1986 Pontiac Firebird 2.8 V6 from North America

Summary:

Dream Car

Faults:

Due to the previous owner's abuse, most of the suspension was replaced when I got the car.

After my brother used the car for a year, a connecting-rod bearing got spun around, I am in the process of fixing that.

The only thing that went wrong when I owned the car was the water pump needing replacement, it was the original one.

General Comments:

I love this car more than anything.

This car has perfect handling and power.

The little 2.8 V6 is surprisingly powerful, I will get a 5.7 liter V8 next year.

If you're looking for a cheap and powerful car, look no further.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2002

1986 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.0 from North America

Summary:

Frigging great!!!

Faults:

Truck and hood lift pistons, center console came loose.

General Comments:

This is my first, but not last Trans Am. Ilove this car it preforms great its very very reliable. And lights em up real good in all three automatic gears. Great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2002

1986 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.0L 305 4bbl from North America

Summary:

Best car I've ever owned, period

Faults:

Tear in the driver's seat.

Had to have the fuel system cleaned out due to excessive hydrocarbons.

Air conditioning compressor is out (probably won't replace it...that's what t-tops are for!).

Needs a paint job, which I am about to have done.

General Comments:

This car is surprisingly quick off the line and doesn't let up.

The handling is superb!

Among everything I have ever owned (and most of what I've seen/driven), this Trans Am is unsurpassed in looks and performance.

I have owned this car now for 10 months, and have yet to have a single mechanical problem with it. It starts up every morning on the first turn of the key.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2002

1986 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 305 Tuned Port from North America

Summary:

Fun car, great styling, just need to be faster so it will beat some stangs!

Faults:

Two days after I bought the car, the transmisson went out (700-R-Junk)

Two months later alternator went out.

One week after that, the fuel pump went out, that's not fun to change!

Had to replace the exhaust manifold gaskets.

General Comments:

I am not satisfied with the 305 TPI, needs a 383 Stroker badly. Other than repairs listed above, nothing really major has gone wrong, it's never left me stranded anywhere.

It is a fun car, love to drive it, and love to go cruising in the summer with the T-tops out, but it does like to run hot, needs a dual fan set-up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2002

1986 Pontiac Firebird S/E '91 5.7 Formula from North America

Summary:

A one of a kind high performance thrill

Faults:

Within two weeks of owning the car the water-pump blew. Replaced it for $14.99 ran fine afterwards.

At about 170,000 miles the engine went. It was a shame the previous owner beat her and she couldn't take the stress. So I bought a 1991 Formula engine from a friend for $300.

Light on hatchback kept blowing out. I had to re-wire the back which was cheap, but wasn't easy.

General Comments:

This car is amazing. The looks, the handling, the power. Not to mention the obvious fact that it's KITT from Knight Rider. I even named her KITT.

If your looking for a nice cheap car which can easily (and I stress the EASILY part) smoke any stock Mustang then this is your car. Just make sure the previous owner didn't beat her.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2002

1986 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 350 with one size larger cam from North America

Summary:

A high performance, eat up all those other cars, a beast

Faults:

Nothing has ever gone wrong with this car. It runs beautifully and has great handling. Has beaten many cars in street racing. no longer has stock 305 in it, but a 350 with 1 size larger cams, and a holly 650cfm 4-barrel.

General Comments:

This car is faster than a bat out of hell. :P.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2001

1986 Pontiac Firebird 5.0 305 from North America

Summary:

The car looks and performs awesome

Faults:

Overall my Firebird has been awesome. I've only replaced the brakes, springs and shocks.

General Comments:

It handles awesome and accelerates very fast.

I have beat tons of cars racing on the street with ease.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2001

4th Sep 2001, 14:01

I agree. The 1986 firebird is a great car.

9th Apr 2004, 09:27

Agreed...the 86 Firebird was a great car... had mine until ~160K miles and only replaced the cat and water pump.

29th Jul 2008, 03:01

I've had my Pontiac Firebird for 7 years and it's been a great car for me.

Although I did put in around $5.000 thousand dollars into it, I consider that a great investment and I get to ride the vehicle everyday.

For me personally the Firebird was and is still a great car.

20th Sep 2008, 00:34

I have a 1986 Pontiac Firebird, bought her about a year ago. I've put in a new Rochester Quadrajet carb. rebuilt the engine, new brakes, tires, water pump, trans and engine supports, new heater, exhaust tips.

I love this car! Can't wait to drive it once it's back from the shop, and cruise to some Metallica.

1986 Pontiac Firebird SHTR 305 from North America

Summary:

A high performance piece of crap (and a bargain too)!

Faults:

Tranny mount.

Failed DEQ. Disconnected some hoses, and took the air filter out, It PASSED!

Interior is SHOT..

Paint is bad.

Nothing else... SO FAR!

General Comments:

A wonderful car! It's great fun!

Have beat the hell outta it, and it's still in one piece, and still runs great!

How many times can YOU jump your car before it breaks? We're STILL countin! and it's in fine shape!

The rear seating "area" is rather cramped.. best for short people..

I'm telling you, we have run tests on this car and it is UNBEATABLE!!

My crew of technicians have literally done EVERYthing in the book to this car, driven over logs, jumps, dips, high speed, low speed, airborne on SEVERAL occasions.. you name it, we have done it... and its still running great!

YOU CAN'T BEAT IT!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2001