1986 Pontiac Firebird Reviews

1986 Pontiac Firebird V6 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired204000 kilometres
Most recent distance299000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Great car, I'll miss it!

Faults:

Struts and shocks, and steering linkage eventually wore out, but were very cheap to replace.

The car has needed a new alternator about every 5 years, which seems to be average for about any vehicle.

The water pump went the first year I owned the car at about 210k.

The seats eventually wore out and the headliner started to sag, but these are an easy and cheap fix for anyone whose slightly handy and owns a socket set.

... and of course, lots and lots of tires! LOL.

General Comments:

The car is very fun and economical to drive. Even with the V6 the tires are very easy to break free with the 5spd.

Roomy and comfortable for the driver and passenger, but very little room in the back seats.. really only enough room for kids.

Super reliable. Probably would still be driving it if it weren't for the incentives on new vehicles right now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2009

8th Jun 2009, 12:34

The reason you needed to replace so many tires on a 6 cylinder Firebird was probably due to a badly needed wheel alignment and not from the power of the V6, which BTW, is only 115HP. So I seriously doubt you burned the tires right out! I like how V6 Camaro/Firebird and Mustang owners always over exaggerate the power of your cars.

8th Jun 2009, 19:51

I'd keep it as a side vehicle when you buy your new car. They won't give you squat as a trade-in. If it's been so reliable, why get rid of it?? Or you could give it to a friend or relative who needs another car.. at the price the dealer will pay for it you might as well just give it away..

27th Dec 2011, 21:50

The V6 Firebird from 86 had 135HP.

You're 20 horses off, and he could easily have some mods on something that old that he doesn't know about.

I completely agree with the wheel alignment suggestion. 135 still isn't that much...

1986 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.0L 4bbl from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.0L 4bbl Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired152000 miles
Most recent distance273000 miles

Summary:

Driving excitement like a kid going to a candy store

Faults:

• Heater core went bad around 200k miles.

• Overheating problems, of course, replaced the radiator around 210k

• Timing chain wore out (actually the gear) at about 260k, which bent every exhaust push rod

• Brake booster wore out, just last week.

After all is said and done, still an awesome car!

General Comments:

I love the car. It's absolutely fun to drive. Even with the typical problems I've had and have had to fix to keep it on the road, she's still the best car ever. Pop the t-tops and ride.

I think the best part about the car, besides the feel of the car and the look/design of the car, is the exhaust. It is VERY unique and makes me extremely giddy. The throb while I'm puttering through town... I love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2009

11th Jun 2009, 12:35

I had an 86 Trans Am back when I was a young adult. It was one of the best cars I had ever owned. Once you have one, it is always in your blood.

13th Dec 2009, 12:10

I currently own a 1986 FireBird T/A with the L98 corvette 350 and TCI race transmission, and 373 posi. I have to agree, they are a whole lot of FUN!!!

22nd Oct 2013, 09:19

Hi. I have a 1986 Trans Am and I love it. You have got to take care of her, because your car's got to take you wherever you want to go... So good luck with it...

1986 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 305 V8 4bbl from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 305 V8 4bbl Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

A beautiful car that is getting more scarce

Faults:

This car has had many things replaced by the previous owner:

Alternator

Tune up

Brakes

Shocks

Control arm

Exhaust

Tires and more

Right now it needs a transmission mount and a new radiator.

The interior is a bio-hazard and it needs a front bumper, but these are because of the previous owner.

Fan had to be wired to a switch to work (was like this in my 89 Formula as well)

General Comments:

Sounds great, looks decent, after work is done will look great. Engine is very quiet and drives well; especially surprising because of the high mileage.

Nice, cheaper sporty car; won't win you any races with newer cars (dated technology) but still is fast and fun to take out on a nice day. Wish it had T-Tops, but nothing's perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th March, 2008

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 21 reviews