1992 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.5 from North America


If the Grand AM is over 8 years old, stay away. Too many little things go wrong


The trip KM tracker never worked from the day I got the car.

The engine oil light comes on and off when there is nothing wrong with the oil pressure.

The a/c blows hotter air then the heater does.

Left turn signal stopped working. I have to manually flick the signal by moving the turn signal stick up and down.

Rust in the frame of the windshield cracked the windshield, and was told at the repair shop that it was common in Grand AMs from that year (92)

Rust is spreading from the two rear wheel wells.

The power windows are unreliable, They can roll down, but might not come back up till the next day.

And right now the power steering line leaks the entire reservoir in about 2 days.

General Comments:

It has always started for me during the harsh Canadian winters.

Parts are cheap, and are readily available in Canada. When I have had to order parts for my Grand AM, if they were not in stock the dealer would have them next day. But I would always do the repair myself.

If you care for the engine you will be all right. The rest of the car might fall apart around it, but if it runs "who cares.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th July, 2002

9th Nov 2002, 15:00

3.5 L May have been a mistake there.

I have a 3.3 GA, biggest they made in 92.

30th Sep 2004, 17:30

The Grand Am is a horrible car after 8 years old, Mine is a 1992, nothing, but trouble... If its used Don't BUY IT!!!

27th Dec 2006, 10:12

I bought my 1992 Pontiac Grand Am, about a year ago. New Years Eve, on my way to Lake Erie it broke down. The Surpine Belt broke, took two days to fix due to snow. This vehicle has sheered two more belts in one week, wonder if this is common in this make of car? Something has to be causing the belt to break.

11th Jun 2010, 08:28

I bought a 92 4 door SE model with 200k miles on it. Got it for next to nothing, & had no problems with it so far. Car is 18 years old & still runs great. Only had to do regular maintenance on it.

1992 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.3 Liter 4 Cylinder from North America


Great overall car


No major problems have occurred. The only things that needed replaced were normal parts such as spark plugs, distributer cap and wires.

General Comments:

This car is great. This car also has some speed behind its small engine. The seating is great. I love my car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2002

1992 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.8 Straight 4 QOHC from North America


I love my piece of garbage


My spoiler broke about 1 month after I bought it due to a crack and wind. My alternator has been replaced twice since I bought it. The serpentine belt fried. Only half of the rear defrost actually defrosts. The fabric on the ceiling is falling down around the sunroof. The sunroof opener broke with normal use. The sunroof leaks so now I have a car with a swimming pool. The fuel door spring is broke, so I have to prop the lever up. The driver side window is off the track so I have to "help" it go up straight. The window knob broke (due to frustration). The ABS speed sensor doesn't work half the time. The coils sparked out. The brake line burst. It's got nothing off the line. It shakes really bad when I hit 90, with brand new tires on it. Oh, but the Stereo works great!

General Comments:

Stereo is awesome.

A/C hasn't failed yet.

I got a swimming pool!

I can hit a mailbox and not care!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2002

1992 Pontiac Grand Am SE from North America


A great little sports car


We had a cracked head early last year. (2001) That cost a pretty penny. Other than that, this car has been Sooooooo reliable. I almost hate to get rid of it. It's only a 4 cylinder, but it drives like a little race car.

General Comments:

We have kids, and when we visit family in Kansas or Ohio, we drive there. We are looking to get a larger vehicle. Other than that, we'd drive this Grand Am until the doors fell off!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2002