1999 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 52 of 78

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired300 kilometres
Most recent distance201000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Worst warranty = Lemon

Faults:

Brakes every 20000 and my miles are all highway.

Rotors every 35000.

1 and 2 on the fan broke at 100000.

Coolant problems at 150000.

Coil spring and struts at 200000.

ABS and Trac Off light has just came on. I guess I'll drive without ABS for a while.

General Comments:

I have spent $4000.00 on non-routine maintenance and I'm sure there is more to come.

Extremely poor quality and the brakes are the worst I ever heard of.

The cheap wheel covers are so cheap that after a few years they rattle so loud that you have to ditch them.

I still have to pay a fair bit of the car off and it makes me so nervous knowing that more problems are yet to come.

The car does drive nice and handles well, but that is little consolation to the pocket book.

I feel somewhat lucky (knock wood) after reading some of the other reviews because I have put so many kms on the car, but still cars should be built to last, and this one isn't.

No wonder they have the worst warranty in the business, I'll never buy a GM again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th December, 2003

4th Dec 2003, 11:53

Considering you have driven the heck out of the car in the last 4-5 years, I wouldn't be complaining. That's actually not that bad for an American car.

23rd Feb 2004, 19:56

I would definatly agree... 201000 km in 5 years is a lot! You've driven that car more than most of the people here, how could you say it's a bad car?

1999 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.6 Ram Air from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.6 Ram Air Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired43511 miles
Most recent distance59671 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Awesome car!!

Faults:

I haven't had a single problem with my Grand AM.

General Comments:

I bought this car used almost 2 years ago. I haven't had any problems with it. Of course I take great care of it; wash every weekend, oil changes when needed, air pressure checked on tires.

Very responsive car, quick when you need to move.

Great looking and a joy to drive. Really awesome car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2003

26th Jan 2004, 08:13

Checking the air pressure in the tires and washing the car has NOTHING to do with reliability and problems that may arise.

26th Jan 2004, 18:30

Washing, if including wax prevents rust and paint fading. Proper air pressure will increase the life of the brakes and suspension components.

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 Twin Cam from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Twin Cam Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

An excellent choice

Faults:

Ever since I own this car, I have never had any problems with it. Except the usual oil change, filter change and everything that the book recomend for you to do at a certain mileage.

The only big thing that I had to do is change the tires. They were some expensive, $400 for the 4 of them, but I think this car deserves it.

General Comments:

The Grand Am response on passing gear is excellent, it will not die on you. Also, the mileage that I get on the highway is great! The only thing I do not like is the mileage I get on the city. I believe I got more mileage in my '94 cavalier that on the Grand Am, but I am usually on the road so, it doesn't matter that much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2003

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.6 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.6 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

The Grand Am is typical of the strengths and weaknesses of US car makers.

Faults:

Brakes! Brakes and more brakes! Had warped rotors replaced every 6,000 miles, mostly under $100 per service warranty agreement with dealer. Was told by service mgr that it was "my driving habits." My Honda has never had rotors replaced in 206,000 miles (so much for my driving habits).

Power steering servo went bad at 20 K, replaced under warranty.

Air conditioning compressor went bad at 30 K, replaced under warranty.

Alternator just went out at 86 K, serpentine belt appears worn.

Back-up light housings are half full of rainwater because the electrical cable inlet is not sealed. In fact the cable runs inside the rear wheel wells, allowing snow and ice to accumulate on them. When ice breaks loose it tears the cables from their retainer clips and pulls them right from the light sockets. Very thoughtful designing!

Headlight housings have "speed clips" (this is an oxymoron) which are supposed to make replacing headlamps really easy and avoid having to re-aim the headlights each time. Yeah, right. The owners manual shows a housewife replacing the headlamp without dirtying her manicure. In the real world, it took the dealership service manager 20 minutes to get the speed clips back in and that evening when I turned my headlamps on, the replaced lamp beam shown up into the trees.

There have been some odd phenomena with the electrics, e.g., the digital instrument readouts have pulsed on and off, the clock went ga-ga, and then returned to normal. Also, I can't stand the 'change oil' warning light that comes on when it feels like it, is totally independent of any real need to change the oil, and is hell to get to turn off (you have to go into a dash side switch panel and run a fairly complex procedure to get the thing off).

General Comments:

The car handles really well (apart from braking).

Performance is sporty without being scary.

Ergonomics are good (comfortable to drive).

Sound system is excellent.

Fuel economy is surprisingly good for such a high performance engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th October, 2003

17th Nov 2003, 00:58

I have a 1999 Grand Am SE and I have been having some serious problems lately and from the looks of some other comments on the vehicle I am not alone. I have been noticing the mounds of electrical malfunctions - i.e. the low coolant, change oil and service engine. My clock will also display some very strange things. I have been leaking coolant lately; very steadily, if I may say and I am worried b/c I think it may be the gasket as well. I know those are pricey to fix, but are there any warranties I don't know about? Recalls? My father bought me this car thinking that it would be a safe and smart investment for his little girl to drive, but to be quite honest I don't feel safe in the car at all. If anyone has any pointers, please let me know. My vehicle has about 92,000 miles on it.

I also read the gentleman's comment about the windshield. That happened to me as well. I was parked in the garage of my home so I know that it wasn't a vandal. I came out one morning and there was a crack about a foot and a half long. Wierd.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 264 reviews