2000 Peugeot 306 Reviews - Page 6 of 10

2000 Peugeot 306 HDI d Turbo 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Stunning, fast, lovely

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car so far. I haven't had it long; only a month.

General Comments:

This is a great all round car.

It has great looks, and in metallic black with the GTi-6 wheels, it turns plenty of heads.

The engine is great too. It can cruise at 90mph doing only 3000 RPM, and it is a really, really fast car, as long as you keep the blower going. A Saxo VTR won't touch it.

I have averaged around 45 MPG with a mixed driving style, which is another good bonus.

Comfort is not the best, but you can't expect good comfort with a car that handles as well as this; it's like a go kart.

Wonderful car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2004

16th Dec 2004, 10:31

You must have problems then it has the same power as the saxo yet nearly twice the torque. Sort it out mate.

14th Sep 2005, 02:36

And? So what if it's a diesel. I have a pre-HDi DTurbo and regularly thrash 1.6 petrol's off the line. And its just so much more fun when the turbo kicks in and knocks you back in your seat!

2000 Peugeot 306 GLX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Best value for money

Faults:

Front brake pads needed replacing at 50000 miles (this was the first replacement.)

Drivers seat has started to squeak.

Car has begun to cut out when idling.

General Comments:

This is the second Peugeot 306 I have owned, and I would definitely buy another - its not only one of the best cars I have driven, but it is reliable, cheap to fix and drives really well.

The seats are comfortable.

Room in the back is good, handy for long journeys.

MPG isn't bad - I get about 40mpg round town, slightly more traveling long distances.

Large boot space for a reasonably small car.

Visually pleasing shape.

Easy to read dash - attractive silver and black, set out well.

Fairly decent stereo system and speakers, so never bothered to replace.

Good acceleration, although fairly slow to get between 40 - 70 mph.

Car handles well.

Great accessories in the car including air conditioning, front and rear electric windows, front fog lights, CD player, height adjustable seat, driver and passenger airbags, steering wheel remote for stereo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2004

2000 Peugeot 306 Meridian HDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission HDi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

A n excellent mix of performance, handling and looks

Faults:

Have had the wheel alignment carried out twice. Tendency to wear the outside of the front tyres.

General Comments:

Gutsy performance and 45mpg.

Superb overtaking torque from HDi engine.

Excellent cruising ability - pulls 2500rpm at 70mph.

Above 100mph starts to run out of puff.

Handling is magnificent.

A brilliant car on twisty roads, you really can have lots of fun in it. Brakes very good, meridian gets disc brakes front and rear.

Excellent feel and feedback from steering.

Interior well finished, 1/2 leather seats, aluminium effect on dash.

Seats are well supported and have lumbar support adjustment.

However dash rattles a bit at low engine speeds.

Looks wise not bad beggining to look a bit dated, still looks pretty smart with side skirts and alloys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2003

2000 Peugeot 306 XSi 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Why don't all cars handle like this?

Faults:

Car eats idle control valve stepper motors. Replaced twice and third is now playing up. Symptoms are erratic idle speed, stalling, unprompted "revving" when in traffic. Must be a design fault.

Small oil leak fixed under warranty.

Terminal sounding clatter from tappets which suddenly started in a motorway queue, cured itself a few minutes later, and hasn't returned since.

General Comments:

I took a career change a few years ago, swapping a fully expensed BMW 320i for a fairly modest car allowance. I never liked the ostentatious BMW much anyway, and decided to look for something based purely on driving fun rather than badge or "image". I always liked the 306's styling, and although the budget wouldn't stretch to the GTI-6, was offered a good deal on a pre-registered, 11 mile old XSi.

If you purely want fun and involving handling, forget the Focus, forget the Astra, and (especially) forget the heavy, soggy Golf. The 306 makes the lot of them look dull-witted and clumsy. The balletic poise of the 306 when you sling it into a corner wouldn't disgrace a piece of exotica. It resolutely refuses to understeer, and you feel the tail easing gently against the grip of the rear tyres to help turn the car into the corner. Feather the throttle and it will gently slide to further tighten the line. Wind off the lock, squeeze the throttle and she pulls straight again. No other car in this class will do this. Even the critically acclaimed Focus. This balance is backed up by utterly superb power steering which even eclipses the 320i for weight, accuracy and feel. In fact, this car handles better full stop.

The 2.0 engine is good, but not as good as the chassis. It's a bit feeble at low revs, but does pick up quite nicely when given its head. Not a bad engine, not a good one. Just an engine. My friend has an old 8 valve version of this car which I actually prefer. It's torquier and responds better to the throttle.

I love the car, despite a few faults. BMW say they build the Ultimate Driving Machine. I beg to differ. As a pure drivers car, I'll stick with my Pug.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2003

30th Oct 2003, 07:23

I absolutely 100% agree with the comments made!

I bought my 2000 V-reg 16v XSi a year into its life and haven't really grumbled since! It's quick and certainly doesn't have any trouble running with the "big boys" on the motorway. It'll happily sit at 130mph (indicated) on the flat.

The 0-60 sprint takes 8.5 seconds (regardless of Peugeot's "official" time of 9.2 seconds).

It's gone through 2 stepper motors and the MAP sensor seems to be on its way out, but apart from that it's still a perfect car.

The only thing I would say is... If you're taller that 6', don't get one with a sunroof! It takes about 4" out of the roof space!

17th Jan 2004, 11:35

I have owned my 2000 (W) Xsi since July 2003. Having previously owned a cracking 205 1.9, the 306 felt a little flat and a little soft. However, given some time it has now become part of the family. This car will do almost everything it is asked to, from taking my family on holiday in comfort to making me feel alive on a good B-road. It is well equipped, looks good and has cost me nothing so far!

My only niggle is a strange fueling problem, whereby the car is difficult to drive smoothly at constant speed and my local pug dealer cannot diagnose.

I would have loved the Gti-6 but went for age and value, as well as 5 doors.

28th May 2004, 04:36

Can agree with the sentiments already voiced. I've owned my T 1999 306 XSi for 6 months now without any problems at all.

The ride is excellent and for the longer journeys it sits beautifully at 80mph on the motorways (or 100mph if I'm in the mood!).

A car you won't be disappointed with!

22nd Jul 2004, 06:48

Again...agree with all the above. I had an old XSI (1994) for 2.5 years and it was wicked! A tad underpowered and useless on the motorway, but fantastic round the country lanes! The clio 172 I have replaced it with is much quicker, but doesn't have quite the same balance and handling as the 306. Peugeot have got this bang on I think. Plus, very few problems, no expensive ones anyway (which is pretty good for a 10 year old car!)

4th Apr 2005, 17:16

You swapped a 205 1.9 for this car? : (*cries*

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 31 reviews