2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 Liter from North America


I am not happy with my 2001 Grand Am


The security setting on my vehicle has caused more of a false sense of security. The car will not start at times and I have been left stranded on more than one occasion. I will have the vehicle towed to a mechanic, only to have the vehicle start right up. This has happened to me 5 times and I do not want to sell the car and have someone go through the problems I have had.

There are several other comments pertaining to this problem listed on this web site. I strongly urge you to go to the "manufacturers" web site and let them know about this particular problem. This needs to be addressed, and in my mind there needs to be a recall.

General Comments:

I am losing faith in my American made car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2006

8th Aug 2006, 12:57

I have news for you. Japanese cars have wayyyyy worse problems than you're having. I'm a mechanic, and I can assure you that American cars are built as well (probably better) than any car in the world. You've been reading too many Toyota commercials and articles by magazine writers who get huge perks from Japanese car makers. One of my older friends, who also ran an auto repair shop, told me he earned twice as much repairing Nissans, Toyotas and Hondas as he ever did on American cars.

9th Aug 2006, 13:20

Japanese cars don't have WAY worse problems.. everything has problems.. the more like a SATURN it is the worse it is. BUT.

Your security system is aftermarket.


20th Aug 2006, 13:47

The security systems on lots of new cars seem to be more of a headache than a help. I'd rather just risk getting it stolen. As for the Japanese cars, the ones we've had have not been as dependable as our American made cars.

19th Sep 2006, 19:39

Saturn is one of the best built cars on the planet. I've driven Saturns that had 200,000 miles on them, and they still felt new. Are you sure you weren't thinking about Nissan?

2001 Pontiac Grand Am SE Automatic from North America


I would never recommend a Grand Am to friends, family or complete strangers.


The car was purchased brand new in May 2001. The assumption was since it was brand new I wouldn't have to be concerned with an older car needing maintenance. A very foolish thought in my case. I have had so many if only's...If only I had chosen a different color, if only I had chosen a different dealer, if only I had gone with the types of cars I have dealt with in the past and new the history...

The car was delivered on May 10th 2001.

May 23 2001 --- it was back in the shop with the Check ABS light on. Problem fixed.

June 28 2001--- Engine stalls while idling and dies when AC is turned off. Diagnosis --Power Train Controller-reprogram on car.

July 6, 2001--- Engine stalls when put in gear at times. Diagnosis-- Valve, idle air control - replace valve.

August 20,2001--- Engine stalls when turning off AC. Diagnosis--unable to duplicate any abnormal condition at this time.

September 12, 2001---Same problem as above. Diagnosis-- Body unit, throttle - replace.

October 12, 2001-- Engine idle fluctuates and misses at times. Diagnosis--unable to duplicate.

November 19, 2001 --Same problem --Diagnosis- powertrain controller- reprogram on car.

May, 7, 2002-- Engine hesitates while driving. Diagnosis--Integrated direct ignition system components - Replace Coil.

July 11, 2002--Engine Stalls at times. Diagnosis-- Throttle Body.

October 7, 2002 Repeat of problem with Engine stalling and running rough when put in gear or AC being turned off. Cannot Duplicate. Turn signals and hazards inoperable at times. Diagnosis--switch -replace hazard warning.

November 18, 2003--Security light comes on and car will not start. SES Light is on. Diagnosis replace coils and coil housing.

November 26, 2003--Security light is on and no start at times. Diagnosis --Replaced lock cylinder and housing. Still has miss when going up hills. Diagnosis--injector service.

May 24, 2003 to current (July 2006) - Vehicle continues to miss when traveling open highway miles primarily when accelerating or going up hills. This problem with the vehicle has never been fixed. The Security light has continued to be a problem off and on for the last several years, but within the last few days it is now averaging no starts at least 1-2 times per day.

July 25, 2006.

General Comments:

This car is clearly a lemon. Unfortunately I was not familiar with the Lemon Law and missed the time to file. In good conscience I cannot "unload" this car because I would not want anyone to go thru what I have gone and continue to go thru with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th July, 2006

28th Jul 2006, 16:57

You obviously had a VERY inept dealership. I am sorry you've had so much trouble with this car. Most of it sounds EXACTLY like a problem I encountered with my Ford, which was why I traded it for my 2001 Grand Am SE-1. My Grand Am has been the absolute best, most trouble-free car I have ever owned...PERIOD. The Ford dealership in my area is notorious for HORRIBLE service and not being able (or not being WILLING) to fix ANYTHING. On the other hand, the local Pontiac/GMC dealership is absolutely GREAT about being sure the customer is taken care of. That is why we traded both our Fords in on GM products. Although my Grand Am has never had one single problem, my wife's GMC did have an A/C problem at 40,000 miles and the dealer fixed it very promptly and at no charge to us, and it has STAYED fixed.

There is a huge difference between dealerships in various parts of the country, and I would not blame this (very GOOD) car for a crummy service department that refuses to fix it. Several of my friends and neighbors have Grand Ams with way over 100,000 miles on them with never a single problem. I plan to keep mine until it has at least 200,000 miles on it because its replacement (the HIDEOUS G-6) is such an ugly car. If I could buy a brand new 2001 Grand Am just like mine I'd do it without a second's hesitation. The car I had before the Grand Am had a 5.0 V-8 and was only BARELY more powerful than my 4-cylinder Grand Am. It also got HALF the mileage (15 versus 30 for the Grand Am). The Grand Am is also far quieter and rides much smoother. We've owned over 35 cars in my family over the past 35 years, including 2 Japanese cars (which were lemons) and one German car (which was a total disaster). NONE has ever impressed us like this Grand Am has.

6th Feb 2007, 00:27

I was just wondering something... why did you keep the car after 2001..or even 2002 after SOOO many supposed problems happened? Whats worse? Having a lemon car or keeping a lemon car for 5 years? Just wondering...

3rd Oct 2007, 14:55

Okay, I purchased my 01 Grand Am Se in 2004, used of course, but I am JUST now beginning to have problems with coolant leaks and the Service Engine soon light, I'm taking it in this afternoon, we'll see what's up with it. It has been a great car thus far!

19th Sep 2008, 23:09

The security light can be fixed by putting on a new ignition switch, that is what was wrong with mine. I agree that the car is a lemon, but I still have mine because it gets me from point A to point B.