2002 Pontiac Montana Reviews

2002 Pontiac Montana 3.4 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance98000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Terrible vehicle, money pit

Faults:

Head gasket at 75,000 km.

Intake manifold gasket at 85,000 km.

Front wheel bearings at 70,000 km.

Circuit boards for both rear brake lights at 70,000 km.

Catastrophic engine failure at 98,000 km (no longer worth repairing, vehicle sold to auto-wreckers).

General Comments:

Easily the worst vehicle I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2011

23rd Feb 2011, 12:18

Unfortunately not one of General Motors finer moments in time... so sad to see a great company do that to so many families and individuals... I believe because they were not prepared for the oil companies bogus gas crisis... they were never the same again, and neither was the American public...

23rd Feb 2011, 12:28

I maybe mistaken, but to do the head gasket on this van and the Venture, you have to drop the engine? Without a warranty, paying for this out of pocket is a total waste.

29th Mar 2011, 20:16

The GM dealer split the cost 50/50 (trying to save face for selling such a brutal product), my cost was $800.

2002 Pontiac Montana from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 kilometres
Most recent distance206000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

Decent vehicle, but would not purchase another without replacing the lower control arms

Faults:

We have had both lower control arms break while we were driving the car. One instance it broke on a gravel road just after we turned off the highway. Two weeks prior to that, it was in for service and they had replaced all the bushings in both lower control arms. No one had noticed the crack. We called GM, but they said the car was out of warranty and they would do nothing.

The second control arm broke while we were on the highway, and fortunately no one was coming in the other lane; we got the car under control and off the road. This was within one week of the front end being repaired and an alignment done. Again, no one noticed the cracks.

I am wondering if this is a GM problem or I am alone?

The other problem is the ABS light keeps coming on, and it is always the right front hub. The dealer has replaced it 3 times (I paid for the repair the first time) in the last year and advised the last time (Dec.) that they would not cover it any more. The light is now on again. Not going back to GM.

General Comments:

Car was usually reliable, but these problems are now scaring me.

Car is comfortable and good on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th January, 2011

2002 Pontiac Montana from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles

Summary:

Piece of crap; will never buy again

Faults:

Alignment, tie bars?, water pump, thermostat, A/C system leaks, shocks and struts, heater core went out, head gasket is blown now, windshield wiper bars and arms replaced, hole in the exhaust.

General Comments:

This thing is a money pit. We have had it for maybe a year, and if it is not one thing, it's another. Never again will I buy a van from GM. I just found out last night after yet another over heating spell, that the head gasket is blown. Luckily I have a friend who's a mechanic, but it's still money I don't have right now :(

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2011

10th Jan 2011, 10:17

Why do people continually go out and buy high mileage cars, and then come on here and bash them when they break?

Do you have a complete comprehensive service history on this vehicle prior to you owning it? Do you know who drove it, and what they did to it before you acquired it? When you get a vehicle that has over 100K miles on it, it isn't going to be perfect. Unless you know exactly how it was driven, and what has been done to it previously, then you have no basis to claim it is automatically the car manufacturer's fault in making a poor quality vehicle.

What if they changed the oil every 15K miles or whenever they got around to it? What if they never did any servicing to this vehicle like changing out the coolant every 2 years. There are many factors to consider. I am not saying the car is without fault, but many of the issues you have could be attributed to poor maintenance, and the type of driving it was subjected to.

11th Jan 2011, 18:03

I agree with the previous poster, it was 8 years old when you claim to have purchased it. Cars of today are high tech, and if not maintained properly, will have problems and potentially expensive repair bills. You should know the golden rule; after 5 years and the warranty's up, everything starts to let go, that's why I buy new during clearout events; you get a new car at a great price,and no repair bills for a while!!!

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 30 reviews