1990 Pontiac Sunbird Reviews - Page 6 of 9

1990 Pontiac Sunbird LE turbo 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission turbo 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A high performance, reliable car!

Faults:

The only technical problems I have had with the car was that the window cables sometimes get loose from opening and closing the doors, but that's easily fixable.

General Comments:

The car has always started every time I run it. Even in freezing temperatures.

The car is very reliable, and even looks good.

Handles very well, and can enjoy every ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2003

1990 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

I love my Pontiac Sunbird

Faults:

The car had a bad starter and battery when I bought it.

Also ac doesn't work well.

The ride is rough.

General Comments:

My Sunbird is a great little car. With the Five speed transmission it has good take off and impressive top end. I also think it handles well. One other plus I have to say it gets good gas mileage and has a large trunk. For having a 140k miles on the engine it still seems to have a lot of pep to it. all the time people ask me what I got in it. overall I am very happy with my little Pontiac Sunbird.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2003

1990 Pontiac Sunbird GT 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Much better quality than the Sunfire

Faults:

Computer failure when it was new (less than 500 miles)

Cracked head at 80K, due to failed radiator cooling fan and a very hot day in a Chicago traffic jam. I consider this to be my fault, as I knew it was overheating and kept going.

Other than normal maintenance items, absolutely no other problems.

General Comments:

Very Fast and Good Looking car! I always have liked it - still do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2003

17th May 2006, 15:26

I like the look of the car and want to make it into a hot rod with a different type of V-6 from chevrolet.

1990 Pontiac Sunbird GT 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance209000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Sport Compacts beware!

Faults:

Replaced Clutch & Transmission, about 6 months after buying it..

Turbo is not working properly, either this is a vacuum problem or a waste-gate flow problem.

General Comments:

This has been a great car.

The only reason I'm on my second one is because some guy fiquredturning left into me was a good idea.

This a quick, and great handling car.

I plan on doing a total top and bottom rebuild on the engine, putting custom headers on, and rebuilding, or getting a new turbo.

No, I;m not crazy, but I want to show some of these guys that a domestic car can bejust as good, if not better then Civics, Preludes and such.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th February, 2003

1990 Pontiac Sunbird GT 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Monza

Summary:

Buying a Turbo Sunbird is a mistake!!!

Faults:

Replaced exhaust system (whole system just rotted out) at 110,000km.

Replaced water pump at 145,000km.

Blew a head gasket that also cracked the aluminum cylinder head at 150,000km (found out from engine re-builder that it this wasn't the first time the head gasket had blown on this car)

General Comments:

Not a bad performer, but Turbo took a bit to kick in, relatively poor acceleration until over 60km/h.

Not the most comfortable seating, hard on back, but spacious drivers area.

Factory sunroof never leaked, never was a problem.

I would never, ever buy a turbo car again, brutally expensive to repair and not worth the performance gains.

Terribly unreliable as well, the 4 cylinder turbo in the Sunbird is infamous for it's unreliability, which, unfortunately I didn't know about before I bought the car.

I cut my losses after paying for the rebuilt head and quickly sold the car, I knew there were other problems mounting (alternator, belts, bearings, and more).

Otherwise I was quite happy with the car, it has nice lines, looks sporty, decent performance, but I should have bought the 3.1 V6 powered Sunbird GT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2003

6th Jun 2003, 06:02

I have a sun-bird gt turbo 1990 and its the best car I've owned. its fast and sporty, the turbo adds many extra horses, I've never lost a race.

26th Apr 2004, 08:06

I own the 1990 GT Turbo. I have replaced the head gaskets and headers many times. I love the power this car has though. I also think that it is a fairly decent vehicle when it comes to fuel consumption. I have put out a lot of money for it, but it is worth it.

2nd Nov 2006, 09:44

I have a few postings on this site I'm the writer of THIS CAR IS WORTH EVERY PENNY and yes I also own the 2.0 sunbird gt turbo. If driven properly this car will atleast keep up to the 3.1. The turbo adds amazing power gain in the small 2.0 engine and I feel in a pick between the two motors I would go for the 2.0 all the way unless your getting to the 3.1 out of a Z24.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 28 reviews