1999 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 51 of 78

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles

Summary:

Cheap Made Beauty

Faults:

Glass is scratched due to window going up and down.

Volume knob on radio doesn't work right.

Change oil light comes on whenever it feels the need to.

Numbers 1&2 on the air conditioner control do not work.

Center storage area is scratched due to seats being moved forward and back.

Replace tires quite often.

Replace breaks quite often.

Right front tire wears more than avg and has to be replaced more than others.

General Comments:

I got into a wreck with this car and it seemed to be pretty sturdy. I had minor damage compared to the other vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th January, 2004

1999 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Mechanical and Electrical Nightmare!!

Faults:

Brake Rotor 10K miles

Brake Rotor 65K miles

Wheel Bearing 68K miles

Fog Light will not turn off 69K miles

Keyless entry will not work (it's not the battery) 69K miles

Radio volume control does not work properly. The last 50K miles.

Interior door panels, next to windows bubbling and ripping.

Dash (next to windshield) popping up.

Terrible gas mileage.!!

General Comments:

I thought this was a great car when I first got it. It is a beautiful car, but I am very displeased with the performance of the car. I have had a lot of brake problems and have now started having electrical problems. I will not buy another Pontiac.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st December, 2003

14th Apr 2004, 13:57

My 1999 Pontiac Grand Am is having an electrical problem with the headlights staying on after car is turned off. (but only intermittently) Dealership can't find the problem.

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

I'd rather be making a new car payment each month than payig the maintenance bills for a lemon.

Faults:

I bought it used with 58,000 miles in 10/2003.

5 days after the 60 day warranty was up, the window regulator died. $400.00 repair. Nice when you can't roll the window up during a snow storm in NY.

Service Engine Soon light goes on for no known reason.

Now, 2 weeks later, the intake manifold gasket blew. $800.00 repair.

What's next?

General Comments:

After reading all of these posts, I know I made a serious mistake buying this. NEVER AGAIN!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th December, 2003

27th Jun 2005, 17:09

Hi, I just recently purchased a 99 Pontiac Grand Am SE (V6). This is my third used car and I must say with the experience from the other cars that I've owned, I have learned my lesson on maintenance. Used cars or any car over 30,000 miles will have something that needs to be replaced. The Pontiac that I purchased had 100,000 miles on it. I got a vehicle history report on it a well as followed the scheduled maintenance that is in the back of the handbook to have the spark plugs, and trans-axle fluid/filter changed. I'm also looking to have some other things changed a well. Basically you never know how well the person before you took care of the car. So if you buy a used car beware, while I on one hand have no problems with this car, I am also willing to replace things on the car not because there is something wrong, but because of the mileage that has been put on this car. I also looked at the kelley blue book before purchasing my car so that even if problems did occur, I wouldn't be bitter about the price that I paid. I paid $4500, and the car is in great condition.

1999 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Want to buy a 1999 Grand Am GT?

Faults:

Brake Rotors @ 20K (Living with it... apparently nothing "wrong")

Transmission Fluid Gasket @ 45K (Leaks into Fuel System)

Spark Plug Wires, Ignition Coil @ 55K (Misfires)

General Comments:

At the time, this was the first decent looking car Pontiac had produced in years. The GT was thankfully ignored when the usual Pontiac plastic trim/ground effects were slapped on everything that rolled off the factory. So looks were a plus.

Generally, it is clear that this was a new model, and tweaks should have been made which I don't believe have been. Example, the brakes on the car leave something to be desired. Larger rotors would be nice.

As for reliability, it's an American car, and I have had it. I owned a Chevy Cavalier as my first car, and for 12K, I got what I expected... a decent entry car for a college student on a budget, some repairs over it's lifetime, but all in all... I was neutral on American cars.

I traded in and up to a Chevy Tahoe, hoping that the truck-division has been getting it right. Family have owned several Tahoes for years with minimal repairs... mostly insignificant items.

The Pontiac was a second car in the family as the family grew... and after 55K miles it has been disappointing. It isn't a lemon, but it just isn't worth it.

I receive a GM discount through my employer, which made the difference in price up front... but the amount of money you have to pour into the vehicle for repairs more than offsets the price of a comparable Japanese vehicle. From now on, it is Honda/Acura, Toyota/Lexus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th December, 2003

13th Apr 2004, 11:27

Foreign cars suck, and take all your money.

15th Apr 2004, 07:53

I owned a Honda and a Toyota they both sucked big lemons, you buy a USA car you don't need to put all your money in it just to make it climb hills, sure you have normal wear in a car and minor repairs, but I will never buy another rice burner again, buy a bike a 10 speed is faster then a rice burner, other wise stay with American.

8th Jan 2005, 23:50

If you really have tranny fluid leaking into your fuel system like you stated, I think the car is not the problem, fire the mechanic, and if you are looking into a lexus, you obviously don't need to be driving a budget tuner!!

12th Mar 2005, 16:41

Have you noticed that the more foreign cars on the road, the harder is has become to find a good job? The Japanese only "Assemble" 1 out of 10 cars they sell in the US.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 264 reviews