2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue Reviews - Page 6 of 15

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue GL 3.5 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 kilometres
Most recent distance147500 kilometres
Previous carGMC Oldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Despite the above problems, I love my Intrigue

Faults:

Turning signals only worked intermittently. Had to play around with hazard light to make signals work. This problem only occurred in hot humid weather over the last 2 years. Whenever I brought the car in for this problem, of course, the signal lights would work fine. Eventually melted the hazard switch and both had to be replaced.

Rear wheel bearings wore out at 115,000 kms had to replace both sides.

Problem starting occasionally. Yet battery and alternator both tested out okay.

Brakes have had to have a lot of service.

Driver side window has a stalling problem.

Rain water on floor of passenger side. Only if it rains hard. No problems though with going through a car wash???

Headlights flicker.

General Comments:

The most comfortable car I have ever driven.

Great pickup, fantastic passing speed and good mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2006

13th Oct 2006, 14:53

In warm weather an oily spot seeps up through the dash over the passenger airbag. Oldsmobile and gm mechanics accuse me of having spillt something there. This worries me, still they refuse to look at it. Any help?

26th Jun 2007, 10:15

I just bought my 2000 Intrigue used 2 months ago and three days after buying it, I had to have a transmission put in it. The signal lights and hazard lights only work when they want to and my headlights flicker on occasion. The compressor is stuck on the air conditioner, but the heat works great. It does have wonderful get up and go power and it rides, overall, very smoothly. I love my car and would not trade it for anything. I just wish I could work through the bugs.

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue GX 3.5L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Do NOT buy one, new or used

Faults:

I can't believe this car. At approx 36k, had the torque converter replaced. $125 (GM paid for part, I paid labor, but car NOT under warranty). Dealership worked with GM to have half of it paid for...

At 38k, fuel pump died, on July 4th, 2004... in a small town with temps at 102 degrees outside.

Also had a crankcase sensor go out somewhere in between 40 and 44k miles.

At 47k miles, entire transmission went out. GM dealer had us pay for the labor, but GM paid for tranny. $700.

At 55k, the "air pump" quit. The engine still ran, but caused a check engine light. $225.

At 60k miles, replaced LR wheel bearing assembly (this sound is like a tire rubbing... but it is a bearing about to die). Price tag: $300. Getting ready to replace RR wheel bearing assembly.

At 65k miles, passenger window "regulator" (this is the track that the windows ride on) breaks. I replaced this for $110 myself. Try to find a place that has a "rebuild."

Now at 70k miles, compressor has went out which was probably caused by a short in the wiring, which caused the radiator fans to quit running. When the fans don't run the compressor tends to overheat.

I don't believe I will ever buy another GM car.

General Comments:

The engine runs well... when it is not in the shop.

Got 32 MPG on a recent trip from Texas.

The radio works good. Keep the same size tire that the manufacturer recommends. Wider tires seem to cause clearance problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th June, 2006

21st Jun 2006, 12:03

Good thing you recommended I don't go and buy one new. I was ready to head out to my local Olds dealer.

Oh, wait...

22nd Jun 2006, 18:52

Ha ha. Oh man. For me I would If I could!!

27th Apr 2007, 07:18

This car is horrible!

-The radio buttons/cruise buttons get so hot at night that I can't touch them.

-Lights flicker

-Sunroof won't close (really fun when it rains, let me tell ya)

-Never wants to start until about the 4th or 5th time trying

-Shuts off at stop lights

-Oil is 35$ to change at WAL-MART! Where it should be 11$ (Not a mechanical problem, but it still sucks)

The only thing good about this car is that it runs when it wants to and it has decent gas mileage.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 50 reviews