1999 Pontiac Montana Reviews - Page 9 of 18

1999 Pontiac Montana from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Poor Choice -- Avoid at all costs!

Faults:

My head gasket blew at around 70,000 miles.

It is also leaking oil.

It has a power steering column leak.

It shifts very rough, and I believe the transmission is going.

General Comments:

I drove my Buick into the ground, very hard, but I still over $9000 on this Pontiac Montana, and I worry that the car will not make it to the duration of my loan. If I knew then what I know now, I'd have bought just about anything else, especially if it was Japanese.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th November, 2005

1999 Pontiac Montana from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carPontiac Montana

Summary:

If I knew what I know now I wouldn't have bought it

Faults:

Transmission needs replaced, air bag light stays on, brake problems, leaking oil from manifold gasket.

General Comments:

Was a nice van when I bought it. now I dislike it due to problems and cost to fix them. now there are too many problems to list. I thought it was just my bad luck with cars, but after reading other reviews, I now know it is the van. these vans are too expensive to replace parts on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st September, 2005

12th Oct 2006, 20:50

I wrote this review about a year ago, as it turns out the transmission didn't need replaced, but the gaskets in the transmission went bad, it cost about $700 to fix where a new transmission cost around $1500-2000 so I was pleased, the van has been running great since I got it fixed. I hope who ever is having this problem doesn't go and get a new transmission and they just get the gaskets replaced. It will save them money in the long run.

1999 Pontiac Montana Extended 3.0 six from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 six Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carPontiac Trans Sport

Summary:

All the comforts without the reliability!

Faults:

Cooling -- replaced manifold gasket before 40k. Had problems with low coolant; now just add coolant. Last 10k miles had coolant smell from A/C vents.

Brakes replaced at 78,000 miles and then again at 88,000. Probably repair shop failure.

Had to replace spark plugs/wires at 65,000.

Check engine light always coming on & off.

Both double-cup holders have broken.

General Comments:

This van has all the comforts you could ever want... great seats, dual A/C, good sight lines.

I love the styling and the ride. When this van is working it is a wonderful van.

My wife has simply lost trust in the van's realability. Feels like every-other-month we'll be treated to a $500-600 repair.

Since we have 90,000 miles and nobody seems to keep this van that long, we are looking to replace it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th May, 2005

2nd Sep 2005, 09:01

If you can afford to trade it in do it now!

Our 1997 Transport is at 95k (09/01/2005) and I had to replace lower intake manifold gasket (first time), water pump, steering pump, rear windshield wiper motor. The fuel gage is not working correctly below 1/4 full: replacing sending unit which is in the pump would cost $800. Power sliding door interlock switch broke: replacing it will cost $200. Can;'t afford to fix power sliding door and electric rear quarter windows.

I have spend $3000 since Jan 2005 to keep this lemon on the road.

11th Jul 2008, 19:57

I also have 99 Pontiac Montana.

I had to spend $800 to get my fuel pump and sending unit fixed. It sucked, but then at the same time it was like cool, my gas gage works now.

My rear quarter windows just went on me too. I hit the button and neither of them would open. Well then I hit it again and only my driver side one opened, and I was like oh wow, this is just wonderful. I took it to the dealership, $300 just to get it fixed. I was like to hell with it, I just won't use it, that fixes that problem right there.

I had to get a new water pump, which cost me $200, and my passenger side window is off track as well. It's as if all my problems are on the passenger side of the van.

My power sliding door didn't work at all when I bought my van, but then two days later it worked and has been perfect ever since.

I know my van has its issues, but I love it to death and I don't want anything else. My husband was talking about buying me and 2006 Chrysler Town & Country Limited, and I told him I didn't want that, I want my Pontiac, so he said we would just get these problems fixed and keep going with it.

I don't look at it as my van being a lemon; it has over 100,000 miles on it and the lady who owned it before didn't exactly take great care of it, so I have to say I'm not giving up on Pontiac yet. I love my van!

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 55 reviews