Supremes! The way they drive and the way they start up even here in cold Minnesota.

The car gets great gas mileage at about 22 miles to the gallon.

The interior stays in good condition and is not hard to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th February, 2006

1994 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL 3.1 from North America

Summary:

Most reliable car I've ever owned

Faults:

Replace both front door latches (twice)

Wore out the turn signal switch (twice)

Replace the alternator at 275,000 miles.

AC quit a couple of years ago.

Brake proportional valve stopped sending fluid to the rear calipers.

General Comments:

300,000 miles on a GM! WOW. Other than the items above this car has been great. Still has the original battery and original exhaust! Only consumed 3 sets of Goodyear Eagle GA tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2006

1994 Oldsmobile Cutlass SL 3.1L V6 from North America

Summary:

Golden Year for Cutlass Supreme

Faults:

Nothing has generally gone wrong. It has had the usual change of brakes and one new battery.

General Comments:

It is most amazing car ever. It has had about 140,000 miles put on it and even with the previous owner there was never a new transmission installed. It will always start in cold weather (N.D., 30 below zero) and it paid for itself years ago.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2005

1994 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme V6 from North America

Summary:

Really great looking and dependable car

Faults:

The outside door handles have both broke. It is a 2 door and the doors are simply to heavy for the handles IT WAS A POOR DESIGN. The leather seats haven't held up to the sun very well.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable and rides very smooth and is great to travel in. This car even with it's miles has always started and never given me motor trouble. This car was a nice stream line look for it's day and is still a hansom car. However the door handles where a poor design for a 2 door these particularly because they are heavy. Over all I really like this car and would buy another one exactly like it given the price is right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th October, 2005

11th Jan 2006, 16:35

I own the convertible version and had some trouble with one handle not engaging the system. But it was the absolute easiest design to adjust. I wonder if your handles needed adjusting and you pulled too hard. once adjusted the door nearly opens itself when the latch disengages.