1993 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 3 of 8

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired46 miles
Most recent distance146835 miles
Previous carPontiac none

Summary:

The car is great, everything I could need for my lifestyle

Faults:

A little leak of oil. Some of the seals have gone bad with the humidity and heat in Florida. And the radiator has gone bad a couple times, primarily becaus eof the serious electronics running in the car.

General Comments:

The car is awesome, everything you could want in a car without going overboard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2005

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

A good reliable family car

Faults:

* The driver side door won't roll down.

* The air conditioner has to be re-charged yearly.

* The fuel pump went out.

* The car keeps overheating.

* The transmission won't go into reverse.

General Comments:

Overall, the car has been very reliable. It has many, many miles on it and it keeps on going.

The engine is strong and it's got some "kick" to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

A bargain with too many problems

Faults:

The car began overheating when I first got it about a month ago and then the brakes went out in it. Now I am having a problem again with overheating and the water appears to go nowhere, but I have been told that I probably have a cracked head and that is going to mean a lot of money. Also the transmission shifts by itself from overdrive to drive for no apparent reason and the air conditioner only blows part of the time because the blower plug has became stretched out.

General Comments:

While a good bargain for the money I will eventually be without transportation again because too many things are going wrong all at once.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th July, 2004

4th Sep 2005, 02:50

I definitely agree with you. I've also had problems with the engine overheating and things of that nature. what I have noticed is that when I have one problem with the car, another one comes up not too long after. it seems that everything that can go wrong with the car, goes wrong at the wrong times. I recently had new plugs and wires installed in my gran prix and I constantly wonder what will go next. although it is a great running car, when it is running, it does seem to fall apart rather easily whereas finding new body parts isn't.

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105100 miles
Most recent distance105500 miles

Summary:

Great Vehicle!!

Faults:

I acquired this car from my parents when they bought a new one. So the car was actually bought in 2000.

Minor, but normal things have gone wrong. Between belts and hoses, they were original when they bought it. About 2002, the belts and hoses were replaced.

Recently the motor mounts went, and the brakes are getting bad.

General Comments:

The car is pretty fast, handles excellent.

The car is getting old, I expect to sell it within a year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2004

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.4 twin DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4 twin DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired198995 miles
Most recent distance205698 miles
Previous carNone None

Summary:

A great, fun to drive, reliable vehicle

Faults:

Air Intake Manifold.

Idle Air Motor.

Oil leaks.

Radiator cracked.

Driver's side window has a short.

Paint is peeling from both sides.

General Comments:

This is my first car and I love it. It has the 3.4l v-6 which has a ton of get up and go. It will get you where you need to go in no time

Overall I think Grand Prix's are great cars. Although it has its problems like the driver's side window, the brakes, the leaky oil, it's still a great car and I'd recommend it to any one who is looking for a quick, reliable, nice, everyday car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2004

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 3.1 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance198532 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

Reliable vehicle that goes the distance over the years

Faults:

Replaced engine after cam shaft failed at 82,000 miles.

Replaced heads/gasket at 120,000 miles.

Replaced brakes at 85,000, 120,000 and 160,000 miles.

Replaced wheel bearings at 170,000 miles.

Replaced fuel pump at 180,000 miles.

Transmission failed at 198,532 miles.

Driver's power window burnt out.

Driver's tail light continually fails and replacement is costly at $45 per unit.

General Comments:

Car as been remarkably reliable except for normal failure and repairs due to aging of the vehicle.

Interior is very comfortable, good for long trips.

Cockpit design is logical and easy to navigate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2004

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 35 reviews