1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.4L from North America


Very aggressive looking, and fast


I have only had the car one week. The only thing that is wrong at this time is when it goes over 120km it makes a humming in the dash.

The plastic is also coming off where you close the door.

There was also a small spot on the back door passenger side that has a bit of paint peeled off.

General Comments:

I love this car, it handles the road amazingly well. I hardly feel bumps and it corners very well. It has great pick up, very perky.

The looks of the car are also nice, very aggressive front styling with a seemingly higher rear end, makes me think of a jungle cat about to pounce.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2003

12th Mar 2003, 20:37

Well, I've got an 89 grand am also. The first few weeks everything seemed fine. After that... OUCH! But; it's still a lot of fun while driving it! they do go quite fast... around 115-120 MPH, so you haven't even tapped the speed yet. Have fun!!!

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE from North America


I will never own another one


So far I have had to replace the brake pads 2 times.

Turn the rotors twice and replace the rubber lines once.

I now have at least one bad wheel speed sensor and bad wheel bearings.

General Comments:

The braking system needs to be redesigned for better wear.

The plastic and carpet in the trunk is always having to be put back on.

It does have good pick up and speed when needed. Comfort isn't too bad, but the seats take a long time to recover after a 3000 mile drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 Liter L4 from North America


It is a great looking piece of junk!


All four door panels are coming apart.

Dashboard is coming apart.

Windshield air vents are cracked due to the dashboard coming apart.

Outside window trim is coming apart.

Had to replace brakes 4 times.

Had front hydraulic brake service done. Cost: $290.

Replaced front rotors at 37,000 miles. Cost: $110.

Replaced coil packs. Cost: $125.

Replaced coil pack housing. Cost: $120.

Alternator had to be replaced 3 times.

Battery has been replaced 4 times.

Slips gears after backing up and then putting shifter into drive.

RPM's fluctuate at stop lights (the car feels like it wants to cut off)

General Comments:

I have paid out over $2000 in repair costs for this car. I have maintained the car by the book, and still continue to have problems with it. I have owned a couple of other cars, and have never had the amount of problems with them as I have had with my Grand Am.

I have not received any help from the dealership in any of these problems, and I know I never will. That is why I am currently researching Florida's lemon laws, gathering all repair and maintenance invoices, and I plan to submit copies and proof of all this to GM.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2003

3rd Oct 2008, 09:32

I have had most the same problems with mine.

The coil pack housing being the most recent, well no, I take that back, my third alternator died yesterday. GM should do a complete recall of this worthless POS.

18th Oct 2008, 21:57

I have had almost all those same problems with the same car, same year! I have over 168,000 miles on it now though.

Just wondering when I'll need a replacement!

I'm glad there is someone to commiserate with!

28th Feb 2009, 09:45

I had both front wheel bearings replaced. Passenger front done 3 times, $275.00, driver's side 1 time ($250.00).

Alternator 1 time ($150.00).

Full fuel line front to back, cost $310.00.

Heater plug ($50.00), did this myself.

Check engine light on and off all the time.

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.2 from North America


Saved my life on a 50 ft ice patch on a steep mountain!


The main problem is it goes through brakes to fast.

General Comments:

I really love everything about the car. Its great in all weather.

It is very reliable.

The new wide body style makes a difference on windy roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2003