1989 Pontiac 6000 Reviews - Page 6 of 8

1989 Pontiac 6000 LE from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired237000 kilometres
Most recent distance252000 kilometres

Summary:

A Great Deal!

Faults:

The frame of the car needed some welding work when I bought it, but nothing other than the usual tires and brake work has gone wrong so far.

General Comments:

This car was the best deal I ever got! I paid releatively little for it because it was older, but it has run perfectly for the last year and has cost me next to nothing in the process. It drives well, looks alright, and is even pretty good on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2002

1989 Pontiac 6000 LE 2.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired171000 miles
Most recent distance194000 miles

Faults:

An ignition pack blew at 180K miles.

Put a new radiator in at the same time.

The car would eat alternators.

The paint fell off. It was gray, but is now primer gray LOL. I never got around to painting it.

General Comments:

Got the car from my Aunt.

For 184K, the car ran like a champ (original engine/transmission).

My girlfriend now has it. I am hoping it lasts for her.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2002

13th Jan 2004, 21:39

GOOLE's were known for eating alternators. The problem was a bad ground strap not making proper contact. Peeling paint? My 89 does that too. Instead of painting it with primer, I went to a hardware store and picked up a paintbrush and a bucket of Tremclad. I was surprised how well it worked.

1989 Pontiac 6000 LE 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55802 miles
Most recent distance66748 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Good old car

Faults:

(O'2) oxygen sensor just started going out.

At 40 mile an hour it jumps like it has not enough gas coming to it.

Radiator cap is broken.

Muffler is loud and the weld is rusting.

Little bit of rust on the body not too bad.

The belt is cracking not to good.

For what I think the drivers seat is not soft. The seats don't lean back and I'm a tall man so that bites.

The center arm rest is getting loose.

When it starts up in the morning s the RPM go up high and then slowly go down.

Fast and sharp turning. I like that.

General Comments:

For being so old it drives like it was just built. It's my first car so I can't complain to much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2002

1989 Pontiac 6000 LE 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance349000 kilometres

Summary:

Great car, too bad they didn't make more!

Faults:

Had to change my radiator after driving 300,000 km.

Had to replace my brake pads after 270,000km.

General Comments:

This car has a lot of power and it handles really good. The interior is in perfect condition and I get many compliments on it. A tiny bit of rust but nothing major.

The most kick I got out of this car is by blowing away those slick looking Civics and Jetta's at stop lights. They spend good 5K on souping up their cars (which growls) and my 11 year boat just blows it away! Ha ha Ha-ha!

I don't think I'll ever sell this car.. This is my baby and I am gonna keep it in my garage.. probably sell it after 20 years (when people are ready to pay handsome amount for an antique)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st August, 2001

1989 Pontiac 6000 LE from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Goolies (6000LE) are super-tanks!

Faults:

In 1996, replaced alternator.

In 1998, replaced fuel pump.

In 1999?, new brake pads.

In 2000, I had to replace the plastic seal around the rear window. It wasn't leaking, but the original plastic seal was starting to peel and stick up. I didn't mind because she was easy to find in a parking lot. Friends and family were not amused by it.

General Comments:

This was the first car I ever owned. My dad liked her because she is big and boxy and because she has low miles. We call her the goolie because that 6000LE label looks like GOOOLE if you look at it from a distance.

She is like a tank. Keeps on driving like one (goes and goes and goes). Handles like one. NEVER try to angle into a tight parking spot with an '89 goolie.

I am currently shopping for a truck because that is more practical for my life now. If anyone is looking for a goolie, please let me know. I would love for her to go to someone who will take care of her.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2001

19th Dec 2005, 16:06

The Pontiac 6000 is about the most reliable and durable vehicle I have owned. I owned an 89 first and passed it onto my son and then purchased a 90 and passed it also onto my son. Both are still going strong.

20th Dec 2005, 07:43

I had heard about that "goolie" thing before, but always thought it was just one of those urban myths cause nobody could be that dumb.

I stand corrected.

21st Jul 2007, 15:47

I just picked up an 89 LE. my uncle had one. agressive looking little devil...

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 31 reviews