1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale 5.0 307 V8 from North America


If you don't want to work on a car, buy a delta 88


Since I have owned this beast the only thing that has gone wrong with it was the fuel pump.

It has some surface rust but not bad for 25 yrs.

A minor tear in back seat.

General Comments:

I love this car. its acceleration is amazing.

The first day I owned it I took it to a track to see what its got and it topped at 127 mph, and I was at 60 mph in around 7 seconds. superb for this size of car.

If you don't watch it, it'll spin the tires pretty easily.

The brakes surprised the ___ outta me, stop on a dime.

The trunk is huge.

There is a ton of room for the driver and passengers.

If you are going 30 mph it feels like you are going like 15 because it is such a boat.

And it has a pretty tight turning radius for its size.

The only thing not so great about this awesome car is the fact that it goes through a 20 gallon tank of gas in just over 225 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2008

27th May 2008, 15:40

Anything over single digits is good gas mileage.

28th May 2008, 01:55

Cheaper to own an old car worth a few hundred or a thousand dollars and pay for the gas than to buy a new one for $25,000.

29th May 2008, 09:50

Well of course I have never financed any car, new or used, but I would have assumed most new car payments would be more like $500/month. Also because I value comfort and safety I much prefer to drive a large older car.

1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale Pontiac 301 from North America


A great, comfortable, classic boat


Seam of fuel tank rusted and leaked gas

Upholstrey on the roof has bubbled in some areas

Parking brake warning light stays on occasionally

Wiper delay will not work correctly

Since I replaced radio, the gauge lights will not work (must be my fault)

General Comments:

Amazingly comfortable and easy to drive! The Delta 88 I bought came with a Pontiac 301 engine, which would be unfair to talk about in this review. It was a horrible engine for this car.

Interior is very nice looking and very comfortable seating. Oldsmobile did not skimp when it came to details.

Body design looks very nice in pitch black paint!

The trunk is HUGE

My brakes are very touchy and work strong for a car this size

Cornering on a bumpy road (30+ mph) can be scary sometimes. Feels if the car is going to jump off pavement

Turning radius is big, but remember it is a big car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2006

25th Jul 2006, 15:26

The two Delta's I've owned (an '84 and an '85) both came with a 305 or 307 Olds engine. Never seen a 301 in one of these. Great car though, they last forever and deliver both style AND performance. Hang onto that one, its gonna be a classic.

29th Jul 2006, 19:19

The Pontiac motor replaced the original 307 because of unknown reasons. Talk about a horrible combination. I couldn't even spin them on wet pavement.

29th Feb 2008, 11:28

Hey review-write here:

Gas tank was replaced with a generic one I bought off a1 auto or something like that. had to heat with acetylene torch and bend the filler neck because it was the wrong angle. undercoated it and its still in tip top shape. should've replaced the sending unit at that time.

1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Brougham Royale 5.0L 307 CI from North America


A true value for a low price


The speedometer cable is making squeaky sounds behind the dashboard.

The interior and exterior lights flicker.

The air-conditioning takes several seconds before air comes out of the vents.

General Comments:

The car has a smooth acceleration and ride.

The car has a lot of seating and trunk space.

The car is very solid and offers little road noise. The engine is virtually silent.

The car is luxurious and aesthetically pleasing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2005