1998 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 8 of 23

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance91589 miles

Summary:

I will never purchase from GM again

Faults:

I bought the car with barely 90000 miles on it and everything worked fine. The features were great and it looked awesome. I have had it for less than one month and everything has gone wrong. It has terrible gas mileage, less than what websites say. The electronic display for how much fuel you have used and how mnay miles you have left continues to not turn on. When you start the car, it takes about a half an hour to turn on. There was recently a short in the car and now whenever I turn it on, it usually does not turn back on. The power windows will work just fine, but then they will roll down sometimes and they will not go up at all. Don't roll them down when it is cold outside. I hope that I never purchase another car from GM again. The car looks great, but it does not operate worth crap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2006

15th May 2006, 20:19

How can you blame the manufacturer for an 8 year old car with over 90,000 miles on it?

You seem to have expected a NEW car!!!

16th May 2006, 05:17

Like the commenter above I fail to see how General Motors is at fault. However I will give you some advice: If your getting poor mpg try taking it in for a tune up. Odds are you need your O2 sensor replaced and perhaps it's time for plugs as well. AS for your electrical issues, you may have a bad ground. Again when you take it into the mechanic he'll be able to diagnose it for you. This car needs maintenance. All cars do over their life. It's your job as the vehicle owner to keep it running properly, not GM's.

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 Series II from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Series II Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2700 miles
Most recent distance1020080 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

The Grand Prix, with all of its standard features, is one fantastic steal for the money

Faults:

Trans-axle went within 1,000.00 mile re-manufactured replacement still going strong.

Plenum has been replaced twice.

Rack and pinion recalled and repaired.

Rack leaked later (conveniently out of warranty) out of pocket $1,000.00.

Driver side rear power window regulator and motor broke at 30,000.

AC/Heater Blower replaced at 95,000.

General Comments:

This car has enough classic looks to make it a collector’s item.

After 100,000 miles my GT performs like the very the day I drove it off the lot.

Cloth seats and interior show little signs of wear.

I liked it so much the we also bought the 2002 GT version.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2006

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 Series II from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Series II Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

A really nice car

Faults:

Trunk leaks.

General Comments:

It is a good reliable car. All you have to do is take care of it and it will be a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2006

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

The whole package

Faults:

At 95,000 miles my whole upper plentim had to be replaced.

After the first week I had the car the ignition did not release the key when it was in park.

Sunroof was touchy and didn't want to vent half the time so you had to pop it up with your hand and then open it.

Also, at 116,000 last night my car started fire and is now totalled... Transmission fluid leaked out somehow and got onto engine causing it to start fire while I was driving.

General Comments:

Car is sporty and quick. Very roomy and comfy. Love it overall for the looks, gas mileage and price to maintain.. not very expensive at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2006

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance191500 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Good overall, do not get excited about all available options, get the 3.8 engine

Faults:

-Headlights moisture, replaced both shortly after purchase, 66K, by dealer goodwill, after warranty expired.

- Windshield washer reservoir leaking, replaced shortly after purchase, 66K, by dealer goodwill, after warranty expired

- Fan motor dying, working only on 4th and 5th speed, replaced 10K after purchase. Noisy anyway.

- Windows switch gone, replaced 15K after purchase.

- Brakes replacement (rotors and pads) every ~35K

- Back struts replaced at 135K.

- Alignment required ~40K, lots of potholes in Toronto.

- Air conditioner drain plugged, condensate filling passenger side.

- Seats can be more supportive for spirited driving. Cheap back seat, locking mechanism broken.

- Gas mileage not one of the car strength. Overall city consumption ~15l/100Km, highway “obeying” speed limit ~10.5 l/Km.

General Comments:

- Amazing style and personality. Too bad that GM’s product guru Bob Lutz decided to kill one of the best design in company’s lineup (maybe he should consider retiring).

- Great handling. With better tires (I switched to all season Goodyear Assurance Triple Tred) sensibly improvement.

- Good overall performance. Ample torque at low RPM. Put the pedal to the metal and it goes. Compete with higher priced Japanese or European cars.

- Consider the smooth and powerful 3.8 engine for the best performance.

- Decent headroom and legroom good for long trips (sitting 4).

- GM shall add outside air intake.

- Except minor annoyances, some squeaks and rattles, good value for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th December, 2005

24th Mar 2006, 02:49

Just so you know, he is in Canada where they use the metric system and not the American system of mesurments, so there he gets 10.1 kph which is less than mph... thought I would clarify, it comes out to about 25 mph. Thanks. Cheers.

19th Nov 2006, 11:50

I purchased my 1998 Pontiac Grand Prix SE new in January of 1998 in Clearwater, Florida. This car has the 3.8 liter, 3800 Series II V6 engine. This car is equipped with power windows, power sun roof, power door locks, six way power drivers seat, AM/FM stereo with CD player four wheel anti-lock disc brakes, traction control, cruise control, air conditioning, lockable back seat access to the trunk, auto trunk release, anti-theft system, anti-theft protection for the stereo system, and remote keyless entry.

The mileage on the car when purchased was approximately 65 miles. The current mileage on this car is approximately 103,000 miles. Everything about this car works just as it did when originally purchased with very little unexpected cost in repairs to me.

The car has never been crashed. The gold metal flake paint is still in very good condition and maintains a high sheen.

The wheels are cast aluminum and still maintain there brightness and shine.

The idler arm pulley was replaced in August of 2003, mileage was approximately 93,000 miles.

The headlight lenses are just now starting to show signs of age as they are beginning to develop a haze.

The ignition switch was replaced in February of 2006, mileage was approximately 100,000 miles.

This car averaged approximately 28 miles to the gallon on my relocation trip from Florida to Tennessee. Current mileage for this car is approximately 21 miles to the gallon for average driving and conditions. This car is used daily and is the primary vehicle.

This is the third Pontiac that I have owned. This car is the second consecutive Grand Prix that I have owned. The first Grand Prix that I owned was a 1988 which I traded when I purchased this 1998 model.

I am very pleased with this car. I am 6’ – 4” tall and I find that I am very comfortable in this car. The performance of this car is surprisingly quick and crisp and does not hesitate to giddy-up and go when directed to do so. This car rides smoothly and does not display any undo squeaks or rattles. With a good set of shoes this car handles turns and curves as well as my 1979 Pontiac Trans AM did. For a car that weighs some 4,500 pounds I am impressed with its handling and performance.

I will own another Pontiac Grand Prix except this time I will pull out all the stops for performance and handling. I have a 2007, 5.3 liter, 302 horse power, V8 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP in my crosshairs. I will keep my 1998 Pontiac Grand Prix SE as a second car.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 88 reviews