2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue Reviews - Page 11 of 15

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue GS 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 kilometres
Most recent distance138000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Best car I ever had. Should still make them

Faults:

After one year of driving this car, I have not had one single problem.

I change oil every 5000 Km & do not use a drop of oil which remains clean between changes.

General Comments:

Roomy, plenty of Headroom for someone with my height.

Very quick car both in acceleration and highway driving.

Car is well appointed with an extremely high quality paint job on exterior.

Seats are extremely comfortable especially on day long trips that I take regularly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th April, 2004

12th May 2005, 22:09

What exactly is a "semi-automatic" transmission?

18th Jun 2006, 23:06

It's manual shift mode. Which the Olds doesn't have...

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue GLX 3.5 llter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 llter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired450 miles
Most recent distance21300 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

A great car if problem can be fixed

Faults:

I have experienced a rubbing noise that issues when I turn the steering wheel at slow speed or when stopped. I took the vehicle to the dealer last July and was told that the steering column needed lubrication. That was done and it still had the problem which then the dealer said he would replace a sensor which controls the precision control (stability) system. That was done and itstill hasnot solved the problem. I suspect that the problem may be with the power steering unit since I noticed that GM will be issuing a recall on 1996-7 Cutless and Regals for a similar problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th January, 2004

28th Dec 2005, 21:54

I have had my 2000 intrigue gl for 2 1/2 years now. I bought the car with a 132,000 miles on it and replaced only battery, front tires, and rear brakes (Pads) since. I know have 168,000 miles and the car still runs like new, although my check engine light was on for 6 months, I just had fixed and that cost me $450.My drivers side power window regulator just went. Word of advise, it is very expensive to replace power window, I had a estimate for $550.I decided to go cheap and by a aftermarket power window from junkyard, what a mistake. SPEND THE MONEY AND GET FROM DEALERSHIP. And yes, after a couple of heavy rainstorms I have found a tremendous amount of water on the floor of the front passengers side. otherwise the car is solid, comfortable and roomy.

18th Jul 2006, 13:25

Some have said the leaking on the passenger side floor is caused by the air conditioning hose in that area, you might want to take a look at that.

Rubbing sounds have been fixed by some by replacing the factory stock tires with aftermarket tires.

6th Sep 2007, 18:10

The water is coming from the cabin air filter area that is located under the hood. just under the wiper. It needs to be resealed. Good luck.

6th Sep 2007, 18:15

My 2000 Olds Intrigue Sterling Edition; trac, psi, brake, and anti lock brake lights all are on. What's the problem?

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue GLS 3.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30100 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

An all-around great car

Faults:

I've only had minor problems with the car so far. Being an informed consumer, I bought an extended warranty for this car since I've read that the Intrigue has some reliability issues.

The Engine Light was on for awhile and turned out to be a blown fuse. The gas lid button also didn't work, but I got that fixed.

Also, the sunroof managed to break, also. But, I don't have to pay any direct costs because of the warranty.

Unlike some others, I so far haven't noticed any problems with the headlights flickering, though.

General Comments:

This is a great car. It's very fast, and I have no trouble passing all those slow drivers on the road. The overdrive works well.

The car itself looks great. The GLS model has all the best features. The spoiler, wheels, leather interior, and sunroof really make this car look good.

I've read that the steering feels fake, but I was driving a GMC Sierra before, which had the turning radius of a tank, so the Intrigue's steering is no problem for me.

Because I live in the Midwest, I have to deal with all the snow in the winter. The traction control works extremely well in the snow. In my old truck, I probably would have spun around at least a hundred times. But in this car, I had no problems driving around in the snow.

For potential buyers of a used Intrigue, I recommend the extended warranty. You'll probably need it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd December, 2003

27th Jun 2004, 22:16

I don't mean to be picky, but a tank can "turn on a dime and leave change", as the army guys say... :-)

7th Oct 2010, 22:24

I have the 2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue GLS. I like the features, leather seats, heat option, power seats, everything.

The steering though does feel fake. I do not know if this is normal for this type of car. Definitely different from the Chevy I had. It is hard to turn the steering wheel sometimes, especially if you have been driving it around for a while, or try to park in a tight space, parking space and have to cut your wheels, the steering wheel becomes definitely hard to turn. I am taking mine to the garage tomorrow just to make sure that nothing is wrong with mine and the power steering, which I do not think there is. I think that it is just the way this car is from what I have been reading. The steering does feel like you are driving a tank at times, which doesn't bother me as long as it does turn, but there seems to be tension when making turns, but worse when trying to get into a tight spot.

Other than that, I love this car. I hope that there is not a problem with mine.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 50 reviews