2002 Pontiac Montana Reviews - Page 8 of 8

2002 Pontiac Montana from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Silhouette

Summary:

Too many things going wrong

Faults:

The tranny failed at 13,000 miles.

The Air Conditioning blew out at 40,000 miles.

The CD player makes a noise when you brake.

The passenger side window switch is erratic.

General Comments:

I took the car into the local Pontiac dealer at around 13,000 and again around 20 some K, and explained (in a very polite way) that the transmission slips & shifts up hard. Both times they assured me that they checked it out completely, and that it was fine. The problem worsened at 37,000, and I took it in again. (again I was very polite). They called me and said "It is fine, there is nothing wrong with your transmission, but we can do a flush and fill and filter change if it will ease your mind (for 129.00). I said OK, and when I went to pick it up the next morning, I was told..."You have metal in the pan... we need to rebuild the tranny... (2600.00) They rebuilt it, I got it back... It was worse than ever. Took it back, they replaced a solenoid??. It runs great now.

GM (via my local Pontiac dealer) refused to pay one penny on it because I had "exceeded my factory warranty" They looked me right in the face, and told me, "The first two times you brought it in were UNRELATED PROBLEMS".

I have had many GM products... But I will never again buy a GM. And I doubt if my four teenagers will grow up and buy a GM, after witnessing this donnybrook.

-Vince from IL.

PS...They ignored the CD and lock problem too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th September, 2003

4th Nov 2004, 13:00

Our 2000 Pontiac Montana (with only 35,000 miles) has had problems recently with the transmission slipping in reverse and first gear. I took it to the transmission shop to have it checked and they found lots of metal in the pan and recommended a rebuild for $2,400 (plus tax). I called the dealer and was told that I'm out of luck because the van was past the three year warranty period.

The transmission shop also said that my tie rod ends were shot and needed to be replaced... A call to the dealer confirmed that this is a problem with this van... also, not covered under warranty.

It appears that GM is aware of its substandard products as it's one of the few auto makers clinging to the 3 year, 36,000 mile warranty. While we like the van, we won't purchase another GM (or any other product) that doesn't back it for at least 5 years or 50,000 miles.

2002 Pontiac Montana V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Prizm

Summary:

Great value in its class

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

This van is really a pleasure to drive, smooth transmission plenty of power and the seats are very comfortable.

Really impressed with the fuel economy, we're averaging 22 mpg.

Very versatile vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th August, 2002

2002 Pontiac Montana Ext. w/option package 1SE 3.4L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired568 miles
Most recent distance1400 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

So far, so good!

Faults:

So far, so good! No problems other than a very small crack in the paint. I found it after delivery, but the dealer cheerfully offered to fix it.

General Comments:

*Sporty appearance - several people who swore they never liked or would own a mini van said they liked it and would own a Montana.

*Nice, comfortable ride.

*Silky smooth transmission and engine - the engine is a lot quieter than our former Odyssey and the Montana's transmission shifts seamlessly.

*DVD player keeps the kids occupied on trips. No more fighting between them when they get bored!

*Does not have the "fit and finish" quality (inside or out) of the Honda we traded in.

*Unlike the Honda, it's clunky over the bumps and rail road tracks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2002

22nd Feb 2006, 11:08

Beware - my follow up post is the "stay away" one. Worst car ownership experience I ever had!

2002 Pontiac Montana 3.4L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired46 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

Worth buying one

Faults:

Right side door latch had to be replaced at 9000 miles.

Starter seams to be going bad, van has a long turnover before starting.

General Comments:

This van is great when you have kids. Very comfortable, leg room is great. Power is great compaired to other vans. Wish I had electric sliding doors (I recommend those). Handles great on the road and I love how they look (very sporty for a mini van).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2002

2002 Pontiac Montana 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired400 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

A safe and good looking Mini Van

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

The van was almost perfect, no problems what so ever, until it was totalled. which is why I have written this review.

I flew over a cliff flipped three times, and walked away without an injury. This Van is extremely well built and very safe. A great vechile to have with young children and teenagers, because of its great construction. It also looks and drives very nicely. We received a 2003 Montana with the insurance money and it is just as good if not better then the other one.

This is the Van you want to buy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2002

21st Jun 2002, 20:27

I read about the poor interior quality of the minivan and the dangerous automatic doors.. any other comments.

Mifran@rogers.com.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 30 reviews