1995 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1L V6 from North America


A speedy, stylish Deathtrap


Accelerator cable snapped shortly after I bought the car; I believe this is because it wasn't sitting right on the throttle, as accelerator resistance decreased dramatically after I rigged it with a bass string & small nut & bolt. Replacement cable was about $15, but I never got to install it due to short duration of ownership.

Rust starting on driver's door hinge.

Minor leak around power steering pump that I never identified.

General Comments:

I only possessed this vehicle for two weeks and about 500 miles, due too bad choices and broken legs, if you know what I mean, but I wanted to review it because I was pretty impressed with how well the 3.1 liter engine pulled, even with 110k miles on it.

I took it up to about 110 MPH on the freeway, and the steering & suspension performed beautifully - smooth and responsive, I love how these light Pontiacs stick to the road. Predictably enough, however, I found this vehicle to be ill-equipped for 80 MPH off-roading.

I also wish to give high marks to the airbag system, as I emerged from this vehicle at an unknown point during five and a half head-over-tail flips, according to the police report, with no head or neck injuries.

PS: Remember to wear your seat belt, unless you wish to experience the joys of laying in a hospital bed with a fractured hip, and having nurses wipe your ass.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2004

27th Jun 2007, 19:05


Excellent review bud. Speaking from experience is the only way to go!

23rd Sep 2007, 16:28

Whats even better than wearing your seat belt? Not driving like your destination is running away from you. Have some consideration for the safety of other people on the road like families and mothers with young children. Just a thought.

7th Jun 2008, 22:50

Yea I love my 95 g-prix. It handles good at 120 pegged out, and not too bad looking car. Do like me and tint that thing, out and flowmasters and cold air cheap and fun cars. Glad to see more people enjoying also.

1995 Pontiac Grand Prix 3.1 V6 from North America


A very reliable buy that's worth any random malfunction


Starter was replaced at 83,000 miles and at 105,000.

Rear struts had to be replaced at 85,000 miles.

I've had slight brake troubles, replaced the pads in the rear twice, and had to replace the front rodars and pads once.

The transmission needs to be replaced or rebuilt, the gears are worn in 1st and 2nd, it gives a jerk when shifting, but gives no real problem for regular driving, still waiting for a convenient time to fix.

Has a slight manifold leak, gives it a deep growl when running, will soon be repaired.

Replaced the alternator at 90,000 miles.

Had a break in the wire casing around 105,000 miles, causing the electrical system to short out (caused complete power failure, while driving) Relatively simple to fix, only damage caused was on the starter.

Service Engine light remains on, I've checked every possible scenario I can think of, if anyone has ideas, let me know by leaving a comment to this.

Knob for the temp. control has broken.

Middle consul is lose, but remains in tact.

Lighting for the gear shift has went out, anyone know how to replace?

General Comments:

I have a lot of things that have gone wrong with this car, but I've put about 26,000 miles on it in a little over 2 years, alot of the miles on dirt and gravel roads.

It gets up and goes with just a tap to the accelerator.

Very comfortable and sporty.

I still get gas station attendants recognizing me in social situations because they remember my car from me fueling it up. It makes that much of an impression (in a good way).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2004

7th Apr 2004, 16:59

If the engine service light is on it is either the EGR valve or and intake vacum leak.

17th Apr 2004, 02:40

The light for the shifter is just a simple 194 bulb. to get to it you have to remove the top half of the center console (not as simple). There is a clip on the front of the shifter knob, use a small screwdriver and pry it out (all the way out is not needed). The knob slides off. I can't exactly recall if there were any screws holding the top of the console in place (I don't think so). The top is just "snapped" in place at the seam of the two tones. The last time I had mine apart I piggybacked a light into the center console opening so that I could see into it at night.

14th Apr 2008, 14:58

Vacuum leak won't actually be detected by your SES (Service Engine Soon) light - the SES light only turns on when something connected to the computer goes out. It could mean anything from a bad Ignition Module to a bad O2 Sensor, Knock Sensor, anything.

What you need to do is buy a Haynes manual that shows you how to actuate the self diagnostics, or take it to Auto Zone and have them read the codes. I have a '90 Pontiac Firebird w/the same engine and I have self-diagnostic capabilities. You need to find the code and then look the code up in the manual - it is not necessarily an EGR valve like the person above stated.