1990 Peugeot 205 Reviews - Page 2 of 13

1990 Peugeot 205 GL 1.1 petrol from Kenya

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance197000 kilometres
Previous carMorris Mini

Summary:

Great car - indeed built for Africa

Faults:

Car has no temperature gauge. I have blown the cylinder head gasket three times because of burst hose pipes - if there was a temp gauge to warn of heating that would have helped. The coolant level light is not enough.

General Comments:

A very economical car with excellent suspension and handling. Good ergonomic interior and spacious enough hatchback even as a small family car. I now have a 504 in my stable as well - proof that Peugeot is a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2007

1990 Peugeot 205 XR 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance83141 miles

Summary:

Love it!!!

Faults:

Have only had the problem of a small slow oil leak.

General Comments:

I love my 205 XR, it is so nippy for its age, and the gear change is so smooth.

The seats are very comfortable.

Great little first car, I love them!

Highly recommended!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2007

1990 Peugeot 205 xr 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Very good

Faults:

My clutch cable has snapped at 98000 miles and it needed a new front part of the exhaust, but apart from that I have had no trouble from the engine.

General Comments:

This car is very quick for its age it really shocked me.

It handles very good for the age you can take corners quite quickly.

Seats are extremely comfortable its like sitting on a giant bean bag.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th January, 2007

6th Jul 2007, 06:17

I totally agree, I have a 1990 Peugeot 205 XR, and I love it, such a good little first car, and is so nippy. The seats are so comfortable although a bit old looking and the gear change is so smooth compared to most of the modern cars.

Totally recommend this car!! :D.

1990 Peugeot 205 GRD 1.8 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Good value reliable car

Faults:

Brake lines went at 120,000 miles. Cheap replacements.

General Comments:

This car is a great buy. I've owned this car for 2 years and would recommend to anyone.

Comfortable seats and driving position.

Very reliable, never failed to start.

Cheap to run as it gets well in excess of 55mpg.

Bodywork is great and is easy to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2006

17th Apr 2007, 06:11

Here Here! I agree. I have owned one of these for the past 6 months. she was cheap as chips, has a giant sunroof (which never leaks), runs on fresh air, starts first time every time and has never let me down..yet!

1990 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Good value, but unreliable

Faults:

Seized engine - new cylinder head installed.

Starter motor failed & was replaced.

General Comments:

This peugeot is a great little car when its running!

Peugeot didn't have maintenance in mind when they shoe-horned the engine into place. Nothing is easy to access!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd July, 2006

1990 Peugeot 205 1.8 diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carPeugeot Rover 216 SE

Summary:

Indomitable little begger!

Faults:

Front brake locked on - got a bit warm.

Drivers window opening if speed bump encountered, drafty in winter.

Odometer stopped at 160K.

General Comments:

Fantastic little car, bought on a budget and used when I was at Uni. I'm 6-3, and 18 stone, and I fitted in it fine. More leg room than my current Astra. It was slow to get going, but once moving it could hold its own on the motorway. I gave it to my parents 5 years ago and it's still going strong - last MOT cost 40 quid. Bloomin' brilliant for a 15 year old car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2005

1990 Peugeot 205 Rio 950cc from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 950cc Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

Fun bug!

Faults:

Tyre and exhaust replacement.

Noisy blowers!

General Comments:

The second Peugoet to be given to me! (Things come in three's?)

I love this little car and I shall miss it terribly.

Considering the tiny engine, it's nippy in traffic, although once you reach 30mph you have to plan maneuvres 10 minutes ahead.

Fuel economy was probably superb when he was younger, but still very good.

Very basic with absolutely no frills, not even a temperature gage, (only a light which has worried me whether works or not over last two years!)

As with all Peugeot's it would seem the upholstry has a shelf life which had already expired when I got the car, but one of the few models that suit stretchy cow seat covers!

Very comfortable and quite roomy considering the size.

It's now hit the point where it's no longer viable to continue. Mot is due and although all is running fine, there are enough ominous clunks and squeaks to know the end is nigh. The mare that took the front end off last week didn't help either!

Very reliable fun little car. I'm currently looking for another, but preferably a 1.3 with a few more luxuries... like pause control windscreen wipers!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2005

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 52 reviews