2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue Reviews - Page 12 of 15

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue Sterling Edition 3.5 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 DOHC Automatic
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Speed, performance, but not reliable

Faults:

I too have been plagued with the intermittent flashing of the lights during night-time running. The dealer has replaced the alternator, but to no avail. Apparently it is a factory problem that they do not wish to address.

After my vehicle went over it's 100000 mile warranty, 113000 to be exact, it overheated on my return from work. After checking under the hood and seeing no coolant leakage or belts broken, I made it home without the air conditioning (This happened in July 2003). I had the vehicle towed to the dealership thinking that it might be the water pump. After a week of examination, it was determined that the head gaskets were leaking and needed to be replaced. Apparently the steel head bolts and the all aluminum motor created a corrosive mixture that eroded the threads of the bolts and block allowing added clearance between the heads and the block. Once the block was removed from the vehicle and all head bolt openings heli-coiled, it was reassembled. Needless to say the cost was extremely high due to 37 1/2 hours of labor. Calls to GM were to no avail and I was stuck with the bill.

I personally had enjoyed the car up to that point, but now have a difficult time trusting it's reliability and will definitly not buy any further General Motors Vehicles.

General Comments:

Prior to the head gasket problems, the vehicle was a dream to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th December, 2003

18th Jun 2004, 15:11

Want more info on your head gasket situation? Go to cadillacforums, com and review the Northstar technical section. I have a 3.5L engine and I am concerned about the possibility of a head gasket problem because it is expensive to repair. Don't know if the failure is common or not. Change the dexcool before the 5yr/150k miles and add the Cadillac radiator tabs to the upper radiator hose and drive.

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue GS 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Nice looking car with good performance, but seems to be a steering problem

Faults:

Steering gear was replaced 12 months ago.

Power steering pump was replaced 10 months ago.

Steering gear was again replaced 2 months ago.

Steering gear will be replaced again tomorrow.

General Comments:

There seems to be definite steering issue with my Olds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th November, 2003

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

I am very disappointed in this car

Faults:

The transmission went out completely at approximately 50,000 miles.

Rotors were turned at the time the car was bought.

O2 sensor and crankshaft harness both had to be replaced approximately 65,000 miles.

Fuel Regulator went out at and had to be replaced at approximately 70,000 miles.

At 74,900 miles the engine siezed completely. Needs a new complete engine.

Head lights and dash lights also flicker.

General Comments:

This car has been a lemon since the day I bought it (used). I don't suggest anyone buy this make or model from what I understand from a certified GM Mechanic, that the head gasket fails an internal leak of antifreeze into your oil and then into the engine. I had no warning what so ever before the car just quit, the only thing I noticed was it was running just slightly above what it normally runs on the tachometer before it quit. I also found out that Oldsmobile does not stand behind their products.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th October, 2003

2nd Dec 2005, 18:02

Our transmission on a 2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue had to be replaced at 95,300 miles.

The wheel and pinion joints leaked and needed attention at 65,000 miles.

The gas mileage has been very poor. It has hovered rather consistently around 13.5 mpg. no matter what we do to improve the situation.

23rd Jan 2008, 06:25

I owned a 2000 Intrigue for six years. It was a stylish car that was fun to drive until it had over 90,000 miles on it. At that time it was in the shop every few months for repairs. At 170,000 while driving on the freeway, it started to overheat. It turned out to be the same problem many others have written about. some sort of sudden leak in the cooling system that ruins the engine. I had that fixed only to have the transmission go out. Too bad, the interior and exterior were in very good shape.

2nd Aug 2008, 22:23

My girlfriend has a 2000 Intrigue and at 180,000 miles it started overheating so I replaced water pump, thermostat, and coolant and it still runs hot so I was told that it has blown head-gaskets but I don't understand how I replaced everything when it started overheating I also replace the coolant bottle. These cars are lemons from the factory.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 50 reviews