1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale Brougham 5.0 Automatic from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200300 miles
Most recent distance203200 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Faults:

Valve cover gasket-200,350 miles

Brakes-200,350

Heater coil valve-200,500.

General Comments:

Great car. This is my second Oldsmobile Delta 88. The previous was set on fire by accident by the mechanic while the carburetor was off the car. I just had to get another one. They are very comfortable and reliable. It is fun to drive also, wouldn't trade it for the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2004

1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 307ci from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 307ci Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

The big old Devil D is a great cruiser

Faults:

The passenger window handle was missing.

The radio does not work.

The lighter didn't work, blown fuse.

One missing headlight.

General Comments:

This car only cost me $200, with only minor body damage it was a steal.

The interior is almost perfect, the headliner is still as tight as it was the day it was born.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2004

1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 5.0 lt (307) from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 lt (307) Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Reliant

Summary:

What a bargain for 475 dollars

Faults:

The carberator needs rebuilt from setting so long, without being drivin.

Only thing I replaced so far was the accelerator cable. It broke from age.

General Comments:

I bought the car from an old lady. It was her husbands car. It has been sitting ever since he passed away in there garage. It never had a chance to get broken in.

Only thing is the headliner is starting to fall.

Lots of room inside the car and trunk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

11th Jun 2004, 09:36

He passed away in their garage?

I hope he wasn't still in the car!

1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royal Brougham 307 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 307 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Excellent value especially if you like your cars big and American

Faults:

When I bought it both motor mounts were broken. The engine rocked over and broke the oxygen sensor, the air pump and the air conditioner line. Repaired.

Speedometer has never worked. These cars use cruise control with a transducer. If the transducer freezes the end of the speedo cable running into it shears off. When this happens the cable from the transducer to the speedo head doesn't turn.

Fan clutch failed allowing engine to overheat around town. Repaired.

Headliner sagging. Adhesive holding material ages and lets gravity do its thing. Typical.

General Comments:

Tremendous value for $200 bucks.

Very comfortable car with velour bench seats.

Excellent acceleration for such a big beast. Performs and handles nicely.

Uses virtually no oil.

A bit gas thirsty.

I like the computer controlled carburetor. Excellent foul weather and cold start quality.

Very stable on freeways and fends off aggressive suv drivers neatly.

A bit big for city life, but very well mannered.

Excellent visibility with no blind spots. Side mirrors seem small though.

Box on box styling rather dated, but I don't really care what the neighbors say.

Have owned many Oldsmobile and all have been of high quality and reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2004

15th Apr 2004, 16:33

Wow if those miles are original that thing will be a sweet ride for many years to come.. very reliable and a smooth drive. Wish I still had mine..

20th Jan 2005, 15:09

I had 225,000 miles on my 83 Delta 88 Royale when I finally traded it in 1989. I never had any major problems with the car aside from typical replacements like tires, brake pads, etc. and the car ran as well the day I sold it as the day I bought it. A little TLC, a little Turtle Wax for the body, a little Armor All for the vinyl top... the car never failed to impress me.

11th Mar 2006, 07:16

I know what you mean, If you go to the states of Michigan and Indiana, Olds 88s and 98s go for 1000 dollars and less. I know where there is one for 400 dollars right now loaded (for that day) and has chrome rims on it. Good luck finding one.

1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royal 5.0 (307 V8) from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 (307 V8) Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired52500 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carFord Gran Torino

Summary:

Best $1000 investment I ever made!!

Faults:

The carb went at 72,000

The whole exhaust system was replaced at 85,000 (the original finally gave out)

Drivers door handle broke at 92,000 (replaced)

A/C broke recently (95,000)

General Comments:

The car is big and roomy.

Great on long trips.

Great trunk space.

Big car ride. Fun for looking at flea markets for 8-tracks for the factory 8-track player (still works!!)

Dependable.

Smooth riding

Smooth running engine that don't burn a drop of oil.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2004

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 18 reviews