1991 Peugeot 205 Reviews

1991 Peugeot 205 Green 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 kilometres
Most recent distance94000 kilometres

Summary:

Rugged and bomb-proof

Faults:

One electric door lock was a bit sluggish.

Gear box sometimes popped out of gear.

Number plate came loose.

General Comments:

My mate and I bought this left-hand-drive 1.4i "Green" (named because of a golf tournament I'm told) for the Plymouth-Banjul 4000 mile charity old-car rally. Heavily loaded, it took us through France, Spain, Morocco, Western Sahara, Mauritania, Senegal to Banjul, in Gambia (West Africa) without missing a beat. Didn't use any oil or water, ran on rubbish petrol, took us over the Pyrenees and Atlas Mountains, and across some diabolical rough African roads.

Some fellow travellers had a big Jeep Cherokee (loaded with equipment) which developed problems in Senegal, so our little 205 TOWED it several times. The thing was bomb-proof and a credit to Peugeot.

As the rally requires, it (and all our gear) was donated to a charity on arrival in Banjul, where it is probably earning a living as a taxi. I'm looking for a 205 now as a second car. Can't sing it's praises highly enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2007

19th May 2007, 11:43

The number plate came off... Oh brother!!! and the ashtray was full???

10th Jun 2007, 13:49

Re "The number plate came loose":- I put that in as a bit of a joke, intended to illustrate that the only problem was very very trivial, and took 2 minutes with a bit of wire to fix. I shouldn't need to explain, really...

We did have to empty the ashtrays sometimes! (That is also a joke.)

1991 Peugeot 205 Si 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 kilometres
Most recent distance116000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

Its tiny, comfortable, loves the freeway and other 205 owners wave to you!

Faults:

Nothing so far in 5 months.

Creaky steering and suspension.

General Comments:

I was sceptical about buying a secondhand 205, imagining they'd be pretty unreliable. However, I was hooked on the character of this rugged little machine and so far this one has been a very happy little pug.

The last Peugeot I had was a 404 in 1990 and even though the 205 has a plasticy interior and knobs, it still somehow has the same Peugeot charm.

No rust, no leaks, starts instantly every morning.

Its quirky, but the 'funness' grows on you and you end up getting attached to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2006

4th Aug 2008, 09:01

Now I've had the Pug for 2 years I've spent about AU $4000 on it - Drive Shaft, Clutch, Injection, all brakes, Distributor, Coil. But, still I like it. Nothing has broken immediately so it still seems like a reliable car. Still starts immediately every morning!

30th Sep 2008, 02:49

Coil Pack and then the rear brake cylinders... hope it doesn't continue too much. Amazingly the windscreen water jets started working only this year by themselves! Well that's a bonus - clean windshield.

In the last 2 years I've spent roughly AU$5000 per year on maintenance. But you do pay more here in Australia for European repairs.

1991 Peugeot 205 cj 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

Well, drive shaft which was replaced by one from scrap yard and roof falling apart. (but i got a new ready to go on)

General Comments:

This car quick, but I won't quicker, as in mods. so if anyone know how to fit an ax gt carburettor onto a cj, then please post a way how to do it. cos my car hasnt got the wire that goes to the carburettor.

Love it in the summer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th September, 2005

1991 Peugeot 205 junior 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance79500 miles

Summary:

Absolutely Amazing!

Faults:

Petrol filter became blocked at 65,000 miles.

Brake pads replaced after 70,000.

Clutch is very high.

Dents very easily.

Uses alot of water and oil.

General Comments:

The seats are very comfortable!

I had this as a first car and it has lasted me well, it has (touch wood) so far only given up on me once due to the petrol filter becoming blocked and clogged up with gunk from the tank.

This car is wonderful and has received many dents and prangs, but keeps on going.

I would highly recommend that someone looking for a first car think or look in to investing a 205.

For a 1.1 these 205s are really nippy and I have taken it on town driving, country driving and even motorway and it hasn't failed me yet!

I will definitely be keepig this car until the end of its life before I invest in another Peugeot!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2005

2nd Apr 2011, 16:19

Well, I will let you know my views in a couple of years. I have just bought one, 72,000 miles on clock and hardly a hint of rust, how do Peugeot do it! I have replaced a reliable 1994 Ford Fiesta with an older car, the Peugeot is L reg. The Fiesta has been brilliant, an 1100cc, except for the bodywork, which has gone down very quickly. Bye bye Ford and hello my first Peugeot. I look forward to some very good years, if all the reports are to be believed!!!

Cheers, John.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 34 reviews