2000 Peugeot 306 XSi 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The bad points outweigh the good

Faults:

Head gasket blew when the car was just two months old - replaced under warranty. No problems since.

Clutch went at just 5,700 miles - replaced under warranty after a big row.

Passenger seat adjuster handle snapped off, glovebox lid pops open, drivers seat moves around, carpet peeling away in both footwells.

Heater matrix sprung a leak at 12,000 miles. Replaced under warranty, but interior has stunk of antifreeze ever since.

Engine idle is terrible - misfires constantly and the revs fluctuate. Apparently "it's normal", as is the fact that it rattles like a diesel when cold.

Cam cover gasket replaced three times. Last time it leaked onto an engine mount and caused it to swell. Lots of other smaller oil leaks mean a top up once a week.

Air bag warning light blinks intermittently.

Banging from front suspension.

Gearbox sticky when cold.

General Comments:

This is my second 306 XSi and unfortunately my last Peugeot. My previous L reg XSi 8 valve did 130,000 problem free miles. This car has been one disaster after another.

It's like owning a highly strung supercar, but without the good points. Clutches and head gaskets failing before 10,000 miles are inexcusable on a modern mass produced car. This 306 proves that Peugeot might know how to build a fun car, but it still doesn't know the meaning of engineering integrity, build quality, or customer service. The dealers have an excuse though - if all 306's are as bad as this, they must really have to work for a living!

Yes the handling is superb and yes it looks nice, but I don't care any more. It's an unusable wreck which I will be getting rid of as soon as possible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th June, 2002

11th Feb 2003, 05:20

Seems like a problem with the later models to me, as like yourself I had a phase 1 306 XS i 2.0 8v and it got to 140,000 miles with very very few problems.

I'm going to have to take great care of my new GT i 6 or it looks like it will cost me a small country.

2000 Peugeot 306 GLX 2.0 HDI diesel from Cyprus

Faults:

The turbo broke down at 60000KM and needs to be changed. In my opinion, that turbo was defective from the start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th April, 2002

2000 Peugeot 306 GTi6 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A wonderful hot-hatch

Faults:

Front brake discs started to get warped, and caused shuddering when braking. Apparently brake discs on 306s have a shorter life than most.

Got them machined under warranty which fixed the problem (as long as you're driving under 80-90kph.) Hopefully next time they'll replace the discs with new ones.

The build quality is better than I expected from a French car, the interior feels and sounds solid. No squeaks or rattles so far!

General Comments:

The handling is excellent. My old Prelude was easy to drive quickly through the corners, but the Peugeot makes things so much more entertaining.

The 6-speed gearbox feels clunky when cold, but once warmed up, it is quite fluid and nice to use.

Steering response and feel is also fantastic. However not so good is the huge turning circle to the right -- makes U-turns and parking attempts difficult. From this you can tell it was designed first and foremost for people who drive on the right-hand side of the road...

Seating is quite comfortable, even the rear seats. With the seats down, the hatch area is quite impressive.

Fuel economy is quite decent when you aren't pushing it, though it requires premium fuel, making things a bit expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2001

12th Jan 2003, 06:43

Hi again, now at 70,000km and still loving it!

The brake problem has gone away (no need for new brake discs.. yet.) The cambelt started making a weird slapping noise at 60,000km and got replaced quick-smart, before it had a chance to snap. With the extra K's the gearbox must be properly worn in now, as it's gotten a lot nicer to use.

3rd May 2005, 21:20

Hi I am interested in buying a 306 GTI6 and was wanting to know of any common problems anyone has had with them?

Or just general advice on the 1998 model.

2000 Peugeot 306 D Turbo from Netherlands

Summary:

Avoid this car!

General Comments:

It is a car with nearly nice performance, but forget its reliability. Besides, the car comfort is appalling! Peugeot could improve the 306's (and others) interior... save your money and buy another car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th December, 2000

13th Jan 2001, 15:02

I don't agree. The new 306 HDi D Turbo is a cracker! It's the thinking man's GTi.

31st Jan 2001, 13:25

I have had the new HDI from new and it is a superb car! Refined, smart inside and out, and generally a nice all round car offering luxuries and style. It's the poor mans GTi-6!! 9/10 all round.