1993 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 4 of 8

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance310000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Daytona

Summary:

A leaky, but reliable form of transportation

Faults:

Power Steering leak.

Water Pump Failed.

Replaced the door handles 5 times at about $200 a door!! I did the labor myself.

Nasty oil leak.

Transmission leak that fixed itself.

Brakes don't last very long.

Wind noise from the rear window.

General Comments:

Parts are very expensive. IE headlights are $70.

This car rides great.

This car is quick.

This car is comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2004

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix LX 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Pontiac needs J.Z. DeLorean back to whip them into shape..

Faults:

I needed to replace the engine ONE WEEK after I bought it.

The brakes went about a month later.

The A/C unit died the day I bought the car.

The power steering keeps screwing up no matter how many times I take it into the shop.

The engine supports died about a week ago.

No amount of aligning the tire keeps them from wearing down.

General Comments:

The car is nice to look at, but that's about it. I like the trunk space I have, but whats the point of being able to carry a lot of stuff if the car won't go?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st March, 2004

2nd Apr 2004, 19:07

I agree with this persons review. The same thing happened to me when I bought one of these cars. Only then it was BRAND NEW!

4th Apr 2005, 23:43

Yeah the review writer really knows his car, Pontiac never made a Grand Prix LX!

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Plenty of power and luxury for the price

Faults:

The moon-roof worked once in awhile, then it quit working one day when it was wide open. The motor and relay switch both went out at the same time. Total cost was about $400.

The air dam completely broke off.

Mufflers rusted badly.

Center console broke.

Fog lights don't work.

Tires rub.

Paint chips off on the side moldings, but that probably has something to do with the previous owner repainting incorrectly.

General Comments:

This car has been very reliable since I bought it. It has only had minor problems.

It is a comfortable ride, but tall people like myself don't have very much headroom due to the moonroof taking up space.

This car also has a lot of road noise.

Other than these minor flaws, which don't affect performance at all, the car has been very good and reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2003

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Great, reliable and has the speed when you need it

Faults:

Replaced Alternator twice once two days after purchase (under warranty) and again at 100 thousand miles. service engine light comes on for no apparent reason. emergency brake cable locked up, due to not using enough. oil pump drive replaced in 1999 started leaking again in 2003.Body in great condition except for hood, palm sized rust spot, I believe due to hood protector. Some problems with automatic windows occasionally shorting out. Oil pressure gage doesn't work. (I'm the second owner of this car and I take good care of it oil changes ect.)

General Comments:

Great car handles great, looks great, interior very comfortable. Handles great in the snow even with the wide tires, never gotten stuck. Verry reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2003

1993 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 2.4 Value from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Value Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance151801 miles

Summary:

A great looking and performance car

Faults:

Rear Brakes have been replaced. (1)

Replaced alternator twice.

Break in the Power Pump Line.

General Comments:

With all the miles I have put on this vehicle it is still as sharp when I first bought it.

All the time people think my car is a newer version.

2.4 liter V-6 engine can still beat most cars in a short race.

Very Comfortable on long and short drives.

Next car I will by will be a Pontiac.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2002

12th Apr 2004, 23:23

I agree that the 2.4 Liter dual cam v6 is very powerful in the short distance, owned one myself a 93, one of very few that had a manual transmission, one of just a few hundred to be exact. Excellent performance and comfort. One flaw though, those engines were known for timing belt problems. I had mine replaced every 30,000 miles, other than that it was an outstanding monster of a vehicle.

7th Apr 2008, 22:23

GM made a 3.4L dual overhead cam 24-valve V6, but no 2.4L engines ever made it over here (or were made).

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 35 reviews