2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT1 3.4 from North America


New, but as-is, no warranty


The electrical system shot and GM refused to repair it, although it was within the warranty period.

Brakes grind when wet.

New vibration in front end.

General Comments:

The price was right and the "pick-up" is excellent, but it is not worth it, as I have to drive around constantly worrying about what's going to happen next. I will NEVER, EVER buy another GM product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th February, 2004

2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT from North America


Looks great, but is disappointing when it comes to the service you receive.


Brakes replaced at 38,000 miles.

Headlights replaced at 41,000 miles.

Cruise Control Switch replaced at 44,000 miles.

Gas Tank Sensor reading incorrectly at 39,000 miles, but not replaced, (just does that on occasion) nothing found wrong.

Fuel pump replaced at 46,650 miles.

General Comments:

Brakes replaced this early - confused!

Headlight out this soon no apparent reason.

Cruise control switch took 2 tries to get it fixed.

Sensor in gas tank just does it sometimes and there is nothing really wrong that they can find. Did nothing to repair it.

Fuel pump went out and when it was repaired it took me 1 1/2 days left me with no vehicle and stranded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd February, 2004

2001 Pontiac Grand Am SE from North America


Would love to buy another grand am


So far the only problems I have had with my car is the turn signals and scratches on my driver side window.

And now my heat don't work to well on one and two.

General Comments:

The car handles very well.

I am in the process of making it a little faster.

There is plenty of room for my crew with no arguments.

I also get pretty decent mileage out of it esp. for buying it used.

The anti-theft system works very well on this car too as finding out first hand.

I love all the things you can do to this car to make it look like your 'own'.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2004

18th Feb 2004, 08:15

Your heating controls don't work on one and two because of a bad resistor. I took my gt in and had the resistor replaced under warranty.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am SE 4 cylinder from North America


Too much of a pain to be worth the looks


First, let me say that my first car was a hand-me-down 91 Grand Am that I loved dearly, so when I got a new car, it seemed great to get the new version.

Within 3 months, the blinkers didn't work unless you jiggle the hazard light button.

Within 6 months, the springs in the driver's seat back had popped loose and are now sticking out of the back of the seat.

The radio changes volume whenever it wants to, even when it is not set on the sound control setting.

SOmetimes the CD player doesn't work right, and I get a buzzing noise from the speakers in the back.

I had to change the brakes 3 times within the first year of owning it.

Sometimes the tank meter reads a half tank and it dies for no reason.

Today I found out that the gas I was smelling when I idle at stoplights is coming from a leak on the fuel rails.

Also, sometimes it won't catch when I am trying to start it, and it makes really loud clanging noises.

General Comments:

The seats are very comfortable, but I wish there were more room in the backseat for leg-space.

When the car is acting right, it works great, but I would never buy another Pontiac. I don't trust them now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th January, 2004

15th Mar 2004, 19:52

My main problems with the grand am are the blinkers and the drivers seat. I purchased the car new with 36 miles on it and a 3 year/36,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty.

At 30,000 miles, the blinkers would sometimes work (or not) unless you first used the hazard button. The car has been in the shop three times for this problem and they still sometimes don't work.

At 34,789 miles the drivers seat developed a popped spring in the back of the seat that has almost punctured a hole in the upholstery. Luckily, this will be covered under warranty. I now have 35,579 miles on the odometer.

I have complained about the slowness of the brakes, but my husband says this is normal for an anti-locking brake system.

The last complaint would be the way the car shifts. It seems to shift too hard. I think this will cause a transmission problem with the more miles accumulated.

28th Mar 2005, 10:57

I'm on my second GA in 6 years, I just bought 2001 GT 4dr about 5 months ago. I think from my own experience, the the hard shifting is caused by the way you actually drive your car. I've had a 4 cyl. before I got this 6 cyl. and to my surprise the transmissions have behaved almost exactly identical. Just before you reach 2500 RPM mark and shift to a new gear let go of the gas a little and the change is going to be a LOT less jumpy.

Brakes on this car must be done in accordance to the bulletin issued by GM. Shim is absolutely required for the brakes to stay pulse and noise free. Make sure you do this at a place that has already done this in the past, otherwise it won't help (waste of money) I suggest, rotor, pad replacement at the time you want to install the shims.

Now, you will like this one. Buy the cheapest rotors and pads you can find they will work just as well as the expensive stuff. This car eats a pair of pads easily in about 6 months to a 1 1/2 year period. That's something you will have to get used to. You don't have to replace rotors every time either.