2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.8 from North America


Attractive speed demon


My service vehicle soon light comes on.

My anti-lock brake light flashes.

My track off light comes on.

Constant flat tires.

General Comments:

Driving this car is like being in a racers heaven.

It handles very well.

Doesn't begin to shake and rattle once high speeds have been attained.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

27th Sep 2001, 19:48

Apparently this person can't possibly know what he or she is driving because if they think for one new york minute that there Grand AM GT has a 3.8 liter engine then they are crazy. "...car racers heaven" I think that is an overstatement when talking about a Grand AM GT. Don't get me wrong, the car have very attractive styling, and surely wins the hearts of many people... but when it comes to the technical specs, I think my 1998 Malibu LS (3.1L V6) runs just as fast as the Grand AM GT without the takeoff. I would seriously evaluate this statement because surely this person does not know what he or she is driving.

3rd Jun 2007, 12:20

I believe all V-6 Grand Ams have a 3.4 V-6. The GT has a ram air thing though so it has a LITTLE more horse power.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT V-6 from North America


While driving the car between 45-70 miles per hour, through a curve, the steering wheel loosens and pulls. Seat belt light was coming on, staying on and flickering. Seat belt light has been fixed. Steering problems have been worked on twice with no luck or answers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th April, 2001

2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT1 from North America





General Comments:

I realize that this car is brand new, and I know it takes time to break it in. So far it exceeds all our expectations. Looks great! Handles great! We live in a very remote area that has very curvy roads. It's perfect!

We have yet to be able to "floor it" so to speak because of the fact that we have to go slow to break it in! Do others know this?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2001

14th Mar 2001, 11:25

Don't believe that for a second! The car quickly learns you're driving habits from day 1. The term "breaking in" does not really apply anymore to the new engines.

29th Oct 2001, 00:05

A comment on the comment, breaking in an engine is absolutely necessary. It gives the rings and bearings a chance to set in place. And as for the person who wrote this review, the reason why you like this car is because it is brand new. Just wait until the problems start appearing. I work for a very large towing company and the Grand Am is the number one car I have to pick up.

31st Jul 2003, 17:45

I have had my 2002 Grand Am GT for about 6 months now (it was previously a rental, and I got it for $12,000), and it's great.

The only problems I've had with it are aesthetic issues, like the missing seat lever on the passenger side which the local GM dealer fixed for free, and I broke the right portion of the air dam on a BAD dip in the road, which was also fixed very cheaply.

I don't know if "breaking it in" is NECESSARY or not - but I'd give it a shot, because you will be pleasantly surprised by the power this engine will dish out. :)