1998 Pontiac Grand Am GT 4 cylinder from North America


A low grade car, not worth risking your money



Dead alternator.

Brake pads replaced 12 times starting at 3,000 miles.

Window regulator (bad).


Serpentine belt and idle tension pulley.

Seat problems.


Shifter replaced 3 times.

O2 sensor.

Water pump.

Gasket kit.

Heater core problems.

ABS problems.

Had to replace a rim.

Feeling the transmission slipping.

General Comments:

I have spent $12,000 in repairs to this car and it isn't even half paid off yet.

This car has caused me problems from the time I took it off the lot. The (Pontiac) dealership has given me the run around about this car. I have found out that many other 1998 Pontiac GT cars are having similar problems. I never will recommend this car for anyone, it is a waste of money, and will cause problems financially and will cause you transportation problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th May, 2001

18th Jun 2001, 20:58

You know... I read your review and my family owns a 98 Grand Am GT and I can't believe that you would spend $12,000 on repairs! That's more than the value of that car! Wouldn't common sense say to you that you should trade the car in? Yeah, you would have some negative equity, but it won't equal 12 grand! use your head man!

1998 Pontiac Grand Am GT1 3.1 supercharged from North America


Piece of crap


Whole electronics shot days after the warranty expired (all new injectors, alternator, battery).

All new tires.

Windows leaking.

General Comments:

Well, it has 25,000 miles and is sitting in my garage unoperable. That's right, the entire charging system needs to be replaced. Do not buy one of these cars, they suck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd February, 2001

1st May 2001, 17:02

I own a 1990 Grand Am with 185,000 miles and the only problems I have encountered have been the alternator and the headliner. The alternator went bad because of the stereo I put in the car and the headliner just fell because of age and heat.

I will buy another Grand Am as soon as I can get enough money. I love these cars.

1998 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.1L from North America


This car is quick for a 3.1L. It has been very reliable as I drive a 145 miles round trip each day to work.

The only problem I have had is with the alignment and front brakes. The braking system is poor on this car. The rotors tend to warp easily and with very little mileage on them. They are too loud when braking and almost sound like grinding.

I hope Pontiac has corrected this problem on newer models as this is the only flaw I have found on this car and it is a shame because it is a quick, comfortable, reliable, and good looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2001

22nd Feb 2001, 23:55

I agree with you. I have a 1996 Pontiac Grand Am, and it too has the same braking problems. I have replaced pads on my car twice within 5 thousand miles, and the rotors were replaced once within the same 5000 miles. I sure hope Pontiac has corrected this problem in future vehicles.

13th May 2001, 20:50

My name is Timothy McCauley and I can tell you a sweet tip, get high performance pads and slotted/drilled rotors and your brake problems will be solved.

A fellow Pontiac owner!!!

26th Nov 2001, 23:28

I own a 97' Grand Am GT. It is very fast for a 4-cylinder, but front brakes do wear quickly.

At 52000 miles the alternator went, and at 53000 miles the ignition coil failed. Other than that, the car is great, average fuel economy, great performance, I only hope Pontiac fixes the minor problems with the new models.

They sure look great, and from what I've heard they are one of the nicest cars out there.


Pittsburgh PA.

1998 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.1 V6 from North America


A quick, comfortable car!!


Nothing has gone wrong... but we have had the notorious brake problems. But by purchasing the life time guarantee brakes you will save a lot of money!!

General Comments:

This car has been really great... our previous Grand Am also was, which was also bought new in 1990. I am now in the market for a new car and the first car on the list is once again the Pontiac Grand Am... although a GT this time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2001