1996 Pontiac Grand Am GT 2.4 Twin Cam from North America


It is definitely worth the price


The only thing wrong with it so far is that the brakes have become a little weak, but everything else is fine.

General Comments:

I can beat some of my friends performance wise and speed wise, and it is only a four cylinder. It handles beautifully and is definitely quick.

It has a nice interior, and the stereo system is pretty good. It is actually better than most of my friends who spend hundreds on systems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

1996 Pontiac Grand Am GT 2.4 from North America


A real lemon


Had the car 8 months. Already replaced the alternator, brakes and fuel pump.

That's not all. Car stalls at any time whether stopped or driving at normal speeds. That's not very funny.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

1st Feb 2001, 20:38

I bought mine and three months down the road the breaks started squeeking and a loud klunking sound is heard in the right front wheel well.

The floor behind the passenger seat gets wet even when it isn't raining. I understand how you feel.

14th Mar 2001, 06:16

I bought a new 1996 Pontiac Grand Am (ordered from factory) in June 1996. The car now has 130,000 miles on it (a lot). However, over the course of the 5 years I have owned it, it was into the dealer under warranty for an ignition coil problem on five different occasions, (towed to them 4 times). Since it has been out of warranty, it has had to have this same ignition coil assembly unit replaced an average of twice a year at a cost of about 400.00 for a mechanic to do it and about 260.00 for me to do it. The last time a mechanic worked on this car the bill was 1128.00 (this is being disputed in court) and he accomplished nothing! The next day the coil assembly unit once again failed. This has been such a reoccuring problem with this car that I would not ever reccomend a Pontiac to anyone, EVER! This car has had replaced: the water pump (3rd year), battery (2nd year), Oil Pump (1st year), Ignition Coil Assembly Unit (2 times every year of ownership 10 times total so far!), Catalytic Converter (4th year), besides regular maintenance items, tires, air filter, oil filter, oil, brakes, etc. I would advise people to stay away from this vehicle. Pontiac refused to cooperate in any way even though this car was in their shop five times while it was under warranty for the same problem (warranty lasted 8 months). And I have never gone beyond 15,000 miles before replacing the Coil Assembly Unit yet! Very Frustrating!

1996 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.1L V6 from North America


A reliable, comfortable, sporty ride


So far, this car has been extremely reliable.

There is an annoying rattle in the driver's side door which no one seems to be able to fix.

The power window and mirrors have both died on the driver's side door as well.

With the exception of the cursed door... it's been a great car.

General Comments:

I'm impressed with the car's general performance, but it lacks the cornering ability of my previous car. The engine performance and the cornering ability don't seem to be proportional.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2000

20th Mar 2001, 13:49

I have similar problems, my driver side door power for the window went out, I plan to get it fixed on Wednesday. The dealer gave me estimate of 350. How about you, did you get yours fixed? What city? I'm in Grand Rapids, miles.


1996 Pontiac Grand Am Coupe 3.1 liter V6 from North America


Not backed by GM


Nothing major until lately.

The transmission started to slip in drive then sometimes it doesn't have drive at all just 1, 2 and 3. I took it to the dealership and they said it needed a valve body replaced on the transmission. I tried to get some help with the cost from GM Co. They was no help, the dealership wouldn't cut the cost on labor so I had to pay $996.21 to get it fixed. GM knows this is happening, the dealership showed me a paper they had received from GM.

General Comments:

With the mileage this low on the car and it in good condition, I think someone could have come down on the price that was charged. I don't think I'll buy another GM product again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2000

22nd Aug 2001, 13:43

Pontiac Grand Am GT 2 door - One of the biggest mistakes I have ever made!

I bought it second hand right after a lease so I had no warranty, and I have already spent more than $4000 in two years on different occasions! The most recent one being a broken transmission - cost $2850.00.