1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8 from North America


I like the car better than any other car I have owned


The transmission failed at 50,000 miles. I thought I had somehow caused the problem because I had replaced the ATF with Mobil 1 synthetic at about 5,000 miles and then again at about 45,000 miles. Although I was very careful about keeping everything clean, I thought maybe a piece of crud had gotten into the shifting modules. So anyway, I had the transmission rebuilt by the Pontiac dealer where I bought the car. It worked great until about a year ago (mileage unknown). When I pressed hard on the accelerator at about 50mph, the transmission would not immediately drop out of D into 3rd. Instead, the engine rpm would pulsate violently. However, the car could be accelerated slowly without any problem. I took the car back to the dealer and they told me that the plug wires were bad and also that one plug had failed. They also replaced a fuel filter. I'm not sure what they "actually" did to fix the problem because I had just had the plugs replaced a few thousand miles prior to that. The car has begun doing something similar since 100,000 miles in that it hesitates and pulses slightly when shifting from Drive to 3rd under acceleration.

My current problem is a noisy supercharger drive belt tensioner. I have replaced it twice with aftermarket tensioners from Auto Zone and it still makes a racket at idle (in Drive). At the slightest increase in RPM, the noise goes away. After reading some of the comments made by others, I'm beginning to suspect the supercharger drive coupler. Any ideas?

General Comments:

The car is still very quick even at 105,000 miles and gets great gas mileage. About 23 around town and 34 on the Interstate.

I wish the seats were more comfortable on long trips.

I can't say that I am happy with any GM dealer repair. If you aren't VERY knowledgable (I'm not) about the newer computer controlled cars, you are at the mercy of the dealer repair shop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th November, 2007

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix SE from North America


I've loved my car everyday I've driven it


My left passenger side window refused to stay up.

I currently have acceleration difficulties. The rpm's rev up when sitting idle and there is a loud rattling noise. I'm concerned why this is happening. Is my super charger going bad? What might need to be replaced?

General Comments:

I love the acceleration capabilities and bought it for this reason.

There is ample trunk space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2007

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.8 from North America


Great reliable vehicle


Has been a very reliable car.

Both headlight lens fell off, and I had to replace the whole assembly (expensive).

In ten years I have owned it, the only other issues (besides regular service) were power window switches (driver door) needed to be replaced, and the gear shift locked (major headache).

One of the most fun cars to drive with the heads up display, and the handling is still excellent. I actually anticipated many more problems (knock on wood). Ten years old and still going strong

General Comments:

Great car - Why buy foreign cars when you can get an excellent American made vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2007

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8L. from North America


Awesome car, great handling. 231,200 miles!!!


Rear crankshaft seal problems. Now overheating.

General Comments:

This is an awesome car, I kind of goofed and left my review as a comment in someone else's review, pleas see "Grand Prix GTP North America's 334 word review with 47 comments". I left a comment on 8/1/2007.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2007

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 V6 from North America


If you can't afford a foreign car, buy one of these


Aside from the Intake Manifold Gasket needing to be replaced, a cost of $700-$800, (which is a problem with most 97-00 Pontiac's and some Buicks) there have been no maintenance problems or requirements other than what is typically needed.

The front struts and tie rods were replaced around 118,000 miles. The rear struts are still the factory ones, pretty good considering they're supposed to be replaced after 60,000 miles.

Other than brakes squealing due to ceramic and not carbon installation, no problems.

Poor acceleration after 120,000 miles.

Digital clock display messed up.

Volume knob touchy.

General Comments:

Good handling.

Great turn radius.

Bad acceleration with high miles.

Excellent paint. Some was chipped off and there is no rusting or wear along the missing paint.

Radio is really messed up. Volume knob is touchy and digital clock sometimes doesn't display properly.

Excellent in snow and on ice with the proper tires.

Lots of cargo space in trunk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2007

3rd Jan 2008, 01:30

Update on the review...

The dash is starting to separate near the windshield, probably from temperature fluctuation during winter (the car is located in Wisc).

Had to replace the windshield wiper motor due to using them with too much weight on the wipers. Total cost was about $106.00.

Car still runs great, starts well even at negative temperatures and still has decent acceleration considering it now has over 133,000mi on it. Gas mileage is still about 22/28.

I really want a new car, but will keep this one until it craps out, which may be a few more years!

Still a great car, and I'll probably buy another Grand Prix when I get a new one.

27th Sep 2009, 14:49

After 8 years of driving an 11 year old GM vehicle, this car is officially done. My head gasket is leaking exhaust gas into the cooling system. It's a $2000.00 repair and the car just isn't worth that much.

My rear strut is STILL the factory, over 149,000 miles on factory installed strut!

Brakes were bottom of the line installed in 2006 and now the rear brakes are ready to be changed, front brakes will need changing in about 6-12 months. Not bad at all considering I got over 45,000 mi out of them.

Time to save up for a new car... perhaps another Grand Prix!

26th Jan 2011, 22:08

Just a note to say that I have a 98 Grand Prix SE with the 3.1L, 379,000 kms on the odometer and still use it every day, even for long trips. I live in Montreal so extremely aggressive climate.

A few minor things, but the best car ever!

NB: I kept my last GM for over 250K kms, Japanese can kiss GM's butt.