2002 Peugeot 307 Reviews - Page 5 of 25

2002 Peugeot 307 Rapier 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Nice car, shame about some poor quality features

Faults:

- Persistent problems with door handles.

General Comments:

I have had this car for a year and have had 5 sets of new rear door handles fitted. They come off within a week of being refitted by Peugeot. Peugeot insist that this is NOT a common problem. Please can owners confirm this for me? Is mine the only car with this problem?!

Thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th October, 2005

27th Feb 2006, 03:39

Had the same problem with one of mine. Gave up with the dealer and sorted it myself. Put a small spot of impact adhesive on the cover and the rubber insertion under it. These will then bond and stay in place.

2002 Peugeot 307 XR 1.6 from Denmark

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 kilometres
Most recent distance123500 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

French temper - Polish quality

Faults:

Trunk lock was working on and off permitting access to trunk at the cars will.

12v outlet was loose and did not work.

Apparently a software crash lead to the failing of the cars ability to drive at all? "Anti Pollution Fault" message in dashboard display was caused, according to dealer, by faulty software. Software upgraded, no problems (for now)

General Comments:

Cool and classy design.

Handles like a charm in high speeds.

Low low reliability like any other french car.

Slow acceleration considering size of engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2005

16th Feb 2008, 23:13

Your pompous comment about "polish quality" is both Insulting and offensive. Try reomoving your head from your dutch oven before you try to make a rational criticism.

3rd Apr 2011, 18:37

To be fair to the reviewer I think it's just a joke, are we still allowed to have a laugh now and again? The same is true for the French temper joke.

2002 Peugeot 307 GLX 2.0 HDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Faults:

Electrics cut out for a few seconds whilst driving then come back on.

Door latch trim fell off.

CD refused to function at times and then would play the day after.

Indicators 'over canceled' so the opposite direction indicator was activated.

General Comments:

I had a 307 2.0HDi as a company car for just under 3 years.

The car was generally reliable and never actually broke down, just the minor niggles mentioned above.

The fuel economy (which was one reason I chose the car in the first place) was not good for a modern diesel. Even with careful driving it really struggled to get any more than 40mpg. The car also felt very slow.

The equipment levels were excellent. My GLX spec model was equipped with climate control, 6 CD dash mounted Blaupunkt multichanger (which had very good sound - when it played the discs), alloy wheels and electric windows and mirrors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th May, 2005

2002 Peugeot 307 LX 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

A generally good car, but get the problems sorted out in the warranty period!

Faults:

Indicator stalk was over compensating (i.e. I would turn right, and in turning the steering wheel left to complete the turn the indicator would go past the middle and indicate left.) To correct this, the COMS2000 section was replaced 3 times under warranty, and is now functioning okay.

My head gasket is being replaced today (at only 55,000 miles!)

A radiator seal is also being replaced today.

Peugeot are meeting some of the cost of the gasket and radiator leak as a "good will gesture", as my warranty expired 4 months ago.

The gearbox leaked oil soon after I purchased the car.

The horn only worked occassionally - it was raised with the dealer on every occassion that I took it in for a service, and only today have I been told that there were loose wires (warranty expired out 4 months ago, but I'm not being charged for the repair).

General Comments:

Generally it's a good car - I genuinely like it. However, the abundance of problems have been incredibly annoying, and I think Peugeot will suffer greatly with people buying from different manufacturers in the future.

I've promised myself that I will look at Japanese manufacturers for my next car simply because the build quality is meant to be superior in general.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th May, 2005

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 90 reviews