2003 Peugeot 307 Reviews - Page 17 of 18

2003 Peugeot 307 GLX 2.0 HDi turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDi turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Good for the price

Faults:

At 300 miles, gear box whine on overrun. Dealer replaced gear box oil. The gear box has still got a whine, then the dealer replaced the gear box. The gear has still got a whine. Dealer said that all 307 2.0 HDi 110 have this whine. Men are coming from Peugeot to drive the car. Would like to hear if owners of the 110 HDi have the whine when coming down from 4th to 3rd, and 3rd to 2nd, when the speed comes down to 30mph?

General Comments:

This car is well made, and is good on space.

However the gear box is not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th June, 2003

12th Sep 2003, 06:21

I have owned 2 110 HDi models and both had over-run gearbox whine in 3rd and 2nd.

10th Oct 2003, 04:21

My 307SW 90Hdi has this whine -

Its not particularly irritating so I've ignored it - is it actually a problem?

7th Nov 2003, 10:38

I have driven 2 110 HDI 307's and they both had the whine, basically they all do it.

25th Nov 2004, 07:45

Well I don't own a 307 110HDI. I own a 1.6 16V petrol. I have the whining to which you refer and every time the garage solves it, it returns weeks later.

I have owned my 307 for four months and it has been in the garage 9 times! New gearbox, valves, coils... not what you would expect from a new car. Oh! And get this! By tomorrow afternoon it will be two weeks that my car has been in the garage! At least I have a courtesy car under the warranty (but I had to negotiate with the head office for it to be arranged).

They used to joke about the Yugo (Yugo nowhere.) Given time, there will be one for Peugeot.

28th Nov 2004, 13:49

My 307 is in for (extensive) repair yet again!

I have a brand new courtesy car '54 307 HDI 90 under loan.

Had 360 miles on the clock when I picked it up!. Gearbox is far worse than my 307, something has broke in the seat, went bang! squeeks now!. steering wheel also has un-removed moulding on.. nearly cuts your hand!

12th Sep 2007, 02:01

2001 406 HDI (90).

My gearbox also has the whine...

12th Jan 2009, 11:29

I have the Pug 307 1.6 petrol GLX on 51 plate, done around 66,000 miles and I have just started getting very loud whining. I dropped the oil from the Gearbox and replaced with SAE 140 which seems to be the thickest oil going around. Anyway I still have the dam whining mainly in 4th and 5th, but it's working its way down to 3rd now. Could this be something other than the gearbox itself?

12th Jan 2009, 19:53

More than so it's the gearbox. I had a Pug 306 in the past, S reg, and that did the same, that's why I got shot of it.

2003 Peugeot 307 XT 1.6 16v from Sweden

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance2000 kilometres
Previous carSkoda Octavia

Summary:

Comfortable car with quality problems

Faults:

Rattling noises from the front suspension when driving on bumpy roads.

Massive engine vibrations between 2400 rpm and 2500 rpm.

Software bugs:

Engine Oil Level Indicator sometimes indicates that the oil level is low even though it isn't.

If I switch the windscreen wipers on and turn the ignition off, and then turn the ignition on again, the wipers don't work. I have to switch the wipers off and then on again to make them work.

General Comments:

Generally I'm quite pleased by this car, but I have my doubts regarding the quality of the car.

I mean, suspension rattle after only 1000 kms, that's a scandal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th May, 2003

17th May 2003, 12:35

My friend you wrote <<If I switch the windscreen wipers on and turn the ignition off, and then turn the ignition on again, the wipers don't work. I have to switch the wipers off and then on again to make them work. >>

This is the way to be done and it is normal, b/c the car does not know IF the wipers are frozen b/c of ice OR b/c the windshield is dry (not wet). It is done that way, to protect YOUR wipers!!! OTHERWISE, you should pay very often to change them... :-)

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 56 reviews