1990 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 from North America


The car is extremely fun to drive


Starter motor died at 50,000 km.

General Comments:

Amazing cornering.

For such a small and light car, the power generated is totally sufficient. you can keep squeezing the gas, and it just keeps giving.

Lots of room in the front, however in the rear... not so much.

Good build quality.

This car is simply amazing. it is light, yet very powerful. This combined with awesome handeling makes it a joy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

14th Apr 2004, 09:19


I'm a GTI driver from France... I'm delighted to see our favorite hatchback is also being driven on your side of the Atlantic!!!

I'm very interested in knowing how your car got to the States, and how you obtained authorization to drive it around legally!!!

Please join us on this forum: http://www.forum-auto.com/sqlforum/section5/sujet128431.htm

There is a topic specifically dealing with this car in the States, come and join us to tell us more!

Have fun with your Peugeot!!!

10th Jun 2004, 16:49

Um... I went to your site that you gave me... but I don't understand anything, its French. anyways I'll tell you here how I'm driving it in North America. in Canada there is a rule that if the car is over 14 yrs old (I believe), you can import it without having to pass the emissions tests. it is classified as a collector car.

10th Nov 2004, 09:00

Hi My name is in terry, I am wanting to import a 1.6GTI to Virginia, usa, any information on how I could do this would be helpful, I live in the UK.



1990 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland


Peugeots best kept secret


Front and rear shock absorbers needed replacing.

Track rod ends needed renewing.

Battery Died.

Alternator Blew up.

Brakes were vague to say the least.

Head gasket started leaking.

Rear torsion bar seized up completely.

General Comments:

This was my first car, and only cost £500.

The bodywork needed straightening and respraying, as it appeared to be made from tin foil.

It idled badly and stuttered at lights

But after a fair bit of work the car was seriously quick, and for a car that had been so abused and covered so many miles it drove superbly.

The lightning acceleration and snappy steering could easily catch out a novice driver, but this car was so much fun.

Then rear torsion bar seized up and I sold it on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2004

1990 Peugeot 205 GR 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand


Timeless, Economical and Reliable Hatchback


Brake lights worked intermittently. This was put down to the switch. It was taken out and squirted with CRC which solved the problem.

General Comments:

Interior is plain, but attractive with well laid out functional controls.

Seats are unusually comfortable, compared with other vehicles.

Lack of power steering in this model can be a problem for parking.

Driving this car on the open road is wonderful, steering is smooth and responsive with good acceleration (passing).

Hand operated windows, they wind freely and operate well.

This car certainly attracts attention wherever it goes, due to it's unique timeless styling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2004

1990 Peugeot 205 Rallye 1.3 petrol from Portugal


Hooligan machine ;)


Front shocks replaced once, rear shocks twice.

Alternator rebulit at 100,000km.

New water pump at 120,000km.

Seats front & back badly worn. Original material very fragile.

Twin Webber's require constant & expert tuning to keep them on the boil.

General Comments:

I've driven quite a few "hot hatches" from the 90/s and without a doubt the 205 Rallye is the most satisfying driver's car of the lot.

It's not the fastest hatch in a straight line or even around corners, BUT it wipes the floor against any other front wheel drive hatch when it comes to driver involvement, pure FUN.

Best times are slow to medium corners (when safe to do so!), sideways, car balanced on the throttle, the un-assisted steering talking to you all the time. Not a motorway cruiser!

Beware that you have to treat this car with respect or it will bite you. Not recommend to someone who's just tossed away their "L" plates.

Lastly make sure the shocks absorbers are in tip top condition (especially the rears) otherwise you WILL lose it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2003

11th Oct 2003, 02:33

Does any body know where I can get the wheel arch kit as fitted to the French spec Rallyes?

11th Oct 2003, 02:57

There is an excellent 205 RALLYE site on the web with loads of pictures, info and original documents.

The site is in French, so translate it using Babel fish or similar.

The site is la205rallye.free.fr/. I have gained loads of ideas from here.