2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue from North America

Summary:

Love the car

Faults:

I think the two lights that come on, and make life a challenge on the Intrigue, have to do with service to the vehicle and service to the engine. I have had both come on. Had the cam shaft replaced when one of those lights came on. Also, was told the cam sensor caused the light to come on the most recent time. The technician said that it looked as though it may have gotten wet, possibly from the coolant hose next to it, but that the coolant system checked out to be leak free. Said everything checks out, so they will reset the system, and if it comes on again, they will recheck it. Also, they are willing to replace the cam sensor. I will probably end up doing that anyway.

Love the car, love the idea that it was made in America, and has been essentially trouble free. Just old and wearing out.

When I occasionally had trouble starting the car, it was diagnosed as having a bad or worn fuel pump regulator. Who knew? Since replacing that, no problems with starting it. I spent 2 days trouble shooting, then took it to a professional. Now I know I have a fuel pump regulator.

General Comments:

What don't I like about the car? The manufacturer went out of business. I would buy another one, newer if they were available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2010

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue GLS 3.5L from North America

Summary:

This car is a poorly built, expensive piece of crap

Faults:

I bought this car with 115,000 miles on it. So far in the month or so that I've owned it, I had to put on:

Right tie end rod.

Right wheel bearing.

A/C compressor.

Serpentine belt and blower.

And then the steering was stiff, I could hardly turn the steering wheel, it need a steering rack and pinion.

I have had no electrical problems with this car so far.

If I had known that the car had all these problems, I never would have bought it.

The gas mileage I get on this car is not good, I feel as though I'm always putting gas into it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th October, 2010

27th Oct 2010, 17:05

You bought this car with over 100,000 miles and ten years old, and you think it is expensive?

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue GL 3.5 from North America

Summary:

Will not buy another one

Faults:

Oh where to start?

The front end shakes badly between 35 and 45, gets hot at 70mph, changed front passenger side wheel bearing twice, lights blink, and it's a 2000 3.5 motor.

Runs great, lots of pep, love it, but too many problems with the front end. Any suggestions on how to fix the shake? It freaks me out.

And the tie rod ends go out fast.

General Comments:

I like the car, but too many problems with the front end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st September, 2010

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue GLS V5 from North America

Summary:

I would definitely not purchase another Oldsmobile Intrigue, due to reliability issues

Faults:

The transmission went out at 140000 miles.

In the last 11 months, I have gone through three alternators and 4 batteries. Neither dealers nor my personal mechanic can find the exact source of the problem.

There is a ghost in the electrical system that power surges and burns fuse links, and damages the car's PC. The dash lights, radio, and HVAC panel flicker, or sometimes do not come on at all. Replacing the alternator with an aftermarket helps for a short time, then goes bad again. The hazard lights come on for no reason. The car periodically dies and will not start unless jumped off.

General Comments:

There is a serious electrical system problem with no universal solution. There are remedies that work for some, and not for others.

Other than that, the car looks great. The car handles nicely, has much take off power, and has many amenities that would make it quite a find, should it stay out of the shop longer than it stays in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th September, 2010

2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue GLS 3.5L from North America

Summary:

Worst vehicle I have ever owned

Faults:

Headlights flicker, TPS replaced, brakes and tires a lot, burnt out bulbs a lot, turn signal module, hard transmission changes, won't start every time, fouls number 3 cylinder plug a lot.

General Comments:

The car is driven in cold Canadian winters, I need it to start every time.

This car is another awesome example of why Olds is no longer in business and why GM needed a bailout.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th February, 2010

7th Feb 2010, 09:30

"Worst vehicle I have ever owned"

- That's understandable. You bought it used. All used cars are garbage. I've been there myself.

8th Feb 2010, 17:14

"- That's understandable. You bought it used. All used cars are garbage. I've been there myself."

Your joking right? Tell me you joking. EVERY CAR I'VE EVER PURCHASED HAS BEEN USED. Including my '96 Honda Accord that went 230,000 miles without a single repair. AND my '76 Civic I bought used in '79 that made 500,000 miles without a single problem as well. Buying a new car is actually a poor decision, considering as soon as you drive your shiny new car off the lot, it's worth half what you originally paid for it.

Although, I really can't complain. It's people like you who make great used cars for people like me to buy. You buy it, fix all the bugs that also come with new cars, and then trade it in while it's just starting to get into it's prime. Thank you.

28th Feb 2012, 15:28

^^^^^ amen!