1989 Peugeot 405 DL 1.9 petrol from North America


I love the overall design purpose and execution of the 405


Very little.

The engine underwent a Peugeot recall campaign (received new piston rings and valve guided seals) at 98K miles to eliminate a bit of excessive oil consumption. Never any engine or Bosch Motronic 1.3 injection problems. Still has original clutch and throw-out bearing.

Alternator brushes replaced at 65K miles.

Replaced cracking rubber shrouds on lower joints.

Replaced old cracking rubber brake hoses on all four corners, two years ago.

Original fuel pump, starter, injectors, water pump to the car.

A couple of small rust spots showing up here and there, but have contained them and prevented further spread.

Lost the A/C Freon years ago due to leaks somewhere in the piping lines. I didn't want to go through the work of tracking down the leak.

Original shocks (front and rear) to the car. I replaced the front shock absorber rubber pads years ago due to the aging condition of the rubber.

General Comments:

Fantastic design, if you ask me. I couldn't ask for a better combination of seating comfort, economy, reliability, ease of service, suspension ride/comfort and agility, roominess, driving position, reasonable acceleration performance, and overall pleasing sedan appearance.

I am a conservative/conscientious driver with a mechanical interest in cars. So, I assume this helps with keeping the car in good shape and in reducing failures, but this car, as well as my other two 405s (an automatic S and a Mi 16) is top notch in my experience. I plan to keep driving all of them until something catastrophic happens. This car fits me perfectly in size, purpose, and in design philosophy. Thanks, Peugeot!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2016

20th Jan 2016, 22:52

Would you happen to be Marty Karo by chance? If so, it's Steve from the old Rant n' Rave.

21st Jan 2016, 14:19

I can't say that I am. My name is John... and I live in Lexington, KY.

24th Jan 2016, 03:57

Really neat review!!!

FYI -> drove one of these new with the automatic transmission -> DUD, subtract 1 forward range while keeping the ratio spread, add the parasitic drain of a hydraulic pump to actuate the internals, and say Hello To Slow :(

Enjoy the manual :)

1989 Peugeot 405 MI16 1.9 from UK and Ireland


The Ultimate Q car


Brake calipers needed replacing, New horn, hazard warning switch. odd spots of Welding for the MOT.

General Comments:

Not the quickest car on paper, but feels so much faster than the 8.5 0-60 time listed the acceleration when in the powerband is nothing less than startling.

Handles very well up to the limit, but you can feel the under-steer building up in late braking hard turn ins and I always have the feeling that when it goes it will be spectacular.

Interior trim is very nice and the leather seats and arm rest are seriously hard wearing still look almost new on my 18 year old car.

This is my second MI16 the first being a 4X4 that was a bit of a lemon, but this one is sound if they weren't getting so rare id never drive another car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2007

23rd Mar 2007, 10:45

Your story sounds eerily familiar. I too had a 4x4 that was a bit of lemon, and at the last MOT I needed new brake calipers, a horn and hazard warning switch, as well as some welding and the hand brake had to be adjusted.

I love these cars so much that I have had tow, despite the reliability issues. On the right road with no police man in sight, this is the most fun you can have for less than a £1,000.

I also have a V6 Golf 4 motion, which is much faster and much more composed, but nowhere near as much fun.

1989 Peugeot 405 Mi16 1.9i from North America


Nothing major. It has been very reliable car.

General Comments:

The most fun car I have driven. I am now looking for one with Turbo engine cause I am hooked on the Mi16's speed and control. A true rally car and I've smoked every car I raced on the roads including Fords, Acura, and Subaru.

In the US people make fun of Peugeot, but that's due to ignorance and lack of appreciation to craftmanship (hence, the crappy american cars).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2005

14th Sep 2008, 03:09

I've got a Mi16 and I'm only a young kid. It is my second car after a Holden Commodore, and people are so ignorant and just don't understand Peugeot's.

The first comment is perfect.. lack of appreciation for craftsmanship. I just don't understand why people buy slush boxes and try tell tell me my car isn't a sports car, and it is no more sporty than a Commodore?