1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royal Brougham 307 from North America


Excellent value especially if you like your cars big and American


When I bought it both motor mounts were broken. The engine rocked over and broke the oxygen sensor, the air pump and the air conditioner line. Repaired.

Speedometer has never worked. These cars use cruise control with a transducer. If the transducer freezes the end of the speedo cable running into it shears off. When this happens the cable from the transducer to the speedo head doesn't turn.

Fan clutch failed allowing engine to overheat around town. Repaired.

Headliner sagging. Adhesive holding material ages and lets gravity do its thing. Typical.

General Comments:

Tremendous value for $200 bucks.

Very comfortable car with velour bench seats.

Excellent acceleration for such a big beast. Performs and handles nicely.

Uses virtually no oil.

A bit gas thirsty.

I like the computer controlled carburetor. Excellent foul weather and cold start quality.

Very stable on freeways and fends off aggressive suv drivers neatly.

A bit big for city life, but very well mannered.

Excellent visibility with no blind spots. Side mirrors seem small though.

Box on box styling rather dated, but I don't really care what the neighbors say.

Have owned many Oldsmobile and all have been of high quality and reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2004

15th Apr 2004, 16:33

Wow if those miles are original that thing will be a sweet ride for many years to come.. very reliable and a smooth drive. Wish I still had mine..

20th Jan 2005, 15:09

I had 225,000 miles on my 83 Delta 88 Royale when I finally traded it in 1989. I never had any major problems with the car aside from typical replacements like tires, brake pads, etc. and the car ran as well the day I sold it as the day I bought it. A little TLC, a little Turtle Wax for the body, a little Armor All for the vinyl top... the car never failed to impress me.

11th Mar 2006, 07:16

I know what you mean, If you go to the states of Michigan and Indiana, Olds 88s and 98s go for 1000 dollars and less. I know where there is one for 400 dollars right now loaded (for that day) and has chrome rims on it. Good luck finding one.

1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royal 5.0 (307 V8) from North America


Best $1000 investment I ever made!!


The carb went at 72,000

The whole exhaust system was replaced at 85,000 (the original finally gave out)

Drivers door handle broke at 92,000 (replaced)

A/C broke recently (95,000)

General Comments:

The car is big and roomy.

Great on long trips.

Great trunk space.

Big car ride. Fun for looking at flea markets for 8-tracks for the factory 8-track player (still works!!)


Smooth riding

Smooth running engine that don't burn a drop of oil.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2004

1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale Brougham 307 V8 from North America


Reliable and Luxurious Car


Full body restoration at 120,000 miles.

Replaced diverter valve at 125,000 miles.

Replaced gas tank at 127,000 miles.

Replaced water pump, EGR valve, and two motor mounts at 130,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car. It is extremely comfortable. They don't make seats this comfortable anymore. It is especially fun to cruise on the highway. It rides like a dream and has great speed.

This car is also very reliable. In the 4 years I've driven it, including several trips of 6 hours or more, it has never failed me. All of the accessories work and have never failed, with the exception of the air conditioning, which probably just needs a refill, but on hot days I prefer driving with the window down anyway. The biggest problem is getting it to pass emissions in Virginia where the standards are far too strict.

The car has an immense amount of storage space. I can practically fit everything in my apartment into it. Its also very roomy and can fit 6 large people comfortably.

As big as it is, it has a surprisingly tight turning radius.

The body is nearly rust free and shiny, the interior is in very good shape and overall the car is mechanically sound.

I'd buy a newer car, but I'm sure it won't stack up to my Olds. This car is the total package.

At some point I am going to get this car fully restored and take it to shows. I plan on keeping it forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2004

18th Aug 2007, 10:08

Pondering the decision to buy a 1983 Olds Royale with 83000 miles on it. 1 owner. Asking price $300. I'm buying it today and why not after reading the reviews of satisfied owners. Not sure of the little things that might go wrong since it has been stored for several years, but with the price I can still handle some of it. I need some good information on wheel size and suspension.

1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 royal broughm V8 regular from North America


Rusty, but trusty


Starter went when I didn't own it.

Seats are wearing out. The foam is.

Starting to show and I think I should.

Get some seat covers.

Altenator went and the belts keep.

Falling off now.

General Comments:

I think that these cars are a great bargain. They are big and roomy and well built I wish that I could afford a paint job because the paint really sucks and it always has sucked. Its all crackling and the car is starting to rust. If you have any tips please contact me at Fried_brains_2003@hotmail.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2003