2006 Pontiac G6 Reviews - Page 2 of 7

2006 Pontiac G6 GTP 3.6 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.6 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance48155 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Nice luxury and performance car

Faults:

Nothing; too soon for any issues.

General Comments:

This car is loaded.

Sun roof, Monsoon 6 disk system, leather, remote start, beautiful 17" alloys, wood grain with heated seats, semi auto 6 speed transmission.

The 3.6 VVT has 252 Hp, which makes it a blast to drive, very fast car for a V6. Much more uncommon than the 3.9, which it dominates.

The GTP also has the performance suspension package, I cannot say enough about this car.

Brilliant orange dash lights adds a little something extra to driving at night.

Only thing that would make this car better is a heads up display.

It is a shame that Pontiac is being shut down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2010

2006 Pontiac G6 2.4 Ecotec from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.4 Ecotec Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Good styling, good price, good reliability

Faults:

Burned out tail light at 35,000km (warranty).

Steering column clunking sound (was told an improper shaft weld - replaced under warranty) at 25,000km.

General Comments:

Leased the car in late fall of 2006. It was a year-end clear-out model with the driver's package and sport package included. Remote start was a nice feature, especially during Canadian winters.

Car is stylish, has a lot of features, and is surprisingly durable. Poor American quality issues seem to be a thing of the past.

Only complaint is the engine. The 2.4L is very weak for a car of this size and the fuel economy is far worse than the ratings suggest. The engine's peak power does not kick in until you are at about 4,000rpm. I am in my late twenties, so of course I do not have a light foot. Fuel usage, in metric terms, I get roughly 12.5L/100km (city) and around 7.6L/100km (highway). Highway mileage is great, but the city consumption is excessive. It is a small 4-cylinder after all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2009

26th Nov 2009, 22:19

Update: Lease came up yesterday. Gave the car back to the dealer with 51,000km. 3 years with this car and I must say it was relatively painless. It was reliable, and comfortable. In fact I just purchased an 2006 G6 GTP Coupe. Very powerful and looks great. Includes luxury amenities that my leased base model did not have. But this one has the steering wheel clunk/pop sound, which is common on a lot of GM vehicles. Is this a safety issue? If it's just a sound I can live with it... I just hope it's not a sign of trouble down the road.

3rd Apr 2011, 23:46

I normally bring the car to the dealer. Labour at the dealership is not much more than the local garage...

The GTP coupe I bought has the standard moonroof. It hasn't leaked yet. 17 months after purchase and the car hasn't had any major problems (now at 111,000kms).

2006 Pontiac G6 GT from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cobalt

Summary:

Nice on the outside, cheaply put together - buyer beware!

Faults:

I've had trouble when starting the car.

The 'check engine' light will come on and then the car will just die.

The drivers side window is VERY squeaky.

The sunroof rattles a lot & is very noisy when open.

The ride is not smooth at all - you can feel every bump in the road.

General Comments:

It looks nice on the outside, but, it is cheaply put together.

The Monsoon CD system is nice.

I do enjoy the heated seats.

Needs to be a little more headroom.

G6 GT just doesn't do it for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2007

2006 Pontiac G6 GT from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance11400 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Would not buy a G6 again!!!

Faults:

I have owned a 2006 G6 for 19 months now. I don't drive a lot. There are only 11,400 miles on it so far.

I purchased the panoramic sunroof... DON'T DO IT!!! It seemed fine for the first few months, but now all it does it rattle. It does this when it is closed, and the shade is opened. I have had it in 3 times. GM has a service bulletin on it for a fix. But, it only lasts for a while. DON'T GET THE PANORAMIC ROOF IF RATTLES BOTHER YOU.

Also, the battery went dead and had to be replaced (at 11,400 miles). Fortunately the dealer did this as warranty work, so no charge to me.

General Comments:

Back seat has very low head room.

Bumps in the road seem more noticeable when sitting in the passenger seat. In general, the passenger seat is more uncomfortable when compared to sitting in the driver's seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2007

17th Dec 2007, 21:44

Umm, you do realize that a rattling sunroof will likely start leaking water as the seals wear?

21st Apr 2009, 22:52

The 2006 G6 GTP with the standard transmission is fun to drive and very sharp looking, but I've had it in the shop more times than I care to say. GM's warranty is only 36,000 miles for a reason.

I had something replaced in the steering column before the warranty was up. Then at 38,000 miles I found both the lower ball joints were bad and had to be replaced.

At 40,000 miles the left front hub assembly needed to be replaced. And recently the sunroof started to leak into the passenger side wall (again), which gets the seat belt soaking wet.

Overall the transmission isn't up to par as the 1 - 2 shift is almost always shaky. It's been in the shop a few times but has never left me stranded.

Overall, I'm glad the lease is almost up.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 19 reviews