2003 Peugeot 307 Reviews - Page 16 of 18

2003 Peugeot 307 SE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance200 miles

Summary:

Nice car shame about the electronic faults

Faults:

1 car was not clean when I picked it up.

2 unfinished paintwork.

3 The seat upholstery on the back seat was not in position.

4 The automatic programed setting for the clock/date was not working & kept reverting to zero.

5 When driving the vehicle it intermittently stalled on number of occasions, both stationery and when pulling away.

6 On 3/8/03 I switch the engine off, tried locking with keypad and found the car would not lock. I had to resort to locking it manually. Following this I tried to start the car up and it would not start for 45 minutes insofar as during all that time there were NO electrics operable at all.

7 On 11.8.03 from 9.45am I tried to start the car up, but again there was no power at all IE no electrics, I spoke to George Heath Motors and they said that they will make arrangements to get the car picked up, as a mother of two young children I was appalled this did not happen, I had to make my own arrangement to call out a recovery company to collect the car and deliver it back to the garage.

General Comments:

Not happy at all with the vehicle very disgusted the way the all matter is been handle this includes me speaking to Peugeot UK Management.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 2003

29th Aug 2003, 08:19

Hello.

Truly awful reliability for a 2003 car with only 200 miles on the clock. Very dangerous when it stalls when pulling out of junctions. If you don't get any joy from dealer see if you get any better luck at another. See if they will have the car back and get a full refund as it is defective goods. I drive a 1986 volvo 740 estate with over 130,000 miles on the clock and find it very reliable, and it has very many happy reviews from customers on this site.

29th Aug 2003, 10:09

I am a single mom of two and have had soooooooo many problems with my 99 breeze. The dealer where I bought it says it is my problem. I would NEVER EVER buy another one EVER!!! So if you are thinking of getting one, DON'T!

27th Dec 2003, 19:23

Hi.

The problem you seem to have is not with the electrics, Its the battery connections.

I had similar problems after returning to my car (307 Rapier 2.0 HDi) after a weeks holiday. It seem the battery connectors are not on tight enough and keep disconnecting. Use a tye wrap to keep in place then the car should be OK.

Regards

Martin.

2003 Peugeot 307 110 DTurbo 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Fully loaded car, but lacks its predecessors reliability

Faults:

Driver's door dropped and did not close properly.

The off side mirror intermittently did not move back out when wet.

Boot opening mechanism was unreliable, which lead to it being unable to open the boot at times.

Very bad radio reception, CD player jumps, skips, and crackles through tracks.

Leather keeps coming off the rear of the passenger front seat.

The driver's foot well carpet keeps coming away from the door trim.

The studs to hold the driver's mat in place come out, and on two occasions the mat slid forward and jammed the accelerator pedal down on full revs.

Both doors are not aligned properly

The dealer had left hard lumps of wax all over the car when delivered.

The indicators cancel too quick one way, and don't cancel the other; I have not figured out which way.

General Comments:

I have had three Peugeot's, two 306's, both D Turbo's, and this 307 D Turbo. Both my 306's were very reliable cars.

The 307 is a very nice car, which is fully loaded with all the gadgets, some of which you don't even see on top of the range cars like BMW or Audi. It's just such a shame that it lacks its predecessors reliability.

The most annoying thing about the faults is the trailing back and forward to the garage. Most of the faults have been attended to, but return.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th July, 2003

19th Jun 2006, 02:11

I would like to say how much I appreciate this note that you put on the carsurvey web site.

I am looking to buy a 2 or 3 year old vehicle and the P 307 110 was on the shortlist (WAS!). Since considering a number of reviews and comments, I have decided that it is far too much of a gamble, especially as it will be out of warranty!.

The web site is extremely valuable and is considerably useful in car buying!

Sorry Peugeot, I am not convinced about the P 307!

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 56 reviews