2004 Peugeot 206 Reviews - Page 4 of 8

2004 Peugeot 206 GTi 180 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 180 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance36500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

Brilliant

Faults:

A problem with the timing kit/water pump. All replaced under the Peugeot warranty.

General Comments:

This car is quick and fun to drive.

It beats the Mini Cooper S and the Clio 172 by quite a way. As for the 182 and the Type R, it doesn't beat them, but 182s are damn ugly, and a Type R comes with nothing for the money you pay.

Magazine reviews don't mean nothing. Get one yourself and drive it for a month or so, then you will realise how fun they can be.

As for 0 to 60 times, if they were tested at 4000RPM for example, the 206 GTi 180 would flop severely; it does not have high power until the revs go over 4500RPM, but you don't have to thrash it, as it has a 7400RPM red line. Anyway, don't slag down a good car.

My opinion, buy one 2nd hand; it's better value, and you can pick em up cheap too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2007

2004 Peugeot 206 SE 2.0HDi from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0HDi Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Overall an excellent car

Faults:

Have had one problem, a faulty fuel gauge, which was fixed under warranty (BSI changed).

Since then it's run flawlessly. Yes, there are certain things such as the position of the electric window switches, but otherwise we're pleased with the car.

General Comments:

Bought this car 6 months ago, it had one previous owner. It was to replace the other half's ageing Fiesta.

I didn't want a 206 as I own a 307 and have had numerous problems, but I insisted if we were to get one it should be a diesel.

The engine is responsive and economical, and it's great on the motorway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2006

2004 Peugeot 206 TYPE 5 by Iran Khodro 1.6 from Iran

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Excellent car!!!

Faults:

Nothing really important, except the water pipe that goes from the top of the radiator to the coolant compartment, which was leaking a little bit and needed to be replaced. Was not really important as a problem.

General Comments:

Every thing is great about this car, highly recommended to buy. If I had enough money I would buy another one to keep it in the garage!!!

Nice ride, brake system, handling, acceleration, and whatever you expect from a good car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2006

10th Dec 2007, 05:38

TYPE 5 206, all of them made by Iran Khodro, which is not actually a Peugeot 206. They even manage to make a 206 sedan, which is funny. Check it on www.ikco.com.

30th Mar 2010, 04:34

What a fantastic car. Have had it for two months and found it to be great.

2004 Peugeot 206 zest 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles

Summary:

Amazing, fun and sexy

Faults:

Gears were not going into gear correctly, especially in reverse. But this was under warranty and was fixed within 2 hours.

Water getting in the back window, new window fitted free of charge. So no worries about those little faults.

General Comments:

The car is a great first car, easy to drive, fun to drive and economical.

Even though its only 3 door, it is really roomy and is not sluggish when full.

Great clutch control and superb general performance.

I recommend this car any day... much better than that new 207.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2006

2004 Peugeot 206 S 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance17100 miles

Summary:

Easy to drive and easy to maintain

Faults:

Engine management light has came on 4 times with the engine cutting out when slowing down. This happened three times on the same journey.

Drivers side central locking works around 7 out of 10 times. You have to lock it with the key when it fails.

General Comments:

The car is ideal for driving around towns or cities. It has great forward visibility and generally very easy to manoeuvre and park.

People often say the driving position in 206's is uncomfortable and I agree. The wheel is placed slightly to the left and is nearly impossible to adapt to. The driver’s seat however, I find really comfy. Where as the passenger seat is a pain because you cannot raise or lower the seat position.

The model I have is heavily underpowered, but that’s expected for a 1.1! Which is fine for urban and busy traffic driving, but on the motorway its not ideal. The engine seems to be going no where at 75-80mph.

The clutch feels springy from new, but feels a lot looser now. But the biting point is perfect in my view.

The brakes have no bite with a light press. You have to make the pedal travel more than desired.

Steering is light and flaccid and the car has much under steer. But this is a good thing when your constantly parking and driving in a city environment (a lot of my driving is done in the city).

The gears feel OK, but often clonk when going from 1st to 2nd & 2nd to 3rd. Which is a pain when you’re trying to quickly get out of a junction or round-a-bout.

Acceleration is nippy in 1st & 2nd, but in this model you ain’t going anywhere fast.

Boot space is quite good with the parcel shelf removed and the rear seats fold almost all the way down. You can get 2 adults in the back no bother, but they won't want a long trip.

The aircon on this model works really well, but has a significant effect on engine revs. It just seems to lag whenever you pull away.

Elec windows are quick and haven't let me down either, although the switches are in an awful place. The passenger has to reach over the handbrake to use it.

Stereo has decent sound if not the most attractive of car radios. The stalk on the steering column to control this is very handy.

The car returns good miles per gallon and in the 18 months of its ownership haven’t had to put it in the garage. But I know that Peugeot and the 206 range have had their fair share of problems so I’m probably sitting on a ticking bomb.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st January, 2006

29th Mar 2006, 07:36

Owner Update: Just put this car in for its first Full Service at 18500 miles.

Everything is fine, but the mechanic said Peugeot had put the wrong oil filter on from its first 6000 mile service. Will keep the site posted on future developments and it ain't ever going back to a Peugeot dealer...

27th Jun 2006, 08:05

Owner Update 2: Brake pedal squeaks all the time. It's getting very annoying now. Whenever I indicate right and I turn right then straighten the wheel up, the indicator flips to left. Which is getting on my nerves now too. Aircon is giving off a damp smell whenever I turn it off. Probably just needs cleaning.

26th Mar 2007, 03:03

Final Owner Update 27000 miles: Well the time has come to move on, I'm part ex-ing this car for a BMW 318iSE on a W plate. Over its 3 years of ownership from new, I've only experienced the minor elec problems which are in my first post and the odd complaint about driving position and lack of power. Since my last post I've not had anything else go wrong with the car, I changed its front brake pads at 25k cause they felt a little soft.

So would I recommend one? The build quality is not great, but its held together for me. Interior is plastic, but has the essentials within reach (apart from the window switches). I still don't like the gear box and I've done 27000 in it and I'm wondering whether it'll make 50k before something fails in there. It's a nippy little motor which has started everyday for me and shouldn't break into your wallet much. As a first car YES, I would recommend one. As a more experienced driver you'd want more power and quality.

I'm sad to see the little fella go, but I'll start a new post for my BMW.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 25 reviews