1997 Pontiac Grand Am SE Supercharged Inline-4, 2.4 liters from North America


Very Hi-Performance for street racing people, a comfortable, and very reliable car


My little supercharged Pontiac Grand Am SE has given me a great advantage whenever I'm street racing. Of course, this Pontiac was nowhere as powerful as it is now when I first bought it, but with some modifications I just made in it, it's been ass-whooping many other cars.

The greatest modificiation I've made in it was the supercharger I just installed few months ago. The only trouble I had when I bought it was the brake pads, which I had them replaced for some racing ones.

Besides that, everything is running just fine.

General Comments:

This Pontiac has a great acceleration and good handling, not great, but good.

Its interior space is not that big, but I think it's more than enough for what I want in my car.

Great visibility on all angles for the driver. And it also has this cool-looking aerodynamic body style, something like a stream-lined butterfly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2004

7th Apr 2004, 12:08

It doesn't look like you have had the car enough time to get into the problems with the later model Grand Ams. Your turn is coming for all the problems. They always do with that model Grand Am.

1997 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.1 from North America


Expensive, nice ride, not worth the money


My intake gasket blew at 150,000 km.

Alternator tensioner blew apart 160,000.

Windows will only slowly roll down.

Struts have worn out.

Air conditioning/heater fan makes grinding noises.

General Comments:

I bought a newer model of car thinking that I would be investing in something worth while.

I thought that I would not have to sink as much money into it as I had in my previous car.

I have already surpassed the money that I had invested in my old car and have just owned this car for a year.

I am disappointed that most parts have to be replaced with manufacturers parts and not a generic part.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th January, 2004

1997 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.1 V6 from North America


A piece of junk!


Well I have owned this car for two years now. I've replaced:

The shifter on the floor at 85k.

All ABS sensors at 115k.

The alternator at 90k.

The engine lasted till 95,000, had a six inch crack on the 5th cylinder.

Both drive axles at 82k.

Anti thief control system got activated when I was travelling down the highway and water got in from the firewall at 110k.

Computer brain died at 113k.

Water pump at 118k.

General Comments:

This car is junk, the worst one I've owned. So far in misc repairs, I have put about $14,000 dollars currently into this car. Will not buy another Grand Dammed again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2004

17th Jan 2004, 15:10

"I have put about $14,000 dollars currently into this car."

Does buying a new car ring a bell :O, for the price I paid on my grand am, I could have bought 2 and a 42" plasma TV :P for what you paid in repairs...

1997 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.1L from North America


Probably a good car when it was new, but used, it's not a good car over 50,000 miles


When I first got the car it ran great, but not even two months later the engine went out with no warning (@ 98500 miles). Had to get a new engine. Since then I have replaced an alternator (@ 100000 miles), front rotors and pads (@ 106000 miles), rear right brake (@ 106000 miles), O2 sensor (@ 99000 miles), left lower control push arm (@ 113500 miles)

General Comments:

When I first got this car it ran okay, but after that engine work it ran horribly, now I am in the market for a new car, I am considering a 2001 Grand Am GT, does anyone have any suggestions?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th January, 2004

6th Jan 2004, 11:20

You had to get a new engine after only 500 miles, after which it "ran horribly"? And now you are considering another Grand Am? What are you, a glutton for punishment?

15th Feb 2004, 18:29

DO NOT get another one of these cars!!! I was a sucker for one that went bad and like you, got another one because I bought the first one as a used vehicle. Seems as though the SAME PROBLEMS are happening in everyone's cars. This is NOT normal wear and tear. They are terrible.

22nd Nov 2004, 08:33

If it was the V6 engine, ya, I've heard no good reviews on them. But I would put my cars title on the line and say that the 4 cylinders can take any abuse thrown at it.