1993 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.4 L dual twin overhead cam from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.4 L dual twin overhead cam Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance55500 miles
Previous carMazda B2300

Summary:

If you're looking for speed and handling, this is your car

Faults:

The timing belt broke.

Paint has pealed from both the passenger and driver's door.

General Comments:

I have had this car in Germany on the autobahn, this car is fast (137mph). It's is very responsive, especially at high speeds.

I have treated this car very rough, but it has pulled through for me. After I fixed the few things I had to, nothing has gone wrong in the last 25,000 miles. Nice car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2001

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix SE V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm SE

Summary:

Run! Run away from the Grand Prix!

Faults:

Paint has pealed from the passenger side door.

Transmission just went out.

Driver's side door handle broke.

Breaks down too much.. twice this year.

General Comments:

The car looks good, but it breaks down too much.

It is costing way too much to fix it and it seems like money wasted. Going to trade the sucker in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2001

29th Jul 2004, 21:10

I agree with this...i have a Grand Prix also and everything is going wrong. Overdrive is going out and I keep losing water and don't know where it is going unless it is in the oil... love the way it looks, but costing me and arm and a leg.

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Comaro

Summary:

Piece of crap, junker

Faults:

Everything.

The transmission went out after about 100,000 miles. I put in a new one after that.

The alignment just went out over time, I got this fixed as well.

Brakes seem to never work properly, even when I get them fixed.

The stupid thing burns oil.

General Comments:

Very unreliable car, it looks good, but don't fall into the trap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2001

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix Se 3.1L V6 191hp from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 191hp Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

High performance sports car in a family way

Faults:

Just regular wear and tear.

Brakes and rotors, ball joint, and that's it.

I have only had the car for 2 years, put 50,000 on it, and it's great.

General Comments:

Best buy, they'll run forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2001

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

It is a good reliable car

Faults:

2 new alternators.

New front brakes.

Battery.

General Comments:

The car has performed relatively well except for the two new alternators and new battery within the the first 6 months of having the car.

I am overall happy with the car and have had no other problems with it. Hoping it will last as long as my 1988 Mercury Cougar which went 170,000 miles before the transmission went out on it, or I'd still have that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2000

19th Jul 2001, 15:40

Why didn't you keep the Couger? I have a 92 Tracer with 163,000 miles on it. When the Transmission goes out on it, I plan on fixing it and driving it another 160,000.

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix STE 3.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 kilometres
Most recent distance115000 kilometres

Summary:

Powerful, cost efficient, plenty of room... what more could you ask for?

Faults:

Only thing that has gone wrong was my battery went dead.

General Comments:

Excellent car. Beautiful on the outside... Better on the inside. it has plenty of leg room, and seats 5 passengers.

The 3.4L engine has plenty of power (210 HP) and is excellent on gas.

Only problem I have had (only had it for a little while) was the battery dying on me. But since it was only a week after I got it the dealer came and gave me a new one on the spot!

I fell in love with the car when I first set foot in it. This is my first car, and after about a month I am completely in love with it... Next car will definitely be another Pontiac!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2000

22nd Dec 2000, 18:32

I also have a 93 STE and I love it!!

11th May 2001, 12:16

I have a '91 Grand Prix STE! Love this car! Have had no problems.

13th Dec 2002, 09:37

I have a 1992 GP STE and have found only a few minor problems..

The front rotors were replaced after 3000 miles.

The HUD comes on when it feels like it... - suspect wiring connections.

Idle speed is >3000 when cold, but OK when warm - think this is leaky vacuum hoses.

Minor electrical problems - bad connections mostly.

Not bad as it is kept in the UK where our weather is wet most of the year!

Apart from that, Great car, lousy MPG (at $6.50 per gallon) 20MPG hurts!!

2nd Jan 2003, 12:56

I have a 90' grand prix and love it. But I needed another care with less miles and I got a 91'. It is so sporty. I love it with the sun roof. It makes an excellent car for me and my family.

25th Feb 2003, 11:59

I love my car. It has needed a new transmission, but other than that no problems. Good strong quick car.

19th Apr 2004, 21:12

I am thinking of buying a 91 STE, it is in fairly good shape. I just wish it was a 2 door so I could get the awesome head lights, but that is no big deal. The windshield is cracked badly so I am going to drive the price down with that, they have it starting at 4500 Canadian, I hope to get it for 4000 or less:-)

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 35 reviews