1990 Peugeot 205 Reviews - Page 11 of 13

1990 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

Since the 206GTi came out, these have halved in price - buy one!

Faults:

Minor things such as interior door switches failing and the manifold was blowing.

Heater was not blowing hot air, changed the thermostat but this did not fix it.

Drivers seat is starting to wear.

General Comments:

Seriously quick car for a 1600. This car flies at the bottom end and handles like it's on rails! Great fun to drive.

Only downsides are that it tends to rattle, and it probably isn't the smoothest car to drive on a long motorway journey.

These are minor problems though. If you buy one of these cars purely to throw around town, you can't do much better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

31st Jul 2001, 03:43

I did not know that you could get an auto 205 GTi!

21st Oct 2002, 09:39

Neither did I!!! I would have thought that that would be Peugeot's last thought when constructing this little beauty of a package!

1990 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 GLD

Summary:

A perfect hot-hatch to put a smile on your face

Faults:

Brake master cylinder.

CV joint.

Needed airflow meter re-adjusting.

Some erratic idling.

General Comments:

After owning a diesel version which was reliable and still powerful even with 144,000 miles on, I wanted something a bit quicker and with a better image.

I have had much fun and I always enjoy a blast through the mountain roads in Aberystwyth. I did thoroughly enjoy burning off a few of my mates when I first had my car as their 8v Golf GTI's just didn't seem to pick up as well.

I would recommend a 205 to anyone, but if I was going to have another I would definitely opt for a 1.9 GTi and a much later model with the extras like PAS as around town the 205 can be quite heavy especially when parking.

I would enjoy a reply if anyone has any recommendations for tuning mods for my 205. And also my car doesn't seem to pick up well and idles erratically, although I have had the emissions re-adjusted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2001

18th Jan 2001, 05:14

I have recently purcahsed a 205 GTi 1.6 J Reg. It is in immaculate condition and I am very pleased with it. But it does not seem to want to run very well at slow speeds, it is very jumpy but as it speeds up this stops and it runs normally. Apart from this the car is a vast improvement on the Fiat Tipo 1.4 I had before.

1990 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 gasoline from Finland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance202000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

Quickest car for the price

Faults:

Clutch wore out.

Handbrake cables (a few times).

Brakes wore out.

A few batteries wore up.

Shocks replaced twice.

Steering rods replaced once.

Springs replaced once.

General Comments:

A great car for its size and price. The acceleration is absolutely awesome for a 1.4 litre engine, although the short ratios in the gearbox make the car rev a lot at high speeds.

The handling is also perfect, especially with harder shocks and shorter springs. You can drive the car into corners at unbelievable speeds.

Wouldn't change it to a 205 GTi because of the insurance cost.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2000

25th Sep 2008, 06:34

Don't listen to him, the 1.6 is the one you want. It's a bit cheaper to insure, revs more, has a better gearbox, and I think all in all is better to drive :)

1990 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Best hot hatch..... ever!!!!!!

Faults:

Starter motor.

Erratic idling, would cut out whilst braking when cold. This turned out to be a weak mixture and incorrectly set throttle position sensor.

General Comments:

Fantastic little motor, bimbles around town then..... Oh YES! Get onto the open road - vroooom.

Superb handling and adequate performance from the engine and brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2000

1990 Peugeot 205 GTI 1.9i from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired286360 kilometres
Most recent distance288985 kilometres

Summary:

Great fun

Faults:

Front left drive shaft boot had cracked and let dirt and water in. That was cheap to replace, just difficult. Brake vacuum assist drum, old seal cracked and gave. Cheap to replace, just scary whilst driving.

Rattles, everywhere. The only really annoying thing. Had to remount and tighten all inside panels, very noisy.

General Comments:

Good car to throw about, really has a lot of go in the dry but can get hairy in the wet. Really needs a little bit more go and bigger rear discs.

Looks very understated, can surprise bigger and more powerful cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 52 reviews