2001 Pontiac Grand Am SE from North America


Not very reliable


I have only had this car for about 2 years and I have had to take it back to the dealer for service at least 5 times in the last 6 months. The car just dies on me every 30 days or so and then the dealer always seems to find a different problem each time so it has become very expensive to keep this car.

General Comments:

Would not by another Grand Am if you paid me. Maybe I would buy a Grand Prix etc. But I no longer have any faith in the Grand Am.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th July, 2003

2001 Pontiac Grand Am SW 4 cylinder from North America


Did not meet expectations for GM quality


Front brakes had to be done twice in the 16 months of ownership.

Fuel gage would work, sometimes.

Electronic traction control would turn itself off.

Turn signals would work, sometimes.

Climate control fan would only work on 3 or above.

Climate control selector switch broke off into pieces.

Engine had a strange noise while in idle, Like an exhaust leak after muffler.

Radio display went bad so you can see half of the display.

Fuel injection rail had to be replaced at 27,000 miles.

General Comments:

Engine and transmission seem to be good.

I believe General Motors skimped on quality in a lot of areas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

12th Aug 2003, 09:34

I have a 01 SE and had to have the rotors and brakes replaced at 23,000 miles, now at 40,000 miles I am having the same problems with the rotors again.

I had the same problem with the fan, but got that fixed.

Now I am having front end problems on the drivers side, and the steering is also pulling when the speed is over 45 miles per hour.

I bought the Grand Am because I had a 1989 2.5 Grand Am, with over 240,000 miles on in and never had any problems with it.

I guess they just don't make them like they use to.

3rd Sep 2003, 13:18

For the climate control thing you mentioned... when you have the selector on the "max" setting it only works at 3 or above. Every other setting works 1-5.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 from North America


Great car for the money!!


Nothing major has gone wrong with this car.

One minor thing has occurred. My A/C knob came off, but for the $3 that it cost for a new one... not a big deal. If that is the only problem that I have with this car, I would be very happy.

General Comments:

Quite a bit of power out of a mid-size car. It's easy to lead foot it and attract the attention of the highway patrol.

Very safe in terms of handling. I slid on the interstate in wet weather and any other vehicle might very well have rolled over. I only incurred minor damage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2003

2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 RAM AIR from North America


Mine is a lemon


Computer chip went bad took int in 3 times before delear fixed it. radio making humming noise in shop now for that, 3rd time in shop for that. It doesn't start right away all the time. only had car for 2 months.

General Comments:

I love the pick up, leather seats, but not reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2003

4th Aug 2003, 08:10

I was just wondering... you mentioned that the car won't start the first time always. I have the same problem with my 2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT. I have had the car since 21 miles to now with 50,500 miles. The car still has problems starting and the dealer has never been able to duplicate or solve this problem. Just wondering if they were able to solve your car start problem and what it was caused by?


2001 Pontiac Grand Am SE 1 2.4L from North America


Stylish Speedster


I have yet to find anything wrong with this car! The wind noise can be a little much when you're on the highway and you're listening for it.. Otherwise- 56,000 miles and still running perfectly.

General Comments:

This car is quick and handles like a dream.

The seats are comfortable and the controls are ergonomically designed at just the right angle for the drive to attend to.

The stereo system is wonderful! I had intended on buying speakers and a new CD player for the car before I purchased it, but once I got in and turned it on, I quickly dropped that notion. Lots of bass, lots of clear sound and no distortion.

Not a thing rattles! I live on a gravel road which turns into a rickety blacktop full of potholes, and I haven't heard a sound yet that I couldn't attribute to something of mine in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2003