1998 Pontiac Grand Am SE 4 cylinder. 2.4 liter from North America


I love my car!


My coolant started to leak around 95,000 miles, due to a leaking water pump.

General Comments:

It's a great car. I've had it for four and half years and 110,000 miles, and have had hardly any problems what so ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2002

1998 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 twin cam from North America


Very high maintenance after the warranty


The brake pads need to be changed every 20000 kms.

On my Honda Civic they were changed every 40000.

The water pump failed at 65000 kms.

The GM coolant Dexcool is considered acidic eating away at the gasket. This caused the pump to leak coolant.

The car has to be repaired at GM because of the location. The pump is behind the timing chain.

It was a 6 hour repair at $80/hr.

The driver's seat has rust on the floor mounts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th July, 2002

14th Nov 2002, 09:31

I agree with your comment. On yesterday with no warning at all, all of the coolant leaked out of my car and caused it to start smoking. Do you know if there has been any sort of a recall for this problem. There was no warning. No indication for the tools on my dashboard. Thanks.

Email: loveconquers2002@yahoo.com.

16th Dec 2004, 22:57

I bought my 1998 with 84,000 miles. on it and I have to say it has been a good car. A month after I bought it though, the heater core broke and I took the bottom dash out to get it out, and when I did I found out that hoses were made of plastic and were badly deteriorated and brittle, and the replacement was aluminum, it should have come stock that way. Other than the stiff ride I would change nothing else. I have added a blitz body kit and put 16"x7" wheels to improve the looks of it, and repainted it the original green with 2000 Corvette silver pearl.

1998 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4L from North America


Reliable Daily Driver


There have been no mechanical problems with this car since I have owned it. I have had to replace one headlight and the original tires. Also, the brake pads were recently replaced. The tires and brakes were working well upon replacement, but I decided to replace them because of the mileage that they had on them.

General Comments:

This car has been exactly the car I hoped it would be... a reliable work car. I was not looking for anything stylish, but wanted something that would get the job done with a minimal amount of headaches. The car is comfortable to drive, and it gets decent gas mileage as well (30+). Having owned it for almost three years without any mechanical problems, it has definitely exceeded my expectations. I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2002

1998 Pontiac Grand Am SE from North America


A low maintenance, dependable car


Brakes get worn out too often.

General Comments:

Its 4 cylinder engine really picks up and goes.

Have only had to replace the struts.

Engine and transmission have never given me any problems.

For the miles I have on the car, it has been very dependable and reliable.

All I have had to do is take it for the regular maintenance, wash it at least once a week, and keep the interior clean to keep it looking new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th October, 2001

1998 Pontiac Grand Am SE II 2.4 DOHC 4 cylinder from North America


You get what you pay for


Brake pads and rotors were replaced at 8K miles.

Interior parts are of terrible quality: Have had 3 left door panels replaced due to air bubbles forming under the material (needs a 4th one now plus the 1st right one is bubbling).

Gear shift knob broke.

Right door glass replaced due to scratches from the guides.

The carpet was cut too small and slipped out from under the door plate on the right side.

Windshield moulding came loose.

Wind noise around the left mirror.

Outside mirrors are black moulded plastic and continue to fade.

Car has very little paint: When the light hits it just right, you can see the bare metal underneath it (under the gas cap, door jams, etc.)

Cruise control module failed at 13K.

Rear sway bar bushings wore out at 25K.

Battery failed at 32K with no warning.

General Comments:

This is a great car other than the cheap interior/moulding. It performs great and gets great mileage. My dealership has been super in handling all the problems, no fuss.

I will probably buy Japanese next time though, due to the lasting quality and durability of their vehicles. I own 2 rice burners now: a 93 Nissan 4X4, and an 86 Chevy Spectrum (127K miles). I never worry about these 2 letting me down.

The Grand Am interior needs a complete redesign: the seats are the most uncomfortable I have ever encountered on a trip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2001

29th Oct 2001, 00:31

You get what you pay for is right. You get one very big headache!

19th Aug 2009, 10:11

Yea I had an old Chevrolet Spectrum, now that car was a trooper, it would crank no matter what.

23rd Nov 2009, 13:42

I have a 1998 Grand Am GT, great car, great acceleration, a lot of noise though when driving, window rattles badly.

25th Nov 2009, 14:24

"Brake pads and rotors were replaced at 8K miles"

I think somebody took advantage of you. A car can't possibly need brake pads and rotors at 8,000 miles. Not even an import. My Grand Am had the front brake pads replaced at 70,000 miles (and cost me a whopping $17). The rear pads are still the originals (at 85,000 miles). That is the ONLY repair my 2001 GA has ever required.