2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue Reviews - Page 7 of 15

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance133227 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

Trouble waiting to sale

Faults:

This car drinks oil! I have to add oil every 2000 miles. The dealership said this is normal for this car.

One year after owning this car, the security system went out. Of course, the dealership had to change the battery and starter before figuring out that the security system was disabling my engine.

Two years after owning this car the compressor for the air condition went out.

Now the transmission is acting up.

I hate this car and would never buy another Oldsmobile.

General Comments:

The inside of this car is not roomy.

If you roll the windows down while you are driving, the wind hitting on the back glass makes this loud echo. I've never experienced this with any other car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2006

12th May 2006, 14:42

"I hate this car and would never buy another Oldsmobile."

- You can't do that anymore, thanks to good old GM.

12th May 2006, 23:19

We can take this to mean that the writer would never buy another USED Oldsmobile.

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue GLS 3.5 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

It's a real nice car

Faults:

When driving at high speeds (80 mph) for about maybe 15 min or so the check engine light comes on and stays on for about a few days before it finally shuts off. The engine is fine still runs like a champ. Anybody have this problem, if so how much did it cost to repair?

General Comments:

It's a great car I love it, nice firm ride. A little thirsty on the gas. But it runs like a scalded dog. And handles very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd February, 2006

24th Feb 2006, 08:29

When the check engine light comes on, that means that something on a very long list of possible faults is bad. Get it looked at by a professional.

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue GL 3.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Overall, a good car

Faults:

Check engine light came on at about 162,000 miles. Showed a code and cost about $450 to fix.

Water comes in the front passenger side floor when it rains hard.

General Comments:

I have owned the car for 2 1/2 years and have been very satisfied. I bought the car from my company when car was roughly 3 years old with 132,000. It was a company car and was maintained very well.

I bought it for $5,500 and the only option I think I don't have is leather and a sun roof. The car is in great shape and is very reliable. Thank god I have not had the electrical failures I am reading about.

I have the a black GL model with a rear spoiler, it has a sporty sedan look. The V-6 3.8 is a good motor which responds well. The interior and dash was well designed also.

Overall all I think this is a good car. I could be reached at jcappy23@hotmail.com if anyone has any questions. I recently purchased a Dodge Charger and couldnt be any happier, although I still have my Intrigue and plan on using and keeping it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2005

29th Dec 2005, 11:50

If the Intrigue is a 2000, then it would have the 3.5 DOHC, not the 3.8. They stopped putting the 3.8 in that car after the 99 model year.

29th Dec 2005, 20:30

I'm going to have to check again, but I think my 2000 gl model has the 3.8.and yes since I have owned mine the the shifter lights on the center console do not light up. its funny after reading all these messages I noticed the flickering of the headlights tonight.I'm glad I just bought a dodge charger!!!i love it.

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Intrigue

Summary:

Nice car, if you want to spend a lot of money on it

Faults:

I have owned my car for almost a year now. It has been nothing, but a pain. The head lights and the dash lights have been flickering since I've owned it. I have had to replace the battery because it wouldn't start. The head lights and dash light would come on when you turned the ignition,but it would not start. I have had multiple diagonstics test ran, and nothing showed. It uses oil really bad, the low oil light will come on. When I check the oil, it's fine. My Service Engine light came on 5 months after buying it. I still don't know what has caused that. I have had to replace the left blinker switch because it shorted out and melted.

General Comments:

I really like how roomy this car is. But it's a hassle to keep running. The car handles great. Anyone have any ideas on what could be wrong?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th November, 2005

7th Jul 2008, 08:37

Well the no starting issue is probably the same as many other GM vehicles, the internal ignition switch is broken which means you need a new ignition or if you have a good locksmith he can fix what it needs. I have a 2000 Intrigue and it runs great with no major issues minus the ignition problem and a body corrosion issue and mine now has 200,000 kms on it (121,000 miles roughly)

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 50 reviews