1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue Reviews - Page 6 of 11

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue GLS 3.8L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Great, otherwise reliable car with oil leak to hot manifold that causes a stink

Faults:

About 85000 miles, the oil leaks drip onto the exhaust manifold and make a stink that comes into the ventilation system when the car is stopped. Keeping the engine exactly one quart low minimizes the problem.

The tape player swallowed a tape, but the CD still works.

Those straps that unlock the fold down seats from the trunk, came off their mounting.

General Comments:

This car has been very reliable, peppy. quiet and comfortable car getting 20 mpg in the city and 29 mpg on highway trips.

I love its simple elegant styling.

The cloth seats are not tattered at this mileage.

The not-highly padded seats with great lumbar support don't bring out a hip joint pain on long rides that I get when driving my highly padded 2000 Buick Regal.

The oil leak to the hot manifold stink is starting to be a fatal flaw. At greater than $1600 to fix I think I will get rid of this car before my Buick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th February, 2006

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles

Summary:

I'll never own another GM product, nor would I recommend an Oldsmobile Intrigue!

Faults:

I have had numerous things go wrong with the car. The heater/ac will only work on medium. There is no low or high. The windshield wipers do not work properly. When you turn them off, they stick straight up on my windshield. The wheel hubs keep needing to be replaced, my front turn signals do not work, and no one can seem to figure out what is wrong with them.

General Comments:

I like the look of the car, the seats are fairly comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th January, 2006

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue LS 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

GM rushed to production then rushed to phase out

Faults:

Premature warped brake rotors.

DEX-COOL coolant engine corrosion of lower and upper intake gaskets and manifold.

Excessive engine oil consumption between changes, valve cover leak.

Power window motors replaced.

Idler pulley replaced.

General Comments:

Great driving car if not for the inherent cooling system problem.

Inherent oil consumption.

Inherent brake clunking noise and rotor wear.

Car maintained above and beyond book with every additive and lifetime warranty replacement maintenance part to run at it's peak and only got 115000 miles before engine needed re-manufacture.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 2005

2nd Dec 2005, 01:04

The Intrigue was not made until 1998. It was only in production for 5 years (1998-2002)

21st Jan 2006, 15:41

Actually, as is true with all cars, 98 models were introduced in 97. Model years are offset from production by one to two quarters.

15th Apr 2006, 07:49

But they are still classified as 98's. New model lines are bound to have some defects like every other introduced.

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance68500 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Great

Faults:

When parked on a slight grade, when you shift from park, the car makes a deep "Clunk" around the front of the car. It doesn't matter if you are facing up or down the hill, it still does it. Had it fixed at a garage, but it still does it. Left marker light will not work. Tried several bulbs, unsuccessfully. still is out.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable, and gets okay gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2005

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance159000 miles

Summary:

This car is speedy and sporty, and has lots of features and designs

Faults:

I do not know where to begin with the problems that I have encountered. I bought this car when I joined the Air Force. I am glad to know that I am not the only one in the world that has had these problems!

I attend Georgia Southern University and my car is used to drive back and forth to Atlanta, GA. I can fill up almost 13 gallons, and can ONLY drive 230 miles before my car runs out off gas completely! Let me remind you, when I first purchased it, it did not make it it the whole trip, I had to fill up halfway there. But now it has gotten better.

My SEATBELTS are stuck, twisted, won't re-tract, whatever.

My KNOBS just won't stay on for nothing.

My WINDOWS works when it feels like.

My SEATS hurt my back so bad, I bought a chiropractic pillow ($185.00).

My wonderful CD CHANGER has its own mind (especially when I go over a speed bump).

My STEREO just recently began to do some kind of funny "can't find no signal" stuff.

My WINDOW TRIMMING has basically fallen off.

My WINDOW TINT just won't do right ($280.00). The bubbles, pits, foggy windows, etc.

I can't tell if I should believe those DASHBOARD LIGHTS or not. Everyday a new light pops up.

The BRAKES are constantly being repaired, along with the rotors, and an OIL CHANGE is required every single month.

General Comments:

THE LEAK!!! Name the fluid, it's leaking. Outside the car, inside the car, whatever. Anti-freeze, Rain, Water.

The STEERING WHEEL just keeps on vibrating and vibrating and vibrating!!

The WINDSHIELD just likes to get foggy when it rains, no matter what you do.

This car did save my life though. It did eventually stop when I ran into someone. The brakes locked on me, and rolled or skidded into the person in front. But I'm still alive.

There is an AWFUL SMELL from under the hood! Don't know what it is. Maybe anti-freeze, or overheating, who knows?

The car constantly overheats, and I must keep anti-freeze in the trunk and water.

This list is just gonna have TO BE CONTINUED...>>>

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th March, 2005

4th Jan 2010, 09:31

I know the feeling; I just bought mine 3 1/2 weeks ago, still owe like 3200 on it. And the damn thing caught on fire literally within the first week.

Cruise went out, wires were crossed, had to have the oil changed, new shaft position sensor, awful awful awful awful smells from under the hood when it gets warm.

Some tires are bad, needs brakes, 3 lights popping on all at once due to a busted ABS cable.

The car doesn't like to come outta park after the snow and ice freezes up on the gear selector link.

Bulbs burned out, needs motor mounts, cruise module, realigned AGAIN, struts need re inspected again. And I'm for sure it needs a new battery, cuz the 1 that's in it is 6 years old.

If you don't start it every day, it won't start the day after that. You hit the brakes and the car bodges out.

I mean I had a Buick just like it, and my cousin had the exact same car, and my mom had one just like it; they all were good, just this Intrigue. Man, I wanted to wreck it, put it in the river, wrap it around telephone poles, but I don't because all of those LOL I can almost guarantee I will not walk away from, and my driver's side hub bearing aka wheel bearing may be going to hell as well.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 37 reviews