1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue Reviews - Page 5 of 11

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue LX 3.8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Nice card, with a few caveats, but ultimately poor GM customer service

Faults:

Transmission noise at 8k, 20k and 36k when car was in 4th gear and climbing a hill, just before it downshifted.

Lower intake manifold gasket replaced by dealer and was leaking within 1yr, but dealer and GM refused to cover under warranty because it was reported at 11 months, but had to wait a month to get it replaced on a Saturday. By then, it was 5 days past the 1 yr. mark and said it was out of warranty. By the way, this is where GM lost a customer forever.

Oil pan gasket leaking and since the mechanical engineers designed the engine around it, it'll cost $450 to replace the gasket, since they have to lift the engine to get the pan out.

Water pump replaced.

Battery replaced twice.

Idler pulley assy. seized, broke belt and had to replaced.

Right rear window was intermittent up/down. They pulley assembly in the door was assembled poorly, resulting in cross threading of the pulley wire around the pulley. This was reported twice while under warranty, but each time the dealer said there's nothing wrong with it and it works for us now. Eventually, around 40k miles it stopped working. Just a few months ago I found an assembly at a junk yard that I got for $20, rather than the $265 the dealer wanted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd October, 2007

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue 3.8L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance258000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Daytona

Summary:

Very good value

Faults:

Windshield wipers would not park.

Air-conditioning stopped working.

General Comments:

I really like the car to drive. It has a lot of comfort and is ideal for a long road trip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2007

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue 3.8L Series II from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8L Series II Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Greatest car I ever driven and the reliability is great

Faults:

Had the original power steering pump go out when driving off road 193000mi.

The oil pan gasket just started to leak recently.

General Comments:

This is one of the best vehicles I have owned. It gets excellent mileage at 24 to 30 miles to the gallon.

It is a extremely comfortable ride everything power and still working perfectly.

It accelerates very quickly and has a decent top end speed. The handling is amazing to the touch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2007

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue 3.8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired166000 miles
Most recent distance179000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Durable solid vehicle

Faults:

Replaced gas tank at 167000 (rust out - NE road salt)

Driver's door and trunk lock cylinders seized up - but remote locks still work.

Slight oil leak gives odor once in a while when it hits exhaust manifold (sounds like this may be common)

Starting to get occasional shutter when shifting.

Replaced A/C compressor with a used one at 170000 (may have been mechanic induced) - coincided with serpentine replacement. Wasn't making noise before belt changed at garage.

General Comments:

Bought car cheap with high miles, but still extremely solid (no rattles)

It has been very reliable - not afraid to drive long distance. Just got back from 750 mile round-trip to Canada.

I have had other cars with the 3.8 motor and highly recommend them. Leaning toward replacing with lower mileage Bonneville (has 3.8) when this car goes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2007

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue GL 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.3 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

If I could afford another car right now, I would drive this one off of a cliff

Faults:

Engine overheated and locked up at 90,000 miles without warning, found to be a cracked intake that I later found out was plastic.

Gasket in rebuilt engine leaked, spewing coolant everywhere.

Knobs on radio cracked and fell off.

Center Console Cup-holder has been fixed several times, but keeps breaking.

Chrome rims started flaking badly at 90,000 and have had to be replaced.

All sorts of electrical problems

--Sunroof/moon-roof no longer works properly

--Cruise control no longer works

--Dual climate control no longer works.

Air conditioning stopped working.

Blower motor went out completely at 100,000 miles (of course in the dead of winter)

Power windows work very slowly and sometimes stick or just decide to go down on their own.

Car pulls to the left.

Spark plug wires went haywire and had to be replaced (they were out of order and caused the car to shudder badly)

General Comments:

This car has plenty of power, but I will never own another Oldsmobile as long as I live.

This car is the reason that I will probably never own another American brand car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2007

9th Apr 2007, 19:43

Amen! Iam not going to even get started on my 98' oldsy, but I too would drive mine off a cliff if I could afford something else. As an Oldmobile fan, I someday wanted to graduate to the Aurora. But after owning this vehicle, I think that I would rather go back to my Taurus.

22nd Jan 2008, 20:37

I think the key words here are "regular maintenance". It sounds like there was no care taken in maintaining the vehicle. The intrigue I had was the absolute best car I have ever owned. I changed all fluids ever 3000 miles and did not have a single problem with the car other than changing the battery, and occasional flat tires. The only reason I don't have it now is because I was rear-ended and the car was totaled. My car at that point had 120,000 miles on it and was running just as good as the day I bought it.

1st Nov 2008, 19:42

Ummm, errr, if plug wires are on the wrong plugs, then the car will run HORRIBLY!!

Trying to blame the plug wire misplacement on the car itself is silly.

Try blaming the mechanic that "supposedly" did their job that day.

20th Aug 2010, 15:59

Bought used in 2003 with 71,000 miles on it.

Brake rotors warped at 75,000 miles, 84,000 and 96,000 miles.

Front wheel bearings replaced at 76,000 miles.

Cup holder fell apart, interior door handle came off drivers door.

Engine fire in 2006. 2 years before recall notice.

Windshield wipers kept coming loose and needed to be replaced. Engine blew at 118,000.

I loved the power, styling and ride, but reliability compared to my other 2 Oldsmobiles was nonexistent.

Bought a 2001 in 2005 to make sure the 98 wasn't a lemon. Many of the same problems, plus some new ones.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 37 reviews