2001 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 from North America


Decent for the money


My accelerator cable broke and caused me to have an accident. There is a small cap-like piece that threads onto the end of the cable, keeping the wire from popping out and staying out when accelerator is used. This piece fell off, and caused my accelerator to stick. Braking and shifting gears did not work, the car continued to accelerate.

General Comments:

I have been fairly pleased with the maintenance free years I have owned this car, but now with this issue I am a little concerned. I will not feel entirely safe driving it, even when the cable is replaced. I don't know what caused this to happen, but I am glad I was not on the Interstate or around other people when it happened.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th April, 2006

3rd Jun 2006, 02:15

I agree these are serious issues. And if I were you I would get rid of the car, too. However, in fairness to the Grand Am, I have owned two-a 1990 and now a 2001, and the most recent one has never given me any problems. I would recommend it.

10th Aug 2006, 05:50

Almost the same problem. My accelerator cable frayed inside the plastic hose/housing causing the throttle to stay open while driving. Pulling back on the gas pedal did nothing and downshifting just revved the engine harder. Neutral just red-lined it. I was able to get into a parking lot and shut the engine down in neutral, but then I lost power brakes and steering.

My 1999 Grand Am has just under 80,000 miles and has been nothing, but a headache from the get-go.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am SE from North America


It is a decent car, but beware that there will be problems with it sooner than most other cars


I have had to replace the brakes twice.

I have had to replace the switch underneath the passenger side panel for the air conditioning (I am really horrible with names).

Body Control Module in put in 2 times.

My car has shut off on me and did not start again.

The security constantly came on.

Everything except the car shut off on me once while I was driving, at night. (The headlights, radio, locks unlocked, the dash lights, etc)

Lets just put it this way, if you have money to fix a car more often than most, this is your type of car.

General Comments:

It is a cute car, spacious and comfortable.

It gets decent gas mileage on the highway about 27-30mpg. However in the city I am getting about 21-23mpg.

It is fully loaded, which is nice.

The fold down rear seats are a plus for you if you like to do any kind of traveling, or hauling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th April, 2006

17th May 2006, 16:46

I am having the same type of problem with my car, 2000 Grand AM GT, shutting off while driving. Sometimes it will start after 5 minutes, sometimes after 1 hour. Has anyone found out what causes this?

Also, the blinkers come on by themselves and my volume button for the radio is not working properly. My brother had the same problem with his '99 Grand Am.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am SE from North America


Good looking car at an affordable price, with a few minor problems


Only a few minor problems with the car.

-Brakes/Rotors replaces @ 33,000, and feel like they will need it again before inspection.

-Fan Blower Switch only works on 5 (high)

-Cracked Windshield (Rocksalt from winter)

-Rear 6x9 speakers have blown out.

-Also like other reviews, have had problems with Security light, but was able to read the manual and get the car started with no further problems or re-occurrnces.

General Comments:

-Great looking car, midnight blue color looks great at night with headlamps on.

-Clear coat/shine has held up fantastic for being a 2001, looks brand new.

-Solid mechanically so far, with 50,000 miles fast approaching, will start preventative measures (i.e. Transmission flush, belts/hoses replaced)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2006

20th Mar 2006, 18:44

The problem that you are having with your fan only working on "5" is due to a resistor. If you go to grandamgt.com and search the forums, you will find an easy fix. It's a 10 cent resistor and just a few minutes of your time. I hope this helps.

26th Apr 2006, 06:58

Your fan only working on high, may not be only 10 cents. Mine cost me $50 to fix!

24th May 2006, 08:40

The cracked windshield shouldn't be listed as a problem, nor should blown rear speakers (caused from using too much volume). As for the brakes, I can't fathom how anyone could wear out rotors and pads in only 33,000 unless they continually drove with their foot on the brake pedal. I've never had to replace brakes on any vehicle I owned before 80,000 miles. My current Grand Am has 50,000 miles on it and has at least 50% of the pads left.